We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visitor”
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Costa Calero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Return Visitor”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a superb holiday in this excellent hotel 27th February to 6th March. Following a friendly welcome and efficient check-in we were assigned an immaculately clean top floor room. Facilities, food and entertainment were excellent. All members of staff that we had dealings with were friendly and helpful and obviously very well trained. Based on our previous experience of this hotel we very happy to recommend it to family members and to friends and they all were totally satisfied. Like us they hope to return as we plan to do later this year.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard but if you need one with a walk in shower cubicle then you should r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thanks for sharing with us you opinion here on Tripadvisor.

We feel very proud that we have been capable to impress you as well as that our installations and service were on top of your expectations !
It really makes us glad to read so nice compliments about our staff, facilities, entertainment and food.

As you noticed during your stays here, our main goal is to achieve the total satisfaction of our guests during their holidays here, so it fulfils us with pride when we see that the reviews of our costumers are so great and positive.

Looking forward to your next visit here and please feel free to recommend our hotel to your friends !

Best regards from Hotel Costa Calero !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,109
    1,050
    263
    66
    23
See reviews for
938
1,917
103
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,088)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

10 days at the end of Feb beginning of March..slightly colder than seasonal norms so things restricted a bit by having only one heated pool.

Food wise the buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinner was fine. Cold buffet could be really interesting and adventurous but found the hot food to be very samey night after night and it got to be a bit of a boring chore , especially at dinner..so we ended up eating out a few times to break the monotony. Hot breakfast was great though.


Great selection of drinks although cocktails a bit different from what I was used to..bit insipid for me.

Grounds and pools very clean and our room was decent with views, just about, of the ocean.

Found the staff okay although they weren't as overtly friendly as some other resorts and I did feel I never fully had their attention as their mind was always on the next customer. Maybe the team in place for winter is a bit stretched.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all thank you so much for the preference of choosing Hotel Costa Calero as the place for your holidays!

We would like you to know that your feedbacks about our food are very much appreciated and they definitely will be useful to hep us improve.

Please bear in mind that our staff always give the best of them, to welcome and give the best service possible to our guests (as you can read in other comments here), certainly if you repeat your visit here you will change that impression.

It was entirely our pleasure to have had you here and we will be waiting for your returning!

Greetings from sunny Lanzarote !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north tyneside
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just returned from two weeks at the Costa Calero. Had a top floor room with sea view(548) as we had previously requested by e-mail. The check in was quick and easy and carried out very efficiently. The room was spotless throughout and the housekeeping was excellent. All hotel staff were so friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault the food - plenty of it and with a good choice - here again the restaurant staff were excellent as was the pool bar staff. We particularly liked the layout of the grounds which were kept in pristine condition. There were certainly adequate sun loungers which would appear had just been renewed. Not a mark on them.
The entertainment in the evenings was very good during our first week but not so good during the second. However, it was very pleasant to sit in the Piano bar and listen to the music there.
The all inclusive drinks were in the main, branded drinks on request.
Lovely quiet area for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: e-mail the hotel beforehand if you have a special preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iceman711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your lovely comments about your holidays here with us, we really appreciate it.

We are pleased to read your review and learn that you have been satisfied with your room and especially with our overall service.

We are very proud of our welcoming and hard working staff, so it is fantastic to hear they were capable to assist you in making your stay as pleasant as possible

Your comments will definitely help other future guests that came here looking for some reviews about our place.

We are looking forward to the chance of welcoming you back here at Hotel Costa Calero !

Kind regards from sunny Lanzarote !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our 2nd visit to this hotel sadly the food is not as good as previously but still plenty.Sadly the English TV channels were not working the time we were there.The hotel is in a very good position a short walk to the beautiful marina and good shops and bars.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your opinion about your second visit to our hotel, we truly appreciate it !

We take our guests comments very seriously as they help us pinpoint areas that have room for improvement, so the productive and helpful comments, in this case regarding the food topic, are always welcome!

Unfortunately, we confirm that there was a “black-out” of the English channels during a period of time because of the island server for this channels, but that problem that was promptly solved, and now they work perfectly right.

Thank you for your kind comments and we are now looking forward to the chance of welcoming you back here at Hotel Costa Calero !

Kind regards from sunny Lanzarote !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Wanted winter warmth and had been to Costa Calero before. Knew what to expect and the excellent experience was repeated. A great system in place with very good food and drinks plus excellent room and balcony.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and for writing this nice opinion.

We are very glad that your at Hotel Costa Calero was as enjoyable as you expected. It is very flattering for us to hear that you were fully satisfied with every aspect of your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you here again !

Warm greetings from all the staff of Costa Calero!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

What a wonderful holiday the hotel meets all your needs the whole complex is kept immaculate the staff are an asset to the hotel always polite nothing too much trouble. We were on the all inclusive package and it was nice to be able to pick wine from the menu however some wines do require a supplement so be aware . The marina is a short walk downhill so a little pull coming up but worth the trip. There are spa facilities but we did not take advantage so cannot comment people we spoke to that did enjoyed it. The entertainment was professional shows with animation team working really hard to keep us entertained. The food is very good there is a choice for everyone. Overall a lovely holiday and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a garden room on the ground floor ideal sun trap away from the wind
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkshireDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We highly appreciate that you have taken a moment of your time to share with us your experience here on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read your comments and learn that you enjoyed our facilities as well as our quality of service.

We are very proud of our friendly and efficient staff, so it is fantastic to hear they were able to assist you on making your stay as enjoyable as possible

It will be a pleasure to welcome you once again in a near future !

Kind regards from sunny Lanzarote !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here for a week in February, there were eight of us - a mix of ages - from 5 to 65.

This is one of the best all-inclusive hotels I have stayed in in the Canary Islands. Spotlessly clean, well maintained and lovely food. Worth mentioning is the choice for vegetarians which, unusually for spain, was good.

It was also very civilised being able to order from a wine list - I have not had this before in any all-inclusive. Being served drinks in the bar at your table was also a real bonus. As we were in a group this made things much more relaxing for us.

The spa was nice and this is the first hotel we have stayed in that allowed children in (at resticted times) - so it was nice to go as a family. We appreciated this as normally we have to go individually while someone looks after the children.

The thing that made it stand out for me was the staff - they were all polite, friendly and accomodating - without exception. Clearly this place is exceptionally well managed.

The only one (very minor) negative point I would make is that to use the spa again, which we wanted to do, would have cost us 7 euros per person - and the cost was the same for children. Children are only allowed in the spa for a couple of hours a day so we didn't feel the expense was worth it. I would suggest to the spa that they charge a bit less for the children and more people would return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Penjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to learn you had a very enjoyable time with us!

On the year 2013 we were included in the top 25 All-Inclusive Hotels situated within Europe by the Tripadvisor Traveler’s Choice Awards.

The hotel was listed 14th place out of 25 for the All-Inclusive European category and 2nd out of 10 for the All-Inclusive Spain category.

Of course that this was a great recognition for us and it makes us really proud, but it’s even more overwhelming continue receiving that type of complements by our guests!

It is always a great motivation for the entire team to receive such positive compliments like yours and to hear we have been able to satisfy the expectations of our guests.

About the suggestion you made, we will take it into consideration.

Thank you for your very kind comments regarding our hotel, your comments about your experience with us have been really appreciated and we sincerely hope that your travelling plans bring you all again back here!

Best Regards from sunny Lanzarote!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,728 reviews
8.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
4.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,761 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,480 reviews
14.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Property: Hotel Costa Calero
Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero Talaso & SPA, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern Talaso& SPA Centre providing an active pool, Roman Baths and beauty and thalasso treatments, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing