We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with excellent service and exceptional spa”
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Costa Calero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Haría, Canarias, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good hotel with excellent service and exceptional spa”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Costa Calero for a one night break to enjoy the spa facilities. The room was clean and comfortable, although the television was old and didn't have any interesting channels. The free wifi is excellent, and the grounds and swimming pools were superb.

The spa is a fabulous place, and we plan to visit again. One really good thing about it is that which parts to use when are explained very simply, so you get the complete experience out of your visit.

The staff at the hotel are excellent, and service is good in all areas. We stayed on the all inclusive tarrif and dined in the main restaurant. It was extremely busy at the time, but that didn't seem to cause a problem. The food was not very inspiring, but there was plenty of it.

Room Tip: It's a big hotel, so if you don't want to walk too far, ask for a room near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeCJLanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking your time to write this nice review about it.

We are very glad to hear that you have liked everything here, especially our Thalasso Spa centre. We would like to mention that currently we are doing renovations and upgradings in it which would be completed next week. We hope that these improvements will make our guests feel even more comfortable and relaxed while using the Thalasso centre.

We are looking forward to your next visit here!

Sincerely yours,

Costa Calero team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,088
    1,028
    258
    66
    23
See reviews for
927
1,890
102
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,079)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We enjoy this hotel so much that we have now been there 7 times. This time there was no sign of sun bed bagging that we witnessed end last October .
The staff are still very attentive and pleased to serve you. The food is outstanding with a large selection for all tastes.
The piano bar is a firm favourite so can get busy at times,however the staff work hard to serve you with little waiting time. The grounds are very clean and well looked after. There is a huge selection of sun beds in a variety of locations.
The local area appears to be manly residential but does have a beautiful marina. There is also a bus ride to Pueto del Carmen or a cliff top walk that take around an hour. It is a great walk with nice views but you need. Good walking shoes or trainers as it can be rough under foot. In all an fine hotel that has recently had a little upgrade in the soft furnishing .

Room Tip: We enjoy being on the 5th floor to enjoy the lovely views of the sea plus the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel for the 7th time! This is great, we have so many returning guests, which allows us to think that we are doing our job right. And of course, the greatest reward to your efforts is the positive feedback we receive!

We highly appreciate your gesture to have taken your time to share this nice ant detailed opinion with the Tripadvisor´s users.

Looking forward to your 8th visit here and we are hoping that there are going to be many more to come!

Sunny greetings form Lanzarote to Barry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I recently returned from my 6th visit to this hotel. Given that there had been a few problems & disappointments during my 5th visit, I was apprehensive this time around in case standards had fallen. Thankfully my stay on this occasion was back to the experience I have come to expect from this hotel.

We were once again in a garden room (153) , in our block of choice. Whilst there is no sea view, we prefer to have everything close by and sunbathe on our spot of grass rather than down by the pool. We also caught up with "our" cat, who attaches herself to us during our stay!

I have already waxed lyrical in previous reviews (as indeed have other reviewers) about the food, drink, location, cleanliness etc so I will not bother repeating myself. Suffice to say that all were of a better standard than I have encountered in any other 4* A.I. Yet again we were delighted to find prawns, smoked salmon, mussels, serrano ham etc appearing several times in the buffets. Although there are fewer dinner wines to choose from in the A.I. package, there was still a good selection (my favourite was the red from Ribera del Duero - try it!).

If I absolutely had to nitpick & find fault (reluctantly!), the evening entertainment is a bit hit and miss. Some acts, particularly the Beatles tribute, Los Chicos de Wanda & the Motown/Platters/Michael Jackson tribute, were excellent. Others, especially the monotonous and strangely named Tony's band (there are only two members?), were less so. I also feel it is unfair of the hotel to expect the entertainment team to put on 2 shows a week. They work very hard 6 days a week entertaining both adults & children, please give them a break and hire professional acts for all 7 nights in the show bar.

I was pleased to see that there had been investment in the infrastructure since my last visit, and was delighted to find that our beds had new & much more comfortable mattresses.

This hotel's biggest asset is, without doubt, its staff. As others have commented, they are all hard-working, friendly, helpful & polite - from the gardeners, to the reception staff and indeed the manager himself. Special thanks go to our lovely maid Ana, whose smile lights up the room and whose towel animals are the best!! Also a special mention to Alonso & Acaymo in the bar, whose personal attention and service made us feel like VIPs.

All in all, we had a wonderful time (even with disappointing weather) and can hardly wait until our next visit.

Room Tip: As before, garden rooms have no view, but do have their own sunbeds & grassy area. Higher rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joyceabrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for the 6th time and for writing another one of your nice reviews here.

We are delighted to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and that we have made up for the minor issues from your previous stay with us.

We appreciate the fact that you find our All Inclusive service to be better than any other 4 star hotel and that you have noticed the renovations we are doing.

The picture with “your” cat is lovely, we are happy to know that you feel so comfortable here with us.

On behalf of all our devoted staff,

We are looking forward to your 7th visit here and we are hoping it is going to be very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Amazing holiday at an amazing hotel..cant praise it enough. Staff from start to finish excellent. Room A1. Pools so clean and plenty of sunbeds every day. Food excellent with plenty of choice.Branded drinks at every bar. Can only say anyone wanting complete chill time hassle free break please give this hotel a go,,dare you to find fault.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kpg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing precisely our hotel for your holidays and for writing your “amazing” review here.

We are very happy to hear that you have liked your stay here so much and that you have been completely satisfied with our service.

On behalf of all the staff, we are looking forward to having you back with us soon!

Sunny greetings from Lanzarote!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My partner and I visited Calero last year - and because the bar was set so high we haven't been able to find an AI this year that we are happy with!

Everything was top-notch. Good food for an AI - a variety and all well prepared. The only gripe was bitter coffee at breakfast (all other times was good)... and if the only grip can be solved with milk and sugar, then that's a great sign!

Amenities are superb - pools are spacious, so we could play throwing games; plenty of deck chairs - we even managed a few pool side ones without getting up at stupid o'clock!

Good entertainment - some of the professional acts were superb (how can you be amazed at a hand shadow show? easy when it's that good).

The marina close by is nice and classy - and a cool little market on some of the days.

In fact, the only reason we aren't going back this year is the lack of towns nearby to explore - which is a bit unfair on an AI where most people are happy staying in the hotel. However I suspect that it will be back on the list next year! :)

Room Tip: We were told to request a balcony - can't remember why though - maybe to ensure a non-ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us last year and for taking your time to write this wonderful review. We are really flattered to read that we have set the level so high that you haven’t been able to find a better All Inclusive hotel than ours this year.

So lovely to hear that you have liked everything about your vacations here and that you have had such a good time with us. Our guests indeed have everything they need inside the hotel premises and it is enough for a great and entertaining stay. Nevertheless, there are many places to explore all over the island and everything is within close distance. Our visitors are welcome to use the complimentary bus to the nearby lively resort Puerto del Carmen, or rent a car and travel around the charming little towns and places of interest of Lanzarote.

We are a little disappointed to hear that you are not going to visit us this year, but we are sure that hotel Costa Calero will be your choice for the next one. So, whatever you decide, we will be here, looking forward to having you back soon.

Sincerely yours,

Costa Calero team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I chose this hotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews and I am so glad I did! Everything about this hotel is fantastic and I would definitely go back!

I'd say that most guests at this hotel are 40+ with the majority being elderly and we were slightly worried about this as we are a couple in our early 20's but it was not a problem whatsoever! In fact, I feel it improved things as there was very rarely any queues for the bars, there was always sunbeds and it was a relaxing peaceful atmosphere - just what we were after!

The hotel itself is absolutley stunning! It has 3 pools (4 including the spa) and one is a salt water pool. We had a ground floor room which had it's own private terrace with a sunbed, this was the cheapest option on Thomas Cook because it didn't have a sea view but honestly could not fault the room at all. We were right next to the bottom pool and even though the resort is quite big, everything is fairly close and easy to get to. The staff are fantastic! Always friendly and there to help and kept the hotel running perfectly.

We booked all inclusive and it really was all inclusive! Breakfast was served from 8am-10:30am, lunch from 12:30pm-3pm, dinner from 7pm-10pm and there was also snacks available from the bar between so you never went hungry, drinks were also very good. They give you a menu which shows how much the drink costs and wether it is included in the all inclusive or not - if it's not included there is a supplement to pay but there is such a great range of local and international brands that we didn't feel the need to go outwith the all inclusive. The vodka used is smirnoff and the have loads of spirits such as Jack Daniels, Baileys and Southern Comfort as well as a list of beers and cocktails. The food is also fantastic! Always fresh and they varied it as much as possible. Because we booked all inclusive we also got a free spa pass each which we were wary of as we thought that we might be asked to book a treatment or something similar to make our spa passes valid but when we went to the spa we were happy to see that there was no hidden agendas and that we were simply allowed in to use the pool and roman therapy pools for as long as we liked.

I feel that there is a lot of amenities this hotel has that no one seems to mention on here which are that it has a great kids club with activities all day and a playground and it also has 2 games rooms (one with racing car games like an arcade and one with 2 pools tables, an air hockey table and a ping pong table). As well as that there is giant chess, shuffleboard and a few other outdoor games. The animation team were brilliant, there was a huge range of things on over the week and they were never too pushy about making you join in. At night the piano bar is open before dinner for drinks and stays open until late but it is quite small with the seats being taken up fast and downstairs the main show room opens a 9am. There was always plenty seats available and there was even table service for drinks. There was a different show every night which I thought were good - not broadway but what can you expect!? The Motown Stars/Michael Jackson tribute band were fantastic and had everyone up dancing!

We visted Puerto Calero 3 or 4 times which is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and is a lovely harbour with a few restaurants, bars and shops, including a supermarket. This is also where you can book excursions - we booked the catamaran (highly reccommended!) and we also got a water bus from here to Puerto Del Carmen (NOT reccommended, takes you nowhere near the centre of Puerto Del Carmen). We also got a taxi into the nightlife of Puerto Del Carmen one night and it costs about 6-9 euros from the hotel. There is a commercial centre there which is full of clubs and if you play the PR's right you can get free shots/cocktails and it's happy hour every hour! Tequila bar, Big Apple and VIP were really good!

All in all our holiday was amazing, we've heard that loads of people come again and again and I'm not surprised. If you're considering booking it then go for it! You won't come to regret it!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a private terrace and private sunbeds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clairefairb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for choosing precisely our hotel for your holidays. It is lovely to know that you have done so due to the marvellous reviews of our visitors. We are very happy to hear that we succeed in making people content with our service and facilities.

He highly appreciate the fact that you took your time to write this flattering and extensive opinion about our hotel and for highly recommending it. Indeed, Costa Calero is suitable for all ages and offers quality entertainment for everybody.

We are looking forward to welcome you here again soon!

Sunny greetings from Lanzarote to Glasgow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We paid more than £100 to get an upgrade on our room so we had the sea view that we had heard so much about. Upon arriving we were allocated a room on the ground floor which I suspected didn't have a sea view so I made a point of asking if it did in fact have the sea view that we had paid for. I was assured by the woman on reception that it had. We set off to find the room and looked outside but it was getting dark so we couldn't actually see what kind of view we had. Anyway we unpacked and settled in for the night because we had been reassured by the receptionist that we had our sea view upgrade.
Well yes you guessed it, the next morning we threw open the curtains and patio doors to find a view of a wall, shrubbery and trees. Huge disappointment so I mentioned this at reception and they offered to move us to the second floor but as we had already unpacked and settled in then it seemed a huge hassle so I asked just to get the extra money we had paid for the upgrade to be refunded. I was told this wasn't possible and they offered us a bottle of cava and some spa passes. So as I said don't pay to upgrade because you may not get what you want or pay for, you may be upgraded though anyway so save your money!!
After getting that off my chest I must say that the hotel was great in every other way so don't be put off just save yourself the upgrade money

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and thank for writing this review .

We are terribly sorry to hear that you haven’t been allocated according to your preferences at the beginning, this was maybe due to misunderstanding or lack of availability. Nevertheless, as you are mentioning you have been offered to be moved to a sea view room on the next day, which you didn’t find convenient at the time. We really do your best to accommodate everybody properly and as you have seen, if there are any difficulties in doing so, we always offer compensations to make up for the mistake.

In conclusion, we are extremely relieved to hear that besides this minor annoyance you have had a very nice holiday at our hotel and that you have been fully satisfied by our service. We remain with the hope that you will consider Costa Calero again for spending your holidays here.

Warm greetings on behalf of all our devoted staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,643 reviews
8.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
4.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,720 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,413 reviews
14.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Property: Hotel Costa Calero
Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero Talaso & SPA, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern Talaso& SPA Centre providing an active pool, Roman Baths and beauty and thalasso treatments, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing