We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose your neighbours wisely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Costa Calero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Choose your neighbours wisely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This large hotel (350 or so guest rooms) fills the skyline above the marina that is Puerto Calero. Built into the hillside that rises from the marina it occupies a very large rectangular site on several levels with guest rooms in blocks around the perimeter and pools and terraces inside these. Most rooms have balconies facing the sea.

Our room was in a block at level '0', bottom of the site and closest to the marina. The room was a good size with a layout typical of purpose built 4* accommodation. It had two single beds side by side, not the type that can be put together to form a double. Furniture showed signs of age and been poorly renovated. The Television set was old; of a style that was popular in the 1980/90s with a limited choice of channels and poor picture quality. The standard of cleanliness and housekeeping service was high.

A major problem with the room was the absence of anything to restrict sound transmitting between the room and immediately adjacent rooms (through thin walls, heating / air conditioning vents and, on one side, a connecting door). For neighbours we had the delight of a young family with a thankfully contented infant whose murmurings were a pleasant change from the endless nattering and frequently raised voices of the two women who occupied the room on the other side of ours.

Most guests at the hotel were staying on an all inclusive or half board basis and the restaurant arrangements reflected this. Meals were buffet style; excellent choice and good quality given the size and nature of the catering required; good value but certainly not fine dining. I could not recommend the house wine.

Outside there are several pools, one of which is heated in winter, bar and terraces and a children's play area. A spa is also available but use of this is at an additional cost for all guests.

The hotel provides a bus service to and from Puerto Del Carmen some three miles distant. Local buses also stop a short walk from the hotel. These are of a high standard and inexpensive. Taxis are also excellent value but don't rely on prebooked taxis arriving on time. Inevitably it will be necessary to call again and the response is no different to calling a taxi on spec; expect to wait up to 15 minutes. There is also a coastal path from the Marina to Puerto Del Carmen.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the excellent service that Hotel Costa Calero is known for.

Thank you for sharing your feedback and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality

Please rest assure that we are taking your observations with great consideration and that appropriate measure will be taken with the aim for better service, in order to secure the valued service our guests deserve.

The praises you made to our services and staff, were received and indeed, and of course it will be passed to all of them !

We are looking forward to welcoming you here again!

Greetings from Lanzarote !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,999
    992
    240
    62
    21
See reviews for
889
1,804
95
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,043)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were recommended this hotel by a holiday company that we have come to trust but I think on this occasion it wasn't quite up to scratch, The complex is quite big and the rooms were lined up in what reminded me of cell blocks from a previous visit to Alcatraz. Our room 284 needed some repairs to the bathroom door due to the veneer hanging off and its failure to close. The bedroom area had wallpaper hanging off, maybe our room was up for a refurb in the coming weeks !! The beds were comfortable enough and the air con worked and the bath and shower always had plenty of hot water but strangely no light so always a bit dark. The food was fine, a little bland but it happens when you cater for everyone's tastes. We were half board where 90% were all inclusive. We felt that the drinks were poor quality and heavily priced. You used to be able to slip the head barman a few euros to get the good stuff but not here I'm afraid. Porto Calero is on the up but a little quiet. The Marina is active, it has a few shops, bars and restaurants. Most of which are good but avoid the British Bulldog bar at all costs as there customer service needs a little work. They only seem to want to cater for their ex pat friends and not tourists. Strange then that it was the only place regularly empty whist other places were doing well. To get into the Marina you do have to walk down a serious hill which is fine going down but not quite so much fun on the way back after a few beers ! Overall we found the Hotel a little to big and impersonal. Sometimes it's nice to have that personal touch to make you feel a bit special

Room Tip: When choosing a room ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beasleys16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We always encourage and support our costumers to give their opinion about the hotel and the service provided during their holidays, so the constructive critics are always welcome!

We value a lot the opinion of our guests, because for us they have a huge importance for the improvement of our services and the attempt to achieve an even better level of service and hospitality.

In any case, you can be sure that your suggestions will be taken into consideration.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Hotel Costa Calero!

Best regards from Lanzarote !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Just returned from a week stay at this excellent hotel,the location is fab and the port of costa calero is lovely.the hotel was spotlessly clean and the pool area was excellent lots of secluded nooks and crannies to relax in.
I was on the all inclusive package which in my opinion was excellent value,unlike other all inclusive resorts I have visited there were no queues at the bars and you were always served very quickly by very efficient bar staff.
The food was good although the downside of my holiday was I could not enjoy the food as much as I would have due to the fact both my wife and I contracted the virus that appears to be rife within the hotel.
Although the hotel is not responsible for the virus I feel they should perhaps at least warn clients that there is a virus in the complex.
I did note they were carrying out repairs to the drainage system in the hotel and wonder if this could be linked to the airborne virus.
All in all an very good hotel and holiday despite the lost days to the mystery virus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We always encourage and support our costumers to give their view about the hotel and the service provided through their holidays, so the productive and helpful critics are always welcome!

It is a delight for us to read that you did enjoyed your stay with us and that you were very satisfied with the area, the facilities and the hotel services.

As you already certainly saw in other comments, the illness had nothing to do with the conditions or food offered by our hotel. It was a stomach flu virus that unfortunately affected not only our guests, but as well other tourists that were visiting the island and also citizens of Lanzarote.

These symptoms are very common if the weather is changing and it has absolutely nothing to do with food hygiene or any H&S issue, and gladly we can assure you that since 28th of November, there was no more people showing these symptoms.

Looking forward to your next visit here!

Warm greetings from all the staff of Costa Calero !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

just returned home having spent 4 nights at the brilliant costa calero,cannot praise the staff service enough.Restaraunt and bars relaxing with attentive staff,coffee at breakfast on the table in seconds ,outdoor dining in November is so pleasant and every buffet meal selection is delicious.
The hotel has a very relaxed atmosphere ,very clean throughout ,rooms lovely,,pool areas spacious ,well landscaped,lovely views of sea and boat masts.
The onsite spa is a must,sooo relaxing.
Great port minutes walk away ,can take sea bus to Puerto del Carmen for the usual cheap duty free shopping and nice sea view bar.
The pool bar was great but would be even better with some rattan tables,chairs and sofas on the patio at the front in the sun,that would be wow factor.
We did get the virus but this is not the hotels fault a virus spreads quickly ,they need to do deep clean of guest areas at night ,cleaning chairs ,tables handrails,door handles etc and advise bar staff to have only 1 member collecting glasses and not serving drinks until they have washed their hands thoroughly

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank touristWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate that you have taken a moment of your time to share with us your experience.

We always encourage and support our costumers to give their opinion about the hotel and the service provided during their holidays.

We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your holidays and the welcoming and hard work of our staff.

It is always a great motivation for the entire team to receive such positive compliments like yours and to hear we have been able to exceed the expectations of our guests.

It is entirely our pleasure to have had you here and we will be waiting for your returning!

Warm greetings from all the staff of Costa Calero !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have just returned from a nine day stay at this hotel, it our second visit, as we enjoyed it so much last year. We went with two other couples who have also visited before. The hotel is near a lovely marina, which is very peaceful with a few bar / restaurants. the hotel is nice and has lovely pools, the staff are very helpful and the activities are varied although not many people participated which was a shame. However our holiday was spoilt from the second day every one in our party was ill with sickness and diarrhoea, unfortunately this lasted for a couple of days and we felt drained for the rest of the holiday. We went to the reception and explained, they were dismissive and not particularly interested, it wasn't until we were talking to other guests that we realised there was many other people who had been effected by this virus. The hotel is open all year round, so they are not able to deep clean, (although I must say the cleaners worked very hard to maintain a good standard) if you are going please take some anti-bacterial hand gel and carry it with you, also disinfectant wipes (which may help you avoid the bug) but I don't think so. In my opinion guests should be warned and tour reps should look at another alternative hotel at least in the short term until they get this sorted out. It's a shame but we won't be returning next year as we had planned.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view we had 119 lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We always encourage and support our costumers to give their opinion about the hotel and the service provided during their holidays, so the constructive critics are always welcome!

As regarding, the stomach flu you had during your holidays, we would like to inform you that, within the 15th and 27thNovember we had between 532 and 591 persons accommodated in the hotel. During these dates a total of 32 persons felt sick. They had vomits and felt sick for 24-48 hours.

The doctors mentioned that not only in our hotel are people with this symptoms, in other hotels and areas on the island you could find people with the same symptoms as well .

These symptoms are very common if the weather is changing and it has absolutely nothing to do with food hygiene or any H&S issue, and gladly we can assure you that since 28th of November, there was no more people showing these symptoms.

If you would like to have any other information, or see the records about this topic, please no doubt to contact us by the email comercial1@hotelcostacalero.es.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Hotel Costa Calero!

Best regards from Lanzarote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights the last week of November.
Overall we enjoyed our stay. All the staff are very friendly and work hard with a smile. The AI drinks package is great as are the grounds and pool area.
We did catch the virus going round and was not our best for a day. This was a shame and we know a few others who had it. Most people will probably comment on this but it should not take away the enjoyment of the hotel.
Recommend the Indian down the port for a good curry!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank the2KsPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time that you have taken as well to do constructive comments, we are committed to listen to our guests.

As you already certainly saw in other comments, the illness had nothing to do with the conditions or food offered by our hotel. It was a stomach flu virus that unfortunately affected not only our guests, but as well other tourists that were visiting the island and also citizens of Lanzarote.

If you would like to see any other doubt clarified or see the records, please feel free to contact us by the email comercial1@hotelcostacalero.es .

Despite the virus situation, it is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our services and facilities.

We will keep working hard to offer you a great and relaxing stay every time.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you once again in a near future.

Kind regards from Hotel Costa Calero !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I previously stayed at this property with my family in 2011 and we couldn't fault the hotel. I've just returned from my 2nd visit with my friends and were disappointed.
The hotel grounds, pool & spa were excellent but the food was terrible. Every meal was either cold or lukewarm, all the meat we tried was tough apart from the chicken. The choice was very limited too. 2 of our group became ill as did plenty of other guests, sickness & diarrhoea seemed common throughout our stay when talking to other guests.
We were in bed every night before midnight as of 10:25pm all entertainment stopped - which was disappointing.
The entertainment staff especially Sinitta & Danny were fantastic and worked really hard at keeping everyone entertained.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MorleyMorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

In first place we would like to thank you for choosing once again our hotel for your stay.

We highly appreciate that you have taken a moment of your time to share with us your experience.

It will be great if on your next visit you give a try to our restaurants services, we are very proud of them and we know they will not disappoint you.

Like we explained before in other comments, this was a stomach flu virus that had affected not only our guests, but as well other tourists that were visiting the island and also citizens of Lanzarote.

So we are in conditions to guarantee that the problem was nothing to do with food hygiene or any H&S issue, if you would like to see any other doubt clarified or see the records, please feel free to contact us by the email comercial1@hotelcostacalero.es .

We would like you to know that we really also appreciate your positive feedbacks and that we would be glad if you visit again in the near future.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Hotel Costa Calero!

Best regards from Lanzarote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
0.5 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,373 reviews
8.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
4.6 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#5 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,538 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
14.2 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Property: Hotel Costa Calero
Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero Talaso & SPA, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern Talaso& SPA Centre providing an active pool, Roman Baths and beauty and thalasso treatments, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing