We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens, peaceful setting, AMAZING SPA”
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Costa Calero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have now visited this hotel for the past 4 years. The hotel is exceptionally clean and in beautiful surroundings. Puerto Calero itself is a quiet and peaceful resort, it is simply the best place to go if you want fine dining and beautiful views. Previous reviews that complain about the sunbeds are simply not true - we have visited this hotel in peak and off peak times and have never had a problem. I can only imagine it is people who want to sit by the pool that is closest to the bar and restaurant area. We prefer to relax around the quiet sea water pool where there is a sand area with palm trees and have never had any problems getting a sunbed at any time of day. The staff at the hotel are polite and friendly and do their very best at all times. The highlight for us has always been the Spa - it is my favourite place to relax. The spa staff are all outstanding and extremely helpful and polite, particularly Attor who is just simply a credit to this hotel. The Spa pool is so completely beautiful and relaxing that I find myself floating in this haven of beauty and relaxation every day and it is one of the main reasons we keep returning year after year. The treatments are all of a an extremely high standard and I recommend having a massage on day one - it really does help you to chill out from the very start of your holiday. There are three large swimming pools and one children's pool. I really appreciate the sea water pool as it has dedicated lanes for swimming for those who want to work off the many pounds that can be easily gained at this hotel ! Or simply to keep their fitness levels up whilst on holiday. For an All Inclusive the food is good although I have to say that due to the fact that there are so many gorgeous restaurants around the area we do pay to go AI but never actually eat at the hotel much as we prefer our food to be cooked fresh to order and don't always enjoy the buffet style catering. I think we are quite fussy as we constantly hear others around the hotel raving about the food. The breakfasts are good and there is a lot of choice, the lunches are quite repetitive but there is always a good choice of salad, bread, fish and meats available. As we have stayed here several times we only tend to eat at the main restaurant in the evening on our first night. Buffet style food is just not our thing but I do believe for this style of catering they do a great job and you have a choice to go out and eat so you can just go b and b or simply go AI and eat out like we do. After you've had a few drinks everyday the AI pays for itself anyway. The drinks choice for AI is plentiful and does include quite a few named drinks like Smirnoff and Gordon's gin - you must ask for Smirnoff though or you will be given the local vodka - which isn't bad in any way...just a tip. The wine list for AI at dinner is impressive and you get a great deal of choice. Cava is also available through out the day and the one that is included in AI is really lovely. The coffee is a bit bitter and not my favourite but you can nip down to Puro Gusto on the marina for the best cup of coffee on the island ! There is a large selection of cocktails that are available in the evenings and it is lovely to sit outside on the terrace of the piano bar and watch the sun go down sipping a cocktail or two and listening to the classical musician playing in the bar. There is entertainmanet through out the day and evening if this is your bag! Quite fun if you go with the flow and don't expect too much - tacky sort of tribute shows but they all work hard and try their best. We don't go to this hotel for entertainment so it doesn't bother us too much and is pretty much the same standard of entertainment found in hotels through out Spain. They could do with adding more staff to the pool bar and piano bar as when it is busy it can be a little wait to be served. There are also fitness classes that run and I enjoy these but find that they are cut a little short sometimes- the last aqua aerobics session was only about 20 minutes long which I don't think was long enough. I think it depends who you get. The first guy who took it for the first part of the week was great and the sessions seemed to be around 40 minutes and you really felt like you'd had a work out. The guy that took our last session I think was slightly more interested in posing by the side of the pool than actually giving us a great work out but we all had a bit of a laugh about it and I just went for a longer swim ! The entertainment in the day and evening can easily be avoided if you hate that sort of thing. They tend to tuck the activities away in corners of the hotel so not to distract holiday makers who are just there to relax.
If you get a sea view room you will be treated to some awesome sunsets from the privacy of your balcony. We go to this hotel because it is well run, extremely clean, has beautiful gardens that are immaculately cared for, a wonderful pool scene and a truly OUTSTANDING SPA. It is a wonderful hotel to just go and chill out, forget work and let every day worries just float off you and the area of Puerto Calero is simply delightful and full of exceptional restaurants and shops - great for people watching and admiring the many luxury yachts. Enjoy !

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Zara282828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear that you have been visiting and revisiting our hotel for four years now, you are one of our happy returning customers! Thank you very much for this lovely and detailed review, we are sure that it will be very useful for the Tripadvisor readers.

It is nice to hear how much you like our Thalasso SPA center, it is indeed the gem of the establishment and offers great treatments and facilities, the perfect relaxing retreat.

We do offer freshly prepared food in our buffets and we even have show cooking. Of course, it is a matter of personal choice to opt for a change for some of the meals and try the restaurants around, especially down in the lovely Marina.

We will certainly take your suggestions into consideration, we are always open for fresh ideas.

We are looking forward to your next visit here and hope that it is going to be very soon!

Sunny greetings from Lanzarote!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,003 - 2,009 of 3,745 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We Stayed All Inclusive Plus for 11 nights from 13th – 25th August having booked through Travel Republic. There were five in our party, my wife and myself, my daughter and my mother, and my mother in law. My Daughter is 10, my wife and I 25-40, and the Mothers 60’s and 70’s.

We arrived at ~8pm at the hotel, having had a private transfer from the airport (highly recommended as its only ~20 minutes from the airport, and you don’t have to call into every hotel on the way, which can take well over an hour otherwise). The receptionist was professional, and gave us our room keys (we e-mailed in advance asking for high rise rooms next to each other, which is what we got). You have to pay a daily rate for the safe, as well as for a safe key, and also pay a deposit for your beach towels which they give you straight away!

We had to ask for a porter to help us, it wasn’t automatically offered – even although they can see that we had 5 large cases, 5 hand luggage as well the towels they gave us.

The hotel itself is big, however it doesn’t feel it. I think this helped that it was no where near full, however this did clearly impact the hotel, and clear saving have been made in staffing in different areas.

We go All Inclusive (AI) every year and we have every year had a wrist band. At Costa they use the room card which they occasionally check and swipe. They annoying thing is that you have to remember to take your room card with you every time you go to get a drink – which is easy to forget, especially at the pool bar.

Bedrooms

When we got to the room, we were very pleased. 3 spacious rooms next to each other on the 4th floor. Nice sized balcony with 2 chairs and a small table. It also had a small drying rack to help dry items after washing. It overlooked the pool and the sea. The bathrooms were also spacious, with a nice sized bath, with over shower which you can lower to wash your hair in the bath or rise off. It had a large sink, bidet toilet, electric socket as well as hair drier. In your room you have a mini fridge, which they keep topped up with a 2ltr bottle of water daily as part of the AI.

The bedrooms were always kept clean, and felt safe with the security of the rooms.

The aircon is not one of the hotels strong points. We arrived to a clattering aircon, which they fixed quickly when we told them about it, however it didn’t get very cool. My mothers room had the same issue.

When we due to leave, we asked if we can keep our room on as we were not due to leave until 6:20pm. This we were able to do (although my mother wasn’t able to and was given a courtesy room – just for her and my daughter). The cost for this was 10euros from 12-3pm, 12-6pm, was 20 euros and expect 12-9pm would be 30euros. We found this excellent and meant that we didn’t miss out on an extra days sun bathing.

Dining Room (Breakfast & Dinner)

Having read the different reviews in Trip Advisor, we didn’t know what we were going to get.

Breakfast – There was always bacon, sausages, chips, freshly cooked eggs, omelettes, pancakes. Lots of different types of bread and pastries. Different breakfast cereals etc. we used to go for breakfast around 830am, and there was also lots of free tables. You had the choice of sitting in or outside. There are large tables, as well as lots of tables for couples. Coffee jugs are supplied to your table by the waiters, and you can ask for more coffee jugs as often as you want. They are very quick and very attentive. Tea and juices are obtained within the restaurant which you must get yourself.

I have very mixed feelings about the evening meal food. There was plenty of selection, and you could never go hungry, however the food night upon night was very much the same. They always had chips, pizza, homemade garlic bread (rolls left over from breakfast and lunch with garlic butter on them and toasted). They had a chef that prepared fresh meat and fish every night, and one more that was supposed to carve the meat. This was done occasionally, however with chicken or duck, it was done with a cleaver attacking it which meant that you got more bone than meat.

There was lots of salad items. My wife is vegetarian, and she always found something to eat, but again, got very bored quickly with the same selection nightly.

The restaurant do a few theme nights, with Mexican and the Chinese being memorable – more so as the selection changed a lot with Sushi, prawn crackers, noodles, beef in black bean sauce, duck etc. All very nice.

You have a wine menu at your table. You have had wine by the glass, bottle or half bottle. Most are free on AI, however there are a supplemental charge for others. They have White, Rosy and Red wines. You can also get all the usual soft drinks, and Coke is given in small glass bottles which is nice, but they are small and fill a wine glass.


Pool Side Bar (Drinks and Lunch)

The pool side bar opens at 10am. On a whole the staff were friendly and amenable. There was an older curly haired girl, that also served breakfast who was not the most friendliest, and also the Pool Side female Maitre d' – both of these need major work on their customer service skills, however all the others were very friendly and happy.

The Lunch, like the dinner, got very repetitive. There was always Salad, Pizza, Chips as well as a meat dish in sauce. The Chef often cooked something fresh on the hot plate, either the fish of the day, or meat. You will never go hungry as the food does taste nice and cooked well, albeit repetitive. There is a small selection of sweets as well as 4 ice creams.

You get your own soft drinks from the dispenser as well as your own tea, coffee (various types) as well as hot chocolate from the machine.

At the pool side bar as well as ordering your drinks, you can also order cake, toasted sandwiches as well as ice cream. Cappuccino and a piece of cake was often a hit late afternoon.


Piano Bar
The staff in the Piano Bar were very friendly and always worked hard. As we weren’t there nightly, the barman would start to work on our usual drinks as we walked in and so some were ready when we got to the bar, and actually used our names. Excellent customer service.

The piano bar had live music most nights from 8pm. This ranged from Sax, flute and Piano players. Very relaxing. The patio of the bar had a pond around it and overlooked the mountains. It was lovely to watch the sky as the sun set behind the mountains. Real Kodak moment – especially with the Jazz playing in the background!


Pools
There are multiple pools here. We stayed at the main pool near the pool bar, which had a patio around it. There was a lower area with grass and natural shade, as well as a pool with lanes and a baby pool. There is also a man-made sand area however this is not going up to the pool and is separate. There is also the Spa indoor and outdoor pools, with cold plung pools and Music treatment pool.

The sun beds were in an excellent condition, most look new, however the parasols (which were fixed and screwed into the ground look like the need repair with many ripped, however they did provide shade. There is a lot of natural shade as well.

The main pool was around 29’c. May seem warm from here, however with the temperatures you get over there, you will often hear, OMG, its freezing, as well as, it’s okay once you’re in. The pool was the same height all over the pool. I am 5ft 10in and it went to just below my shoulders. My 10 year old daughter could stand up on tip toes all over the pool

Gym
We used the Gym a couple few times. There is a cross trainer, a couple of tread mills, bikes as well as chest press and free weights, matts etc. All of these were in an ‘okay’ condition. They did the job – however the aircon didn’t. When going in there at 4pm it was often very warm and you sweated more from the heat than the work out. We tried again first thing in the morning (they open at 7am), and it wasn’t a lot better then. To get to the gym you have to walk through the Spa and through the changing rooms.

Reception
The reception were friendly enough and always helpful. They were able to sort out our room extension, and when reporting that our aircon made a bad noise, it was fixed the same day.

Weather
Whilst there we had 3 cloudy ‘cooler’ days when it only hit around 35-40’c. The rest of the time it was very hot. There is a thermometer and clock on display, however this accurately displays the temperature until around 11am, and then must go in the shade. I used my thermometer watch and we agreed with each other until then. In the shade the temperature on the good days ranged from 42-47’c – however this was a dry not humid heat. There is also the sea breeze coming all the time which made it appear cooler. In direct sunlight at 2pm the temperature ranged from 52-59’c! Again you didn’t feel it was that hot however often had to dip in the pool

Mini/ Maxi club
There are two clubs, the mini for younger children and maxi for those slightly older. My daughter attended a couple of the club events, however found it slightly too young for her. She loved putting coloured salt into a bottle and decorating that, however preferred to be by the pool. They did kids water polo and had kids inflatable afternoons as well which they all seemed to enjoy.

There is Mini Disco at 9pm which the kids seem to enjoy.

All the Kids entertainers were very friendly and caring which was great.

Entertainment
The entertainers were nice and friendly, however unless you read the schedule and went to where they were taking place you didn’t know events were on. There was no one rallying together people for the activities, nor any announcements (as apart from the aqua aerobics and kiddy inflatables there was not any music played – which was great and relaxing).

Every night at 10pm after the kiddy disco there was a show. The show was most done from external people. The ones that stood out was the Chinese Circus and Abba Tribute. They also had the Platters and some others. There were always seats available – this maybe due to the fact the hotel was not that full.


In all it was a nice relaxing holiday which the whole family enjoyed. We came back fully relaxed with a nice tan. Would we go back? Probably not, however we did meet people who have

This email (and any attachments) contains information, which may be privileged and/or confidential. It's meant only for the individual(s) or entity named above. If you're not the intended recipient, please note that disclosing, copying, distributing or using this information is prohibited. If you've received this email in error, please let me know immediately by emailing me at the email address above and then delete all traces of this email from your system. We monitor our email system, and may record your emails.
Computer viruses can be transmitted by email. You should check this email and any attachments for the presence of viruses. We accept no liability for any damage caused by any virus transmitted by this email or any attachments.

Daisy Data Centre Solutions LTD
Registered office: 16 Lindred Road, Brierfield, Nelson, Lancashire, BB9 5SR
Registered in England and Wales with company number: 08205265

Room Tip: Choose a high-rise room to see the sea (4th or 5th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Lord_Treeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing precisely our hotel and for writing this nice and exhaustive review about it.

We are more than happy to hear that you liked almost everything about your stay here.

Our buffets are vast and offer many choices for lunch and dinner. Of course, there are basic items like pizza, mash potatoes or chips which are a must always, but then, we do put different dishes every day of the week, and we have themed nights several times per week.

Thank you for mentioning our fabulous Piano bar, which is an exquisite place indeed to have a nice cocktail while enjoying the music and the view.

Our pools are 1.30m deep and the children´s pool is 0.43m. We can assure you that it is impossible for the temperatures to have reached above 40 degrees Celsius, as here it never gets that hot. The Canaries are known as the Islands of the Eternal Spring..

The shows we have are presented by the Animation Team twice a week, and the rest are external, as you are mentioning.

We are very grateful for the beautiful pictures you have uploaded and we remain with the hope that you will reconsider your decision and you will pay us another visit in the future!

Best regards,

Costa Calero Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Came here on only my second holiday abroad (first was when I was 9), with my parents and my best mate of 18 years. We are both 18, and my parents are early 50s. First impressions of the hotel are fantastic. It seems to always be the first stop from the airport so you can get to and from within 15 minutes, and when you arrive you get the standard welcome and brief intro. It takes a day to adjust the the layout, but it's very well designed and all the grounds link together well with food/drinks dispersed throughout as well as toilets and areas to sunbathe. All the indoor amenities such as restaurants and bars are all directly above/below eachother which is very easy. Everything else is all rooms!

Our room was perfectly positioned for a view which I fear will never be beaten by any room on any holiday I will ever experience. It is well decorated and has good storage and space. It comes with TV, hairdryer, AC, safe,fridge and free 4L of water each day so just bring some little bottles of cordial if you wish. There is minimal toiletries in the bathroom, just a bar of soap and a dispenser on the shower wall. Plenty of towels are given by the maids and there is a rack on the balcony to dry and reuse them. You can hire beach towels for 10 euros and get them washed and replaced with ease at either the small souvenir shop or reception if it is closed. The rooms are clean and cool, and I only found about 4 mosquitoes over the whole 2 weeks. There was 2 cockroaches, neither of which were anywhere near rooms or in busy areas, and the wasps, though big, are very rarely seen and tend to stay away from people and high up in the trees (I hate wasps and was concerned about such things before we left) Didn't get a single bite from anything whilst we were there in the height of summer. The maid service is good, though it is annoying how they always push the twin beds back together. The air conditioning is very rattly and will occasionally get louder throughout the night and wake you up, but as we found it didn't actually need to be on full power and I think we spend most of the holiday with it on low or even off with no problem whatsoever.

The pools are great, very clean, and just about big enough to hold everyone. The more southern pools tend to be warmer, whilst the one at the top is freezing most of the time. Use the hot metal bars around the edge to warm up. La salina is hard to swim lengths in because of the size of it and the wind, but the main problem is how incredibly salty it is! Never forget this as you will feel the repercussions. I thought we would be using the 5 times a day free shuttle bus to the beach at Puerto del Carmen mostly and doubted the appeal of an artificial beach, but we waited until the last few days to even see the real beach. The little solarium by La Salina is great, with patches of sun and shade for everyone. The sand is quite hot, and the wooden bridge is even hotter. It's just a shame there's so many cigarettes in the sand.

The sports facilities are pretty good. There's a games room with pool, table football, air hockey and table tennis (costing 1 euro apart from table tennis rental, but i'm unsure of this as I brought my own bats and balls) which is lit until 11pm. After that though, there is a Coke machine which lights the room to just adequate levels if you're a fan of 2am table tennis like us. There's another games room near the little kids area (used more by teenagers for furniture than anyone else) which has some driving games etc. but is rarely used. The volleyball tournaments are great fun and the court is always free but the problem with playing independently of the tournaments is there is no hose to cool the sand. There are several events a day from aquarobics to water polo and volleyball and bingo. I think water polo is the most common, along with the inflatables which go up now and again in the main pool. Volleyball is 3 times a week (unless they waterlog the court again like they did when we were there) and table tennis twice I think. All of which are suitable for a large range of ages. As long as you are just about competent, you'll enjoy it.

The animation team I thought would be of complete disinterest to us, but they are real characters and make for great fun. If you beat The Big Daddy at table tennis, he will give you 'a free week all inclusive', but as far as i'm aware he's unfortunately never followed this through. They all recognise you and will say hi(/"yeeeeeah" if it's Anibal) throughout the day (or call you sexy if it's Coco). They are always up for having a laugh and pushing people in the pool/getting pushed in the pool (unless it's The Big Daddy, he can't and won't be moved). He's even been known to go for runs around the pool at 5am. The nightlife really is surprisingly great. The hotel is naturally suited for people wanting some quiet luxury, but there is a well hidden nightlife which doesn't disturb those around. I was surprised to meet a great group of people of a similar age, who go every year and approach teenagers to hang around with during the day and at night. Many friendship groups seem to form, especially in the seats in the foyer outside the restaurant. Although the marina has only one bar open after 9 (!), it's a good one, called Buda, and has a variety of drinks and shisha, if you're adventurous. The hotel itself though, serves until 1am and has a good range of beverages. The local beer Tropical is divine and you end up with a real taste for it, all free, it's worth noting. Though some cocktails and branded beers such as Budweiser and Heineken have a euro or two charge. They do ask for ID for younger guests, but only occasionally, on an irregular basis. So always be prepared as you never know if you're going to get served or not, but generally it's pretty casual and fair. They don't mind you staying in the hotel foyer overnight, and we stayed there until 5:30 once. It became tradition to have a late night dip on everybody's last night too, but keep that quiet. Similarly, any towels put out before midnight, say, get taken so you may lose your deposit. But people put them out at 1 or 2am with no problem at all. It's also handy when you need to dry off after a 2am swim. ;)

The restaurants are generally very good. I heard that the dress code was very strict, but I have seen people dining in shorts, which are blatantly shorts, with no problem. And I got away with it myself on the last day, unable to change before our flight. The food varies. There is always say, pasta dishes and rice dishes for example in the same place everyday, but there is always a slightly different recipe around such a dish. I'd say the cycle about 5 or 6 dishes of each food type. Some nights are themed, though often barely distinguishable. We had a Mexican night and an Oriental night that I could make out. Maybe some indication of when these are would be helpful. The drinks dispensers, especially at lunchtime midday, occasionally give you disgusting tonic water when you go for other drinks, which is a nasty surprise when you sit down and have a sip. This has even happened at the pool bar when ordering and having it poured by the staff. There is a great range of food, and though you will eat things more than once, they change just enough and are really nice so you won't mind. Watch out for the vegetables - they are the only thing on God's earth saltier than the swimming pool. It would also be helpful to have maybe a little V for vegetarian dishes on the description cards. Though most things are evident, I didn't realise if some dishes were or weren't vegetarian, for example I was unsure what 'au gratin' meant, and wasn't sure if it meant it had meat or not. Turns out it means it's topped with cheese and breadcrumbs, but surely a little green V wouldn't be too much to ask for. One problem came on the penultimate night. Usually there is one vegetarian and one meaty soup. This night, both had descriptions which didn't mention meat, so I tried the one where the meaty soup usually is. I found meat in it which I had almost certainly eaten - it really definitely SHOULD have been mentioned. If it happens to you, it's called bean and lentil soup or something, but it actually has sausage in it too. THIS WAS A MAJOR LET DOWN and wasn't great for a last meal.

I think I have covered just about everything, or atleast should have done considering the amount i've written. I'm entirely sure I want to go back if I can scrape together the funds, and meet up with our new friends again. I see why some of them have been coming twice a year for 10 years. If I could afford that - I wouldn't hesitate!

Room Tip: Having only experienced the hotel once, it's hard to say, but I think that a room higher up is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Martyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and for taking your time to write this lovely review!

We are extremely happy to know that you have picked our hotel for your second holiday abroad!

We don’t know if you had noticed that the dress code was only for men, the girls could wear whatever they wanted (maybe it was girls that you had seen in shorts and blatantly shorts).
We would like you to know, that we are working on the improvement of the identification of some types of food, for problems like yours don’t happen ever again.

Beyond that, we are trilled that you have enjoyed your holidays and the work of our staff and animation team, because we have managed to make your holiday here such a nice experience and it is entirely our pleasure to have had you here and we will certainly consider your recommendations.

He really hope that you can visit us in a near future, and if you have any doubt don’t hesitate to contact us !

Best regards from al the staff of Hotel Costa Calero !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fantastic most relaxing holiday ever just what was required . Staff excellent a little too giddy in the evening clearing plates as your just putting down your knife and fork. Food was great loads of choice and always tasty. Rooms large and clean. Fantastic hotel away from the hustle and bustle just perfect for a stunning holiday

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you very much for you stay in here. We ask your comprehension on the plates topic, but that’s something that sometimes it’s inevitable, but we will take your advice into consideration.

Your opinion makes us very happy, we are looking forward to your next visit here!

Warm greetings from Lanzarote!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

arrived 25th august for 11 nights. emailed in advance for high floor given 548 just perfect. We found the food most acceptable for every meal always somthing to suit. My only gripe would be as a person that likes to get up early enjoy a coffee and a read before the day starts I was unable to have a drink until breakfast room opened. Not even a coffe machine available and not tea/coffee in the room. :-( But having spent a very acceptable time the staff are very good repection always happy to help (find the bus stop for local buses) The piano bar very good for a drink before dinner the main evening bar lacked a little but only because few holiday makers about the bar staff worked very hard. The room was kept very clean and had a lovelyview every evening. At little disapointed the garden bar closed mid week (quite a walk from the lane pool for a drink or snack. but all in all had a lovely time and would recommend to friends.

Thank You for a lovely time x

Room Tip: 548 lovely room away from lifts but close enough for several lifts as required pool/bar/reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear guest

We are glad that you have enjoyed almost everything about your stay with us, we will certainly take your advice into consideration !

We inform you, that in the case of you want to have a drink ( like coffee our tea) before breakfast, you can require a electric kettle (with a 10€ refundable deposit) and then you can make your own drink.

Once again, we really appreciate your suggestions and we are very grateful that you would recommend our hotel to friends.

Looking forward to your next visit here!

Warm greetings from all the staff of Costa Calero !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

There is great potential for romance on this island, There are many beaches, but it is quite windy, so remember screens, or be prepared to come home a sand monster :)

The many resturants are great. Mont matre in particular for date night.
Teguise and puerto del carmen both have it.

The hotel was nice, there was a bit of water damage in the bath room, and the tanning beds are a "race" to get one.
People will place a towel and assume that this towel is enough to reserve a bed for a whole day. And the other guests except you to honor it.

The events for kids seemed very nice, and the hotel itself seems more suited to family vacations. Rather than romantic couples, but the good news is everyone else goes to bed early, so the couples have the pools to themselves at night...

The breakfast was a buffet, that included everything. Value for money is quite high here in my opinion.

Room Tip: Get rooms on as high a floor as possible, there are elevators, and the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MortenBork123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for writing your review here.

We are very happy to hear that you have liked your stay here and that Costa Calero suited your “love vacations” well.

We will take your commentaries into consideration and we are looking forward to your next visit here!

Sunny greetings from the “romantic” Lanzarote”!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Arrived on a later flight but just in time to have an evening meal as they stop serving at 10 pm. Food was good every night although a bit samey if you're not keen on fish, breakfast catered for all tastes and lunch was a smaller version of dinner. Spent most days by the grassy pool and children enjoyed swimming every day , they both went to kids club during the fortnight and had a great time, making some nice souvenirs there. We all enjoyed the free spa session (child specific times). We had booked a family room but were upgraded on arrival to a 2 bedroom suite which was excellent. Great time had and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank I B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking your time to write this nice review.

We are more than happy to know that everything went so smoothly for you and your family and that you had so much fun and relaxing moments here with us. The special children timetable in the Thalasso SPA centre is a great opportunity for the parents to take advantage of our wonderful facilities without having to worry about the kids. Just take them with you, lay back and relax!

We are looking forward to your next visit here and we hope that it is going to be very soon!

Warm greetings from Lanzarote!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,141 reviews
8.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
14.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#3 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,277 reviews
5 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,871 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range: $131 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero Talaso & SPA, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern Talaso& SPA Centre providing an active pool, Roman Baths and beauty and thalasso treatments, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Otel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing