We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Around”
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Costa Calero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Second visit to this hotel, not a lot to add to other reviews really. It’s still a good option. Food is still good and there are enough options at Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. There’s a cooked Breakfast for the traditionalist and cold meat/cheese if you want to go continental. Lunch has cold and hot options (usually 4 or 5 hot options). Dinner the same, there wasn’t a time we struggled for food options during our 9 day stay.

Never a rush for a sun bed, always somewhere to lay about and do nothing. Drinks were also good with named brands available, Jack Daniels, Bombay or Gordons, Smirnoff Red, Bacardi, Carlos III, Torres V among others.

Room we had was more than adequate for the job (I like a mattress that doesn’t collapse under you, firmer is better). I don’t go on holiday to be entertained in the evening so wasn’t that bothered that the entertainment finished at 10:30pm. What we did notice is that as soon as the entertainment finishes you’ll have the bar to yourself and a couple of other hardy souls. We sat outside each night and watched the entertainment from afar, well through the glass wall, it wasn’t as loud and you could actually talk and hear what the other person was saying, useful when you meet interesting people, which we did, the people we met were 11 time veterans.

What speaks volumes for this hotel is that there are a lot of repeat guests and we’ll be counting ourselves amongst them, flights being booked for same time next year, may do 11 days this time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kissmygaseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear guest,

We are happy to have been able to welcome you here for the second time. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you found everything to be of your liking.

As you have seen for yourself, some of our guests are really “addicted” to our small paradise called Hotel Costa Calero, (11 visits speaks for itself). Of course, welcoming repetitive guests is the biggest reward to us and to our staff that put all their efforts in providing the best quality service.

Looking forward to your visit here next year!

Sunny greetings from Lanzarote!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,205 - 2,211 of 3,715 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

First time to Lanzaorte, and what a great hotel to chill out and relax.
The standard of cleaniness, service and aid by the staff from the house maids, waiters and management was first class. This hotel is definitely in the higher ranking of 4 stars.
We had a pool side room which had it's own little piece of grass with sunloungers, just a stones throw away from the pool area, which had plenty of beds available.
The food was of a very high standard with multiple choices for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
My wife who is a vegetarian, also could not believe the numeruos options available for all the food sittings.( I have not seen her eat so much and enjoyed the variety).
One thing I did note with the drinks is that if you are all inclusive you are supplied with pukka named brand alchol i.e Smirnoff, Barcardi, Jack Daniels.
The marina was quite close and if you liked walking there were some nice coastal walks to be had, alternatvely you could hire a bike and take up some of the wonderful scenic rides.

In my opinion this is definitely not a young persons hotel if you want the night life, more of a chill out and laid back hotel.

Room Tip: our room had a pool view, but all rooms looked to have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noelevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing precisely hotel Costa Calero for your very first visit to Lanzarote! And thank you for the gesture to write this lovely review about it.

We are honoured to know that in your opinion our hotel should be of higher ranking then 4 stars. We are always aiming to provide first class service and exceptional quality standards to all our guests.

So nice to hear that the room, the food, the drinks, the staff and the hotel surroundings were exactly of your liking.

It is true that our lovely marina is a quiet and peaceful location. But allow us to add that Costa Calero is suitable for all ages and offers entertainment and all kinds of activities for everybody. And for the night-life lovers, there is the nearby town of Puerto del Carmen with its numerous bars and discos.

Once again, we are very grateful for your kind words about our hotel and we are looking forward to your next visit here!

Warm greetings from Lanzarote to Swansea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was my first visit to the hotel and it was amazing!
there was something for everyone & great food! good family facilities and excellent spa & sports facilities, daytime activities & evening entertainment.
I was on an all inclusive board basis and it included choices of bottled wines at dinner & many premium international alcoholic drinks!

The hotel has a courtesy bus to take you to Puerto del Carmen (5km or so away) or I found a lovely cliff top walk from the marina to the old Port at Puerto del Carmen (probably 3km including some up and down hills!). There is a bus stop near-by too if you want to go further afield - or there is a splendid bike centre for 'real' cyclists and they have a few 'regular' bikes for the rest of us!
I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: there are garden view and seaview rooms- the seaview looks down to the marina & the ocean beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JC-CC-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the lovely review about our “amazing” hotel Costa Calero! We are very lucky to have had you as our guest.

So nice to hear how much you have liked it here! The positive feedbacks we get are the greatest reward to our efforts and give us the power to continue improving our service and aim to perfection.

On behalf of all our staff, we are looking forward to your next visit here!

Sunny greetings from Lanzarote to Brighton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel based on the reviews and having great memories of staying in a similar Lanzarote hotel many years ago. It cost €20 in a taxi from the airport to get here. Our first impressions were very good, the huge reception was immaculate and we were checked in very quickly by a friendly lady.

The hotel is very large but so well laid out that it doesn't seem like there any many people staying. There are multiple pools all surrounded by ample sun loungers many of which are in nooks and crannies such is the design so it doesn't feel like the whole world is on holiday with you. It is obvious a lot of thought has gone into the layout of the outside area and it really makes a big difference compared to other places I have stayed. There is plenty of vegetation and grass even makes an appearance in a few places.

We had our three young children with us and they made ample use of the kids club and lived for the mini disco every night. The staff were fantastic making the kids feel welcome and us reassured they would be cared for and have fun too. That gave me time to use the gym and spa. The gym is small but good enough for a hotel gym.

The food was nice, it didn't blow me away but it was in no way bad. I wasn't crazy about the selection of meat but that may be my taste. The choice of fish and the Italian menu were first class.

Overall I would have no difficulty in recommending this hotel to my family and friends and would like to thank the staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eamon_Swords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and thank you for writing this marvellous review about it. So nice to hear that you have chosen our hotel due to the positive feedbacks of the people that have stayed here. That is without a doubt a sign that we succeed in what we are doing: making our guests feel at their best here.

We appreciate that you are mentioning the unique layout of the gardens, the pools and the sunbed areas. Everything in our establishment is designed to create an incredible atmosphere of both luxury and cosiness. As you have seen, hotel Costa Calero is ideal for all ages and offers everything for everybody: singles, couples, families with kids, etc.

We are very happy to know that your children had so much fun with our animation team and thus allowed you to enjoy your holiday at the fullest.

On behalf of all the staff, we are looking forward to welcome you here again!

Sunny greetings from Lanzarote!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have just had our second visit to Puerto Calero. It is a lovely quiet resort but not far from Puerto del Carmen if you want something more lively. Not really the best option for youngsters, this is really a couples or "seniors" sort of place. Last year we stayed at the Hesperia & this hotel is just as good. There isn't much to separate them. The rooms here are more modern, bigger & brighter but the towels are not as soft and the toiletries not as good. The food is good in each of them but I had a slight preference for the dining at the Hesperia. Staff are equally nice at both hotels. Hesperia has the better views but Costa Clalero is more convenient for the harbour & shops. If I go again I'd be happy to stay at either - which ever one had the best deal available.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TomEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at hotel Costa Calero and for writing this nice review about it.

We are very happy to hear that you liked your vacation here so much. Allow us to mention, that the hotel is suitable for all ages as we offer all sorts of entertainment and sports activities. Also the hotel is situated very close to the lively resort of Puerto del Carmen with its marvellous beaches and nightlife.

We are hoping that you are going to choose hotel Costa Calero for your third visit to Lanzarote!

Looking forward to your next visit here!

Greetings from Lanzarote to Rainham!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our first visit to this very spacious hotel, which has beautiful gardens several swimming pools
& a wondeful spa, it's very clean. Bedrooms are quite modern. No need to rush to put towels on sunbeds as they are plentful, with some secuded areas. The hotel It is in an excellent location with easy access to the marina, with a few shops, restrauants & bars. There's a small market
at the marina twice a week. A free bus is provided to the nearest town Puerto del Carmen which is approx 10 minutes away, you can also walk or take the water taxi. The staff are very helpful
efficient & friendly. The evening entertainment could be improved as there's a wonderful spacious concert room with comfortable seating & bar but lacks atmosphere & seems to clear once the show has finished. Theres a panio bar which has an artist on most evenings. Lunchtime
dining area expresses concerns with birds waiting to feed from tables & food areas (although they have glass to protect food items) you can't leave your table without they would land on your food or sit on the chairs in waiting to help themselves. Hopefully this issue will be addressed.

Room Tip: Book a Sea view room which looks over a beautiful marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAROL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and for taking your time to write this lovely review about your experience here.

We are very glad to hear that you have found almost everything of your liking. We highly appreciate your recommendations and will surely take them into consideration.

We hope that we are going to be able to welcome you here again for another amazing vacation at the “Islands of Eternal Spring”!

Sunny greetings from Lanzarote!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Well what can we say, just got back from hotel Costa Calero situated in a beautiful area, what a great winter holiday, lovely hotel, very clean, quiet, fantastic staff, very helpful in every way nothing to much trouble. The rooms on the 5th floor have lovely views, beds a little hard but not really a problem. The only negative was the food, as we have not done AI before, breakfast always good plenty to chose from, lunch ok, and the evening meals could have been more varied (think the chef needs a lesson on how to cook roast beef though!!!!!!). The evening entertain was excellent, and the young animation team are absolutely fantastic thorough out the day, with plenty to do if you wish to participate, good fun really. The best bit of all away from the dreadful cold English weather who could believe March could be so cold. Thanks Lanzarote wonderful x

Room Tip: 5th floor sea facing rooms are lovely, but then so are the garden view ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlemeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Costa Calero for your winter vacation and thank you for writing this nice review about it.

We are very glad to hear that you liked your stay here so much. Sorry you found that some of the meals offered were not exactly of your taste, but as we know every palate is unique in its preferences.

On the behalf of all the staff and especially the animation team, we are looking forward to your next visit here!

Sunny greetings from Lanzarote to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,101 reviews
8.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
14.3 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#3 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.9 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
491 reviews
14.5 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range: $115 - $710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero Talaso & SPA, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern Talaso& SPA Centre providing an active pool, Roman Baths and beauty and thalasso treatments, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing