We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr griffiths”
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Costa Calero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fantastic most relaxing holiday ever just what was required . Staff excellent a little too giddy in the evening clearing plates as your just putting down your knife and fork. Food was great loads of choice and always tasty. Rooms large and clean. Fantastic hotel away from the hustle and bustle just perfect for a stunning holiday

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you very much for you stay in here. We ask your comprehension on the plates topic, but that’s something that sometimes it’s inevitable, but we will take your advice into consideration.

Your opinion makes us very happy, we are looking forward to your next visit here!

Warm greetings from Lanzarote!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,981 - 1,987 of 3,715 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

arrived 25th august for 11 nights. emailed in advance for high floor given 548 just perfect. We found the food most acceptable for every meal always somthing to suit. My only gripe would be as a person that likes to get up early enjoy a coffee and a read before the day starts I was unable to have a drink until breakfast room opened. Not even a coffe machine available and not tea/coffee in the room. :-( But having spent a very acceptable time the staff are very good repection always happy to help (find the bus stop for local buses) The piano bar very good for a drink before dinner the main evening bar lacked a little but only because few holiday makers about the bar staff worked very hard. The room was kept very clean and had a lovelyview every evening. At little disapointed the garden bar closed mid week (quite a walk from the lane pool for a drink or snack. but all in all had a lovely time and would recommend to friends.

Thank You for a lovely time x

Room Tip: 548 lovely room away from lifts but close enough for several lifts as required pool/bar/reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear guest

We are glad that you have enjoyed almost everything about your stay with us, we will certainly take your advice into consideration !

We inform you, that in the case of you want to have a drink ( like coffee our tea) before breakfast, you can require a electric kettle (with a 10€ refundable deposit) and then you can make your own drink.

Once again, we really appreciate your suggestions and we are very grateful that you would recommend our hotel to friends.

Looking forward to your next visit here!

Warm greetings from all the staff of Costa Calero !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

There is great potential for romance on this island, There are many beaches, but it is quite windy, so remember screens, or be prepared to come home a sand monster :)

The many resturants are great. Mont matre in particular for date night.
Teguise and puerto del carmen both have it.

The hotel was nice, there was a bit of water damage in the bath room, and the tanning beds are a "race" to get one.
People will place a towel and assume that this towel is enough to reserve a bed for a whole day. And the other guests except you to honor it.

The events for kids seemed very nice, and the hotel itself seems more suited to family vacations. Rather than romantic couples, but the good news is everyone else goes to bed early, so the couples have the pools to themselves at night...

The breakfast was a buffet, that included everything. Value for money is quite high here in my opinion.

Room Tip: Get rooms on as high a floor as possible, there are elevators, and the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MortenBork123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for writing your review here.

We are very happy to hear that you have liked your stay here and that Costa Calero suited your “love vacations” well.

We will take your commentaries into consideration and we are looking forward to your next visit here!

Sunny greetings from the “romantic” Lanzarote”!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Arrived on a later flight but just in time to have an evening meal as they stop serving at 10 pm. Food was good every night although a bit samey if you're not keen on fish, breakfast catered for all tastes and lunch was a smaller version of dinner. Spent most days by the grassy pool and children enjoyed swimming every day , they both went to kids club during the fortnight and had a great time, making some nice souvenirs there. We all enjoyed the free spa session (child specific times). We had booked a family room but were upgraded on arrival to a 2 bedroom suite which was excellent. Great time had and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank I B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking your time to write this nice review.

We are more than happy to know that everything went so smoothly for you and your family and that you had so much fun and relaxing moments here with us. The special children timetable in the Thalasso SPA centre is a great opportunity for the parents to take advantage of our wonderful facilities without having to worry about the kids. Just take them with you, lay back and relax!

We are looking forward to your next visit here and we hope that it is going to be very soon!

Warm greetings from Lanzarote!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great food, helpfull stuff and holiday weather. Whatever you are looking for a holidays in 4star hotel can be fine in Costa callero. Locals says that the hotel iść more luxurious than the 5star hesperia close by.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Łukasz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at hotel Costa Calero and for putting your wonderful opinion about it here!

We are looking forward for your next visit!

Sunny greetings from Puerto Calero!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel (two adults and two teenage daughters) from 11th to 25th August and had a wonderful time. We were one of few visiting for the first time; many families returning 5+ times! Our rooms were on the third floor with a sea view, the fourth or fifth floors would be preferable. Beds were quite hard a lumpy but rooms had plenty of space with mini fridge providing water but there was an extra cost for alcohol.

We agree in main with all the previous positive reviews. With the exception of the main pool area (where people actually put their towels down before bedtime) sunbeds are easy enough to locate up to about 9.00 am. The pools are very cold and could do with heating and we did notice quite a build-up of sand on the steps where they had not been cleaned frequently enough.

The food was of a high standard and the theme nights made a nice change. At least one a la carte restaurant would be a bonus. They have a notice outside the restaurant stating that men should wear ¾ or full length trousers although we did not see this enforced. Snacks are available from midday: toasties, sandwiches, ice cream which the girls loved. There’s a good variety of bars and restaurants a short walk away at the marina where we visited in the evenings for a change of scenery/food.

You can have branded drinks at no extra charge along with most cocktails. An extensive list of drinks is provided at most bars clearly indicating the items that are charged.

Not sure the card system is a good idea; teenagers were able to order alcohol without any problem and people from outside the hotel were able to use the facilities as identification was not required.

There is a small rocky beach about ten minutes walk from the hotel (if you look on the hotel maps located around the pools it gives you directions) by leaving through the double doors from the spa. You can walk down some steps to the sea and have a swim in the crystal clear sea and do a bit of snorkelling.

We visited Puerto Del Carmen by water taxi which is a great way of getting there. The beach and sea is lovely but the resort is much more built up than Puerto Calero. We went on the Submarine Safari leaving from the marina which is quite expensive at 55 euros each but is well worth the experience. First Choice offered what they called a Blanket Trip which is free where you are “trapped” in a very small room for about an hour trying to sell you bedding and mattresses but that aside the trip was a great opportunity to see the island and the guide was extremely informative. They also took us to Playa Blanca where we stayed for a short while and visited the market and had a look around the lovely town. Our other trip was Dinner El Diablo where you are taken on a very hairy coach ride through the National Park to a circular restaurant built on top of the volcano with dinner cooked on the volcano heated bbq (not sure this was actually worth 55 euros each but a good experience).

You receive one free ticket to the Spa which is well worth using. Our girls went back there a further couple of times they enjoyed it so much for 6 euros each.

On our departure day they allowed us to keep our room until we left the hotel at 8.00 pm for 20 euros which was brilliant.

All in all a great relaxing holiday; we like to visit different places each year so probably would not return but only for this reason.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank MKReviewers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for writing this lovely review about it.
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed so much your very first visit here and we are hoping that it would be only one of many more to come.

We read your suggestions with interest and will take them into consideration. We can assure you that we have control over the use of the hotel´s facilities and it is not possible for people from outside to take advantage of them without paying.

We are looking forward to have you and your family back here with us soon!

Kind regards from all the Costa Calero staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A good, large hotel with nice pool and good rooms.

Food very nice and all inclusive drinks choice excellent. Some staff were very friendly particularly in the upstairs piano bar. This is a very similar style of hotel to the Riu chain so for those who seem to go every year, I recommend branching out a bit.

First Choice hopeless, rep non existent and airport transport didn't turn up on departure day.

Room Tip: 032 and 033 very convenient for the garden with access to pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarrenandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for writing this lovely review about it!

We are very happy to hear that you have liked your stay here so much! We are looking forward to your next visit here!

Sunny greetings from Lanzarote to Essex!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,101 reviews
8.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
14.3 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#3 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.9 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
491 reviews
14.5 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range: $115 - $710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero Talaso & SPA, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern Talaso& SPA Centre providing an active pool, Roman Baths and beauty and thalasso treatments, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing