We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Costa Calero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

good food, buffet style, entertainment crew tried hard to keep people happy. very clean and near to marina (short walk on hill), very relaxing place. only downside was finding a sunbed even out of season, as many left their belongings on them but didnt use them. lovely pools but very cold water. however we really enjoyed our holiday and would go back. room service/cleaners were very good. has few cats roaming around which didnt bother us at all but if you dont like cats you may think again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STCMWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear guest,

We are very happy to have had you in our hotel! So nice that you have found your stay here “lovely” and that you have decided to take your time and share your experience at TripAdvisor.

We would like to mention that there are enough sun beds for everybody in the hotel (their number is outstands the number of the beds available for example). Although some guests do tend to “reserve” them by putting their towels sometimes not everybody can have a sun bed right next to the water.
The outdoor pools are heated to 24 degrees Celsius, the maximum temperature allowed by the Spanish legislation, so we can not permit ourselves to exceed it.

The few cats you are mentioning are really not bothering anybody, as they avoid contacts with guests if they are not wanted.

We will be very happy to have you back here for another enjoyable vacation!

Sincerely yours,

Costa Calero team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,315 - 2,321 of 3,788 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just back from a week at the Calero all inclusive. Paid extra for a sea view and was allocated a room on the 2nd floor which wasn't as high as I would have liked but had fantastic views and there was no one above us.

Food was good, liked the idea that you could choose wine at dinner and was given the bottle. Drinks were quality, all branded spirits.

There is one heated pool but I couldn't tell the difference and swam in the salt water pool as I'm training for Ironman Lanzarote. Some people swam in wetsuits.......I forgot mine. Yes it was chilly but nothing too painful!

The port of Calero is very pretty with some good bars and restaurants. Had a cocktail in one bar called the "Casba" or similar. Very nice but poor service.

The hotel has a bike hire centre ran by a German called Michael. He is very friendly and knowledgeable and speaks good English.

All in all had a good time and I am returning in May!

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view and e mail ahead.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for writing such a nice review about it!

Indeed, it is worth to upgrade to a sea-view, the views to the ocean, the island of Fuerteventura and the garden area are spectacular and should not be missed.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our AI service and the branded drinks and wines.

We would like to mention that now we have the salt water pool La Salina heated too, to the temperature of 22 degrees Celsius, in order to be suitable for training people like you as well.

Thank you very much on behalf of Michael and all the Costa Calero staff!

We are looking forward to your next visit here!

Greetings from Lanzarote!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed from 17th Jan to 31st Jan.
This was our fifth visit to the Costa Calero and this stay was for the wedding of our son on 25th January.
The hotel again lived up to the high standard we have been used to on previous visits.
Having 23 friends and family all staying at the hotel may have caused problems at dinner but i cannot fault the restaurant Manager and staff as nothing was too difficult for them to arrange and always with a smile.
Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisHenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the lovely words, we are so happy to have had you here with us for the 5th time and for such a wonderful happening as the wedding of your son! It is great to hear that you and your friends had a blast celebrating this important family occasion in our hotel.

We can assure you that your large group wasn´t a problem at all!

We are looking forward to your next visit to Costa Calero!

Greetings from Lanzarote to Portsmouth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just got back last night from a week stay at this beautiful hotel. Had a ground floor room which was enormous, with a huge double bed and a single. plenty wardrobe and storage space, huge bathroom and a terrace. We were all inclusive, this even included your choice of bottled wine from an impressive wine list. You didnt just get a glass of wine but the whole bottle. Food very nice, lots of choice both morning , lunchtime and impressive evening meal choice. The restaurant was nicely laid out with sections breaking it up so it appeared as a restaurant and not so much like a hige canteen. The public areas are very impressive and the whole hotel is light and airy.

There are 4 pools to choose from and the sunbathing areas are in little sections so every one has their own space, with each pair of loungers having their own table and parasol. We were there from 24th to 31st January, the first couple of days were quite cool and windy with no sunshine but from Sunday onwards the sun was shining with temperatures about 23-24 c, people were even going into the unheated pools! Not me though I am a big softy.

The animation team had something for everyone who wanted to take part through the day and there were some decent shows at night. If you didnt want to watch the show there was also the Piano Bar which has just had new furniture and upholstery.

The only downside I could say about this hotel is that if the weather is not to good, the only bar area has to be accessed from outside and is open to the elements.

We had a wonderful week and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear guest,

What a lovely review! Thank you for the kind words and thank you for the gesture to share it with the other TripAdvisor users.

Our greatest reward is to know that you have had a wonderful time here with us and that we have been able to make your stay unforgettable.

It is great that you are mentioning the hotel´s unique architecture. The building represents a complex structure of several levels, each one open to the beautiful internal gardens which give the feeling of “lightness” and “airiness” that you are talking about. And of course, the best of all are the vast lush tropical gardens of the hotel.

So nice of you to notice the improvements we made to the bar´s and restaurant´s furniture and that you like it.

We are hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again here for another awesome vacation!

Greetings from Lanzarote to Gateshead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to the Costa Calero - the first was in Jan 2011. Everything was just as good as the first time, with a great AI package, spotlessly cleans rooms and public areas, good food and pleasant, efficient staff. We had a great view from our balcony on the 5th floor over the marina and sea.
We used the courtesy bus and the water taxi into Puerto del Carmen a couple of times but it was always lovely to get 'home' to the comfortable Costa Calero with higher standards of cleanliness and better food and drink than the busy tourist centre. The bars and restaurants around the Puerto Calero marina were also clean and comfortable.
There is nothing to complain about at this hotel and some of the previous reviews are unjustly harsh. The food is very nice and we always found something tasty to enjoy - the pork, chicken and lamb from the carvery section was always lovely as was the salad and vegetable selection with lots to tempt us.
The evening entertainment does finish early - the only suggestion that I would make is that a house band would keep people up later would be enjoyed by guests who like to dance maybe. We went with Travel Republic and it was more reasonable than the big tour operators - we were in the hotel within 30 minutes of landing - fab. Taxis were 17 or 18 euros from the airport.
Each time we have been here the other guests we have met have always been charming and there has been no unpleasant behaviour. We will def return to the Costa Calero again in the future.
Many thanks indeed to all at the Hotel Costa Calero - you gave us a lovely, high quality, peaceful holiday which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: If you want a high floor sea view room - pay for it and email the hotel before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CathyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken your time to write this nice and detailed review about our hotel.

We are very glad to hear that this has been your second stay here and that you are planning to visit us again. The huge number of happy repetitive guests is the biggest proof that our hard work gives results and that we succeed in what we do – providing all of you with an unforgettable experience here.

So lovely to know that you have felt at “home” here! We are looking forward to your future visit and we are hoping it will be soon!

Sincerely yours,

Costa Calero team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

It's probably not as bad as my 2 stars suggests but what I really hate about hotels is when they 'dress up' their rooms on a website to make you think they are much nicer than they are with misleading pictures, hence my low rating We decided to treat ourselves by paying more for a one bed suite which is made to look luxurious with spa baths (on the website it shows these overlooking the views/balcony). Although the bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom was dark and small at the back of the room with no 'jacuzzi bath' and with mould/mildew on the grouting- I have had better bathrooms in cheap travellodges!

The good points:

Very clean everywhere including the rooms. Very efficient, friendly housekeeping staff. Comfortable beds, great views and lovely pools/gardens. Puerto calero is a lovely marina and we ate at the restaurants there often at lunchtime (as we didnt want to eat much as part of our half board deal at the hotel!)

The bad points:

We were met on arrival by a very brusque, arrogant and unfriendly man on reception (Sixto) who didnt bother to welcome us or look us in the eye. We were also then asked to pay 20 euros for the priviledge of using a safe which was already in our room, for one week - this is awful considering what we paid for the room! Although we had paid extra for a suite with great views, half of our balcony view was blocked. We asked to change rooms bearing in mind what we had paid but were told there were no other suites available other than one overlooking the road at the front of the hotel. The 'suite' part of our room was very basic with old furniture covered with garish loose covers. A dressing room had broken shelving and bulbs had gone in lights. The advertised 'satellite TV' was a few spanish or german channels (not that we watch TV other than news on holiday but some might, and it is advertised as available!)

The food was good at breakfast (although I wouldnt have wanted to be there when the hotel was full!) but we werent impressed with the buffet style dinner which was like a canteen, most food was tasteless and 'cheap options' of each type of fish and meat available. There was little variation in the options and the service was fairly brusque and unfriendly. We stayed in a 4 star hotel in Croatia last year and the service and food was so much better!

Also, the hotel advertises free wi-fi in the suites. This was only available in one small public part of the hotel NOT in the rooms and we couldnt connect to it even in the public area.

Loud midday 'entertainment' could also be heard throughout the hotel just as people were relaxing by the pool or on their balcony. Why they feel it's necessary to run quizs and bingo for guests on a lovely sunny day, using loud speakers and microphones is beyond me - there were only ever a few people participating and they looked as though they had been forced....

All in all, we probably would have enjoyed it all a bit more if we hadnt been misled by the website meaning our initial impression was one of disappointment and feeling like it wasnt worth what we paid.... a lesson to be learnt by the marketing team I hope.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimzoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and thank you for taking your time to write your opinion about it.

We are terribly sorry to hear that you have been disappointed by your stay. It is very surprising for us to read your complaints. Nevertheless we are grateful that you have liked the cleanliness, the housekeeping staff, the gardens, the views and the beds.

We can assure you that we do not “dress up” our rooms and all the pictures on our website are real.

On the satellite TV in the rooms there are English-speaking TV channels such as CNN, Skynews, etc., as well as two movie channels in English. Also, a WiFi connection is provided in the rooms and in the lobby. Maybe you were experiencing some kind of a technical difficulty when attempting to connect.

Once again, we can not express our disappointment of the fact that your holiday here has not fully satisfied you and we remain in the hope that you will keep some pleasant memories of your stay in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Hotel Costa Calero team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at Costa Calero Hotel mid January 2013 and can't fault it. Beautiful gardens, friendly and
helpful staff in all areas who are happy in their jobs which makes for a very relaxed atmosphere.
Good food with plenty of choice. Generous all inclusive package ie many top brand drinks included until bars close not just certain hours like some all inclusives. Rooms spacious & comfotable. Everywhere spotlessly clean.Will definately go back. Very relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Hotel very helpful & WILL help find you a room to suit your needs, ask for a quiet room if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dearest guest,

First of all, many thanks for having chosen our hotel for spending your vacations. We are very grateful that you have taken your time to post such a wonderful opinion of your stay here in Tripadvisor.

We are eager to have you back here with us in Costa Calero as soon as possible!

Sunny greetings on behalf of all our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,192 reviews
5 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,936 reviews
8.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,319 reviews
4.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,963 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range: $123 - $673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero Talaso & SPA, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern Talaso& SPA Centre providing an active pool, Roman Baths and beauty and thalasso treatments, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing