We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Costa Calero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have just arrived back from a 10 day holiday to the Hotel Costa Calero, Lanzarote. We had an extremely pleasant flight from Manchester and arrived at the Hotel at lunchtime. We were able to go straight in to lunch adjacent to the pool bar where there are plenty of tables at which to sit. There was a huge amount of choice from hot meals to plentiful salads. The staff were all extremely helpful and the lady who cleaned our room did a beautiful job, which included shaping our bathroom towel into the shape of a heart, which surrounded all our bathroom items, and she placed a red rose at the tip of the towel. The entertainment was brilliant and Carlos and the team gave their all, to make sure every one had a brilliant time. We would definately return to this lovely and beautifully positioned hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kathlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dearest guest,

Thank you for the kind words and the lovely review! We cannot express our joy of having been able to provide you with such a pleasant vacation!

As you have seen, we treat all our guests with special attention and detail in order to make their experience here divine.

On behalf of al the staff, we are looking forward to your next visit here and we hope that it is going to be even better then the previous one!

Warm greetings from Lanzarote to Manchester!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,327 - 2,333 of 3,782 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Arrived yesterday, room ok but not great. Staff nice but food on both nights had been bland canteen standard. Entertainment last night in piano bar was great tonight is very boring with big gaps between music. If you come just to drink then the all inclusive is probably great otherwise don't bother. We definitely are not getting value for money, shame.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tcatcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear guest,


Thank you for taking your time to share your experience in our hotel and to write this review.

As regarding to the food, we are aiming to adapt it to the different likings, and we include in our menu a wide variety of choices from both international and local cuisine. But we are familiar with the fact that tastes are subjective and that is very difficult to be able to satisfy absolutely everybody.

All Inclusive option is excellent, it provides quests with high quality food and branded drinks, and it is the best choice for the stay here, but of course everybody is free to enjoy the type of regimen that best suites their needs.

We are very sorry that you have complaints about the entertainment in the Piano Bar during one of the nights of your stay here. There is life music there 4 times per week, featuring classy sax and piano performers.

We are hoping that you will be satisfied by the rest of your stay here with us and that you will come back again!

Sincerely yours,

Costa Calero team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

stayed in this hotel for second time
went all inclusive this time
hotel room was great and the view was fantastic.
food got a bit boring after a while , however purposely went all inclusive so that i did not have to engage my brain during the whole week.
felt safe on my own as had been before,
lovely big grounds and a lovely marina 5 mins walk down a steep hill
good Indian at the Marina
will be back

Room Tip: all rooms are looking out over sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MRSFATTYBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation and to have taken your time to write such a nice review about it.

We are glad to hear that it was your second visit in Costa Calero and that you are planning on returning again.

We are looking forward to having you back here with us as soon as possible!

Greetings from Lanzarote to Belfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This full inclusive hotel was an excellent hotel and we really enjoyed our stay there over Christmas. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and all the staff make you feel very welcome. The great weather was a real bonus too!

We are both into our sports and this was an excellent hotel to base ourselves at. There are some great costal paths for running down from the hotel, offering a bit of cross country training. The bike rides from the hotel require an immediate 3km climb to the main roads, but at least you can freewheel back to the hotel at the end of your ride. Lanzarote Bikes based at the hotel are excellent. Both hired and stored 1 bike with them. No need to take your own energy drinks / gels as all provided.

The heated pool was still a little chilly but that was fine, as encouraged swimming!!! to keep warm. The largest pool (40m) was salt-water, which took a little of getting used to, and was very cold so recommend wetsuits for winter holidays. It was laned,which was excellent for training.

The spa is a little old and could do with some TLC but was fine for a couple of hours on Christmas day to have a splash. Tried to book in for a massage but was fully booked so did get the chance to have one.

The food is great and lots of choice with little repetition. The Christmas Day Gala meal was lovely. Lots of fresh fish, meats and salads with good wine selection (half bottles also available which was good if planning a bike bike ride the next day!). The musicians on the piano bar were good and always a friendly atmosphere. Never really watched any of the entertainment as not our thing anyway! Recommend sunset in the piano bar, with a glass of cava or 2! We were never tempted down to the harbour to eat, even though the places there looked good, as the food at the hotel was so enjoyable, there was no need.

Recommend the pilates class and sure the others could be good too, but didn't try them! was 20 euro to get an "extension" room as checkout is at 12 noon and we did not fly home till the evening. Well worth it, and you kept your fully inclusive cards to ensure you could still access the restaurants / bars etc.

I think we will be back one day, as such a lovely place to eat, rest and play!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, with garden terrace, strongly recommend these room as rest of hotel so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the lovely review! We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your Christmas Holidays here with us!

Hotel Costa Calero is indeed a great place for sports-loving people. It offers great possibilities for training and relaxation, both for professionals and amateurs. Thank you for highlighting the services Lanzarote bike offers, it is a great asset to our hotel and a very well equipped base for triathlon competitors.

We would like to mention that the outdoor pools are heated to 24 degrees Celsius as this is the highest temperature Spanish legislation permits.

We will be waiting for your next visit here, when you will be able to enjoy once again our great facilities, the friendly stuff and of course, the magnificent sunsets with a glass of cava !

Warm greetings from Lanzarote to Nottingham!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

2nd visit to this hotel in one year, a week in June 2012 and just returned after a two week stay 19th Dec 2012 until 2nd Jan 2013 and ready to return again, hopefully a sneaky week in July 2013.
Stayed in room 280 a lovely sea view but would like to have been on the 5th floor but all rooms were booked.
Food excellent again no complaints both Christmas night Gala dinner and New Years Eve Gala dinner were fabulous the staff do an amazing job to cater for everyone well done, the champagne was lovely. All the restaurant staff are brilliant and cater for everyone's needs.
All inclusive drinks so much choice and being able to have English branded spirits is the best.
Xmas day was great for the kids Santa came on real camel drinks and canapés were served for everybody all the children received a decent present from the hotel a very nice touch and best of all the sun was shining. The entertainment team dressed up as Santa's helpers and mini and Micky mouse. New years was brilliant a bottle of champagne on arrival 3 lots of entertainment fireworks at midnight hot soup hot chocolate and grapes and the bar was open until very late around 3 I think. My daughter was tired by 1.30 am so we had to leave. The Xmas and new year decorations were lovely so many balloons and party bags for everyone to enjoy and see in the new year.
Excellent weather from when we arrived got into the 30's in the first week second week late 20's and the last 2 days it became overcast and very windy but can't complain still much warmer than the uk.
All the staff at this hotel make your stay enjoyable, they are a credit to the hotel. A special mention to Daniel and Hector in the main bar there service was excellent at all times and always smiling and making sure you enjoy yourselves. the bar man in the piano bar was very friendly and got to know what drinks you had.
The cleaners come every single day and leave fresh bottled water and clean towels very friendly and happy to help
The entertainments team are fantastic and do an excellent job every day in the kids club during the day and in the evenings making sure everyone is enjoying themselves. There own shows are brilliant and the hotels entertainment is good but never lasts long enough to keep people up when the bar closes at 1am most people have gone to bed by 11pm such a shame a disco is needed to keep everyone entertained.
Karlos Ana Venny Anibal and Cammacho work so hard at all times well done to you all we miss you.
Only one complaint the beautiful big pool was freezing the olympic size salt water pool was also freezing such a shame they were both empty for the whole two weeks, the only pool useable was the one down below on the grassed area, this made our holiday difficult to watch my daughter as we wanted to use the sunbeds by the big pools but luckily she met friends and spent her time with them in the small pool, so please please for next christmas and new year, heat the other pools so everybody can enjoy them with their children. Huge Inflatables were brought in 3 times over the two weeks for the kids to enjoy but were not used due to the pool being unbearable to get into what a waste of time effort and money pease take note (to the manager) everything else was faultless an amazing hotel worthy of its four stars.
Hope to be back in July and also again for next Christmas and new year why go anywhere else when this hotel as it all thank you to the manager and staff for a lovely holiday yet again happy new year to you all. .

Room Tip: 4th and 5th floor rooms have the best view hopefully next visit I'll get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear guest,

We are happy to hear that you have chosen to spend the most wonderful time of the year- Christmas and New Year holidays here with us! It is lovely to hear that it was your second visit and you are planning on returning again and again!

We highly appreciate the gesture to have taken your time to write this lovely review about Costa Calero. Satisfied guests is the greatest reward we can receive for our efforts.

Thank you for the detailed description of our Gala dinners and our special Christmas and New Year’s treats and programs. On behalf of all the staff, we are very glad that we have managed to make your stay unforgettable.

As regarding the pools, we have three pools heated to 24 degrees Celsius, this is the highest temperature Spanish legislation permits for outdoor pools. We will also have the salt water pool heated within a week. In December we had to clean the salt water pool and it was emptied for 5 days and the guests were previously warned about this. All the other pools were available, and as a compensation for the inconveniences, guests could use the pool of the Spa and Thalasso center for free.

Once again, we are very flattered of your high opinion of our hotel and we are looking forward to your future visits here in July and Christmas!
Very Happy New Year to you too!

Sincerely yours,

Costa Calero team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Costa Calero and the whole family had a great time, it is worth every penny as the facilities are excellent, staff are their biggest asset, entertainment good and food and drink brillant.
The only disappointment I have is that it is in Lanzarote and although very happy to spend most of the holiday in the hotel, with 4 kids like to do some activities outside their excellent facilities. Last time we did the Volcano national park, Rango excursion, Catlanza boat trip and the submarine.
We will definely being going back, cant wait, but unfortunately it wont be this year as the family has voted on choosing another island with different execursions to offer. If only we could pick up this hotel and move to a different island.

Hotel Fab, everything brill, Lanzarote great for the 1st visit, but feel we have done all the execursions that our kids would enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1969mlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your family vacations.

We highly appreciate that you took your time to write this lovely review about Costa Calero.

We are very happy to hear that you have been completely satisfied by the hotel and that you liked so much the staff, the food, the facilities and the entertainment.

As regarding to the island, Lanzarote has many more places of interest to offer. Some suggestions are the magnificent Mirador del Rio, Famara Beach, El Golfo, Papagayo Beach , Cueva de los Verdes. “Los Jameos del Agua” deserve special highlighting – it is the fabulous and uniquely built and designed house of the famous Lanzarote architect Cesar Manrique, located in one of the caves made by the lava whilst making its way through to the ocean.
Also, Lanzarote is a great place for a winter time vacation, as it has spring climate all year round. During the month of February the annual Carnivals take place - a one of a life time experience, enjoyed by all ages.
If you would like to travel to another island you can easily do so from Lanzarote, there is a ferry going to the neighbouring Fuerteventura, so you could enjoy a day trip to there and then return.

Once again, we are flattered that you consider our hotel to be the top destination in Lanzarote and we hope that your next visit will be sooner than you have expected. Our beautiful island hides a lot more to be discovered, so do not hesitate to choosing it once again, you will not be disappointed.

Warm greetings from Puerto del Carmen to Kilwinning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here over Xmas, and paid for a sea-view room, which we got, on the fourth floor.
The room had a fridge, and old tv which got around four English stations, and a very dark bathroom. Our maid was lovely and kept everything spic and span.

The all inclusive is excellent, and we've stayed many times in other hotels, but this one was the best. Meals were usually very good, but my husband and I got the flu half way through the holiday, so we spent half of it not doing anything other than resting in the bedroom.

The birds which have free reign in the lunchtime restaurant can be a bit cheeky, and given a chance, will land on the serveries, but the plus side is that any food left on the floor quickly gets eaten.

The Spa was lovely, the staff were great, and it was amazing to watch all the pensioners pouring out the Cava for breakfast - they must have pickled livers !

It's a quiet resort, and the guests looked like they were all from Saga, but that kept the noise down. We tip the waiters and never had any problems getting drinks, but then again, most others didn't tip.

I'd certainly go again, but we'd get a flu jab beforehand next time.

Room Tip: Fourth and fifth floor rooms give sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheshe90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen hotel Costa Calero for your vacations. We highly appreciate the gesture to have taken your time to write this entertaining and detailed review about your stay here!

We are looking forward to welcome you back and we really hope that next time the flu will not spoil your holidays!

Best regards from Lanzarote!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,186 reviews
8.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
5 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,314 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
510 reviews
14.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range: $124 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero Talaso & SPA, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern Talaso& SPA Centre providing an active pool, Roman Baths and beauty and thalasso treatments, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing