We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, there could (should) be more variety in the food at dinner time”
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Costa Calero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was our first stay at this hotel. Hotel reception very efficient. Rooms extremely clean. WiFi connection in the lobby very good. Location: excellent: a few minutes from the small harbour. Puerto Calero. Very quiet neighborhood. Lot of parking space in the close vicinity.Excllent location for nice walking trails to Puerto Carmen at the Wets and ¨laya Quemada at the East (in each case about one hour walking one way). The one improvement we could suggest is more variety and more inspiration for the food at dinner time.

Room Tip: Maybe the romms with sea view are somewhat more pleasant, but for us this made no real difference.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank getting_around29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor, your comments and suggestions will be a valuable reference to us and to other customers who are considering Hotel Costa Calero for their holidays.

We consider that all of our meals have a very considerable quantity and variety of food (principally at the dinner time), with the attempt of achieving the total satisfaction of our guests. But of course that suggestions which leads to improvements, are always welcome!

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again in a near future!

Kind regards from Hotel Costa Calero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,632)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Costa Calero
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,781 - 1,787 of 3,632 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was our third visit to this hotel and we weren't disappointed.The rooms were spotlessly clean,the food was very good with a wide variety of choice.The entertainment was excellent during the day with plenty of activities for adults and children alike.The evening entertainment was quite good and better than previous years.
We stayed in room 54 which was alright for us but probably would have been too isolated for people with walking disabilities.
All in all a wonderful holiday and we wish we had opted for a 10 night stay rather than 7.
We loved it so much that within the past 30 minutes I have just booked a 10 night holiday for January next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Culterallers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments about your wonderful holidays, as well as for being for the 3rd time here with us!

It is a great satisfaction to our hotel and all to the Staff, have so loyal guests that come back and continue enjoying the time spent here.

We are looking forward to welcoming you here again on next January!

Warm greetings from all the staff of Costa Calero!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had already had a quick wander around this hotel a couple of years ago and had decided there and then that we wanted to book when we returned to Lanzarote.
We emailed the hotel before we arrived to request a sea view room with a walk in shower, which was met perfectly.
Room 443 was ideal, sunny most of the day with a perfect marina view.
I have to defend the meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Some of the previous reviews say that they weren't hot with little choice, honestly they were excellent in our minds. They really do have to cater for a lot of different guests and they do an excellent job. We both never felt hungry for the 7 days we were there!
We hired a safe for 14 euros (+ 5 euros returned) for the week and rented the towels (20 euros refunded). The weather was too good to try the spa but we did poke our heads in and it looked lovely.
Plenty of sun beds, the entertainment team leave you alone but if you want to join in the list is on the board in the lobby.
The only 2 minor issues we had were the evening entertainment was hit and miss, we enjoyed the ABBA tribute and guitar legends nights but the rest were poor, and the toilets. If you're at the pool you have quite a trek behind the restaurant and then on a night, if you're in the show bar then it's at the other side of the lobby. (Although it does help walk off all the food you have just ate!)
As you do, before we went we read the previous reviews and the only one I want to add to is the rear exit/entrance (short cut) to the marina. It really isn't! Out the front door and straight down is the quickest route, although it is a nice walk and takes you past some fancy houses!
We rented a car and there is a strip of car parking spaces at the front and side of the hotel.
The one thing that would really make this hotel perfect would be another restaurant. It would just make a nice change to have waiter service.
This is, by far one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. We did have a nose around the Hesperia along the road and it isn't a patch on this one!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank KarenB11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely and nice description and sharing it with us here on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate a lot the complements you made to our hotel and that everything met your expectations, it really makes us proud!!

Thank’s for the suggestions that you did on your review, they certainly will be very helpful to us in the future.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you once again in a near future!

Kind regards from sunny Lanzarote !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed 1st week in January AI.

Having chosen this hotel based on reviews here most expectations were met. As per most reviews hotel is spotless and service is excellent.

However, the only gripe I have is the standard of food provided for a 4* hotel. Breakfast was fine, standard fare. Lunch is beside the poolside bar which did not bother me. However on most days 'hot food' was either cold or lukewarm! Come on, how hard is it to ensure pizza, burgers, etc are hot?

Majority of reviews seem to think that what is presented at dinner is excellent. However I would completely disagree with this. If you can like on salads fair enough, but getting a decent hot main was very hard. Layout of food was very in-coherent which did not help which produced bottlenecks in certain areas and standard of meal of poor quality. The hotplate was a mare, where on most occasion the cook did not have anything prepared, even at peak times. Potions were poor - 5mm thick salmon/hake steaks? Surely a decent slice could be cooked. There was noting inspirational cooked on what was presented to the standard I would expect for a 4* hotel.

If the food was of a better standard I would have given 5/5, but AI package is good value for money.

Sunbeds of very good quality and more than adequate provision.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kenmac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear guest,

We always encourage and support our costumers to give their opinion about the hotel and the service provided during their holidays, so the constructive critics are always welcome!

Regarding your critics about the food that we serve at the restaurants, we make everything possible to guarantee that our food it’s served on the best conditions, and obviously this means that the food should be always hot, independently the place where it’s served .We sincerely apologize if this ever happened with you .

At our main restaurant, we try to diversify the variety of the food, either in the hot and cold plates.
Our staff assures the best cooking quality, always preserving the natural taste of the ingredients.
We try to make everything possible to please the different tastes of our guests, but sometimes that isn't possible, and of course that everyone still have the right to have his opinion.

In any case, we appreciate a lot the complements you made to our hotel and you can be sure that your suggestions will be taken into consideration.
We value a lot the opinion of our guests, since for us they have a huge importance to the improvement of our services and to achieve an even better level of service and hospitality.

We really hope that you can visit us again in a near future !

Best regards from Hotel Costa Calero !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 6th October 2013 for two weeks. First impressions very good. Staff friendly and helpful. Room very good standard. Had a garden view with large patio which was lovely. Food excellent which lots of choice. Branded drinks available as part of the all-inclusive. Pools areas relaxed but the usual dawn crew out!!!!!! Overall an amazing hotel. Would we go back yes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliesnoddy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you had such a great time here at our hotel !

All your kind comments with regards to our facilities, rooms, food and beverages are greatly appreciated, you can be sure that it will be shared with our team.

We are pleased to hear that you had an outstanding holiday and that we contributed to making it wonderful !

It will be a pleasure to welcome you once again in a near future !

Kind regards from sunny Lanzarote !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I travelled with my husband for a new year break. We opted for bed and breakfast, so the only meal apart from breakfasts was the new year dinner. The new year party was great, fantastic food and good entertainment. A great firework display just after midnight.
Our room was on the top floor with a sea view.
There is a short strip a short walk (5 mins)away with plenty of variety of restaurants and bars. There's also a great costal walk to the next beach, which took us around an hour to get to.
We hired a car for a couple of days. The hire car firm attached the the hotel wasn't particularly helpful. It may be because we hadn't thought to pre book and it was new year, but the employee had no cars available, she suggested we asked the day after new year, and again she had nothing available. Eventually, we booked with a car hire firm on line and returned to the airport to collect it.
Apart from our first day, the weather was fabulous. Very little wind and consistently 21 degrees during the hottest part of the day.
We had a couple of days exploring the countryside, spectacular scenery and lovely villages.
We did spend a couple of days by the pool, there was plenty of comfortable sun beds and uncrowded sunny spots.
I would recommend this hotel for its quiet location on the Island

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LizzALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and for writing this lovely opinion.

It is always a great motivation for the entire team to receive such positive compliments like yours and to hear we have been able satisfy the expectations of our guests.

We feel very proud that we have been capable to impress you as well as that our installations and service were on top of your expectations !

Looking forward to your next visit here!

Greetings from sunny Lanzarote !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Perhaps my heading is a little misleading, there is nothing wrong with this hotel per sae, but it has no personality. Didn't like being in a room that wasn't part of the hotel, when it was windy or late you got cold walking home and the room was cold. I couldn't see how to get any heat into it. Nice spacious room very clean. Again dining room staff perfectly nice but none really went that extra mile. Although nothing really to complain about.
Food perfectly acceptable at breakfast and dinner, but not outstanding. Certainly evening meal was very samey, salads, chips, mash, grilled meat and fish and had pizza, but at one chef;s stand they had a huge pan of sauce and was putting cooked meat into it!!! Had chilli one night no tomatoes in it and salty satly! I think the food is best summed up by saying I think the chefs went to a 1960s cookery school, very old school. Lunch was dismal. Nothing wrong just nothing terribly exciting, they relied heavily on pizza and burgers. As I said a very nice hotel but why oh why did one have to go upstairs to reception to get pool towels? Entertainment every night but nothing to write home about. If you want a clean nice hotel that offers all inclusive then this is fine for you but if you are looking for that something extra not sure it is. Sorry to say this as most of the staff were nice, but just that the hotel is NICE.

Room Tip: There are rooms as part of the hotel and lots built independently, not far away but I found them col...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank barbarajoan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear guest,

In first place we would like to thank you for your friendly comment and for choosing Hotel Costa Calero for your stay.

We appreciate the time that you have taken as well to do constructive comments; we are committed to listen to our guests and all the points mentioned will be reviewed.

All your kind comments with regards to our facilities, rooms and to our staff are appreciated and will help us improve.

Regarding your comments about the restaurant food. We have to say that we are very proud of our cookers work and usually our guests only have complements to do them, saying how much they enjoyed the variety and quality of the food offered at our buffets .
So we hope that next time you come, give other chance to our restaurant services, and see that situation must have been an exception.

But on the overall stay review, we are glad that you still had enjoyed our hotel and your holidays here.

It was entirely our pleasure to have had you here and we will be waiting for your returning!

Greetings from sunny Lanzarote !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,944 reviews
8.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.7 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
7.1 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
4.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range: $115 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero Talaso & SPA, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern Talaso& SPA Centre providing an active pool, Roman Baths and beauty and thalasso treatments, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing