We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great”
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Costa Calero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have stayed at the Hotel Costa Calero many times and look on it as "home from home" now. We like the cleanliness, polite and friendly staff, lovely food and great facilities. It is the perfect place for a Winter "chill out" before the bad weather hits the UK. We have never had any reason to criticise the hotel. They seem to be gradually upgrading and yes the Piano Bar is dated, but the lounge is lovely to sit in and enjoy an aperitif or after dinner coffee etc. Marvellous holiday.

Room Tip: Obviously it depends on mobility, but the upper rooms 3rd floor or above have beautiful views. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fussy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate the gesture to write such a marvellous opinion about your hotel in TripAdvisor.

There is nothing more flattering and rewarding to hear that you have felt at home in Costa Calero and that we have managed to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable.

Looking forward to your next visit!

Greetings to Edinburgh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,109
    1,050
    263
    66
    23
See reviews for
938
1,917
103
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,088)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Third visit here and it's still the same. Good pools, nice food , spotlessly clean rooms . I do feel that it is more of an older persons hotel even though the kids facilities are good and I do agree that if you stayed here for two weeks that food would get a bit samey but in general there is normally something for everyone. We do always have a car as this hotel is quite remote and there is not a lot to do (unless you are the sort that stays by the pool all day! Then it's fine) we visit the local attractions, the volcano , the miradors, cesar manrique places, Famara ( the surfing beach) is fantastic and a lot of tourists never see it!
The port is lovely to sit and eat/have coffee or ice creams and you can catch a ferry along the coast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micksmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all many thanks for being our repetitive guest and for taking your time to review Hotel Costa Calero.

We are really please with those lovely words you gave us and with the honest feedback that shows we are a hard working team that makes its best effort.

Once and again thank you and it will be wonderfull to meet you again in the near future!

Best regards from Lanzarote to Sussex!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the half term week in October with 3 children, we had two connecting rooms which were fine although the were on a lower level and didn't have much of a view but it was ok for us as not a lot of time is spent in the rooms anyway. We arrived late eve and were able to go straight to dinner after a smooth check-in. All the staff were great and the service and effort of the staff is 100%, food was good with lots of choice and drinks were brilliant in the all-inclusive with all branded names if asked for and a wine list for dinner. Kids club excellent but one issue would be even tho you sign the kids in the doors are wide open and the children can go into an outside area where younger children could easily wander off, if my children were younger I wouldn't be happy to leave them here unsupervised which is a shame as great facilities and an easy issue to address. Pools were very good but freezing, it was said the pool is heated in winter but def was not in October/ November. Bus to porta del carmen was great and nice to go and have a look, ignore reviews about it being horrible it's not and sea and beach very clean. Evening entertainment was fine for us with young children as we weren't staying up too late No problems with sunbeds at all, sure some people just like to moan ! and the spa was brilliant for all ages and we spent an afternoon in there one day. All in all a great hotel, a few chairs/ areas are getting tatty and the rooms could do with updating as well as the entertainment area but the service and friendliness of the staff more than make up for it .

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank westhamcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time and expressing your opinion about our hotel and recommending it.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here.

We are looking forward to your next visit in hotel Costa Calero!

Best wishes form Lanzarote!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We travelled as a group of six, 4 adults & 2 Children (Aged 5 & 1)

Overall we had a great relaxing holiday, exactly what we wanted. We booked a 1 family room, 1 double but were upgraded to a family suite and a double sea view room on arrival, an excellent first impression to say the least!

Rooms - Our family suite was fantastic in size, two large bedrooms, living area, family bathroom with separate bath and walk in shower. Outside we had a large terrace which led onto a garden area. These rooms are great providing you don't have toddlers. We couldn't leave our balcony door open or enjoy the outside space due to there being a step down onto the lawn and also palm trees with particularly jagged edges. That's not a complaint but we'd almost have rather had a closed in balcony at the expense of a smaller room. Nevertheless this certainly didn't spoil our stay. A/C in each of the rooms was a great touch, this could also be left on without need for the key to be left in

Pools - Very spacious, lots of room, always able to find a quiet spot. We spent most of our time around the kid's pool and always got sunbeds, no real need to put towels out at 6am like other reviewers have said. Obviously though we did go at a quieter time of year.

Restaurants - Ample choice of food each day / evening. I can imagine after a fortnight it could become a little tedious but the quality was fine.

Staff - I have to say i was very impressed, very courteous, polite and always smiling. A real credit to the hotel.

Animation team - Fantastic, not in your face but always eager to please and let you be as involved as you like. Worked tirelessly to please

Entertainment - As with any hotel, some great nights, some not but very much down to your taste. We felt the entertainment was geared more toward the more mature clients staying at the hotel of which at this time of year was i'd say about 80% of the audience. No problem with this although i would think in peak period this would need to change. The hotel also had a mini play park and two arcade areas which were very handy

Drinks - Branded drinks available on AI which is brilliant although you do have to ask for them. If you order a vodka and coke you are given local vodka, you have to ask for Smirnoff.. I was slightly disappointed at the drinks available for children, no cordials which is a pain. We ended up buying a bottle down in Puerto Calero. I'd also recommend the hotel have plastic cups available within the entertainment bar which they have at the pool bar. Young children and glasses is a recipe for disaster no matter how much you are watching your kids.

Snacks - I have to admit i was slightly disappointed with the range available. Toasties, Salads and nuts were about it. I'd like to see more variety added here again aimed toward families.

Spa - We had a free one day pass for the spa which at certain times of day you could use with children. We are thoroughly enjoyed it and I'd recommend you use it.

Puerto Calero - A short walk down the hill (5 mins) to a lovely marina with a small promenade of shops and bars.

Puerto Del Carmen - You can use the hotel courtesy bus or grab a taxi which costs around 7 euros. We've stayed here a few times now and love the place, something for everyone. We particularly like a Mexican restaurant called Patio Chiquito, situated just a few doors along from Ruta 66 Bar on the main street, very reasonably priced and great food as a change to the hotel. I'd also recommend the American Indian Cafe where they have a live band (The Question) playing each night. It's a rock band but they play all sorts, very good musicians and a great night out. Get there early for get seats, band starts at 10pm.

All in all a great holiday, a couple of niggles which i think need ironed out but if your a couple or group of adults I'm sure you will absolutely love it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and expressing your opinion about our hotel. Getting feedback from our satisfied visitors is of essential importance to us and we appreciate highly this gesture.

We are eager to see you again soon, and this time to overexceed your high expectations!

Cordial greetings from Lanzarote to Newcastle upon Tyne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambuslang,Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for a week on all inclusive basis.The staff were so friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you.Our rooms were spotless and the pool area and Hotel were too.The food was superb and the choice unbelievable.The animation team were constantly on the go keeping everyone entertained, and the evening entertainment was 1st class and professional.We wish we had been able to stay longer.There is also a lovely marina nearby.
Will be going back there no doubt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Culterallers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear that you have had a wonderful stay in our hotel. The best reward for our efforts to provide an outstanding service is the satisfaction of our visitors.

We will be more than happy to wellcome you again in Costa Calero for another unforgettable vacation!

Greetings from Lanzarote to Cambuslang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for one week (all inclusive) on 3rd May this year and were so impressed that we returned 2 weeks later for another week! The staff are so friendly, especially the animation team who really do go out of their way to make sure you enjoy every minute of your stay. The hotel was spotless and our room was very spacious. The food was delicious and you certainly do get your money's worth with the all inclusive deal, especially on drinks. The entertainment varied quite a lot with some excellent acts but is it did have the odd night where it was lacking good performers. Okay, the sunbeds were a bit of a problem (people were even putting towels on them in the middle of the night, but, as the sunbathing areas are all over the place, you could find something suitable somewhere. Don't let this put you off because I have stayed in a lot of hotels and this is by far one of the best. Definitely going back 2013 and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FairandSquare007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking your time to express your opinion on TripAdvisor and especially for highly recommending our hotel. We appreciate that very much.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and you were completely satisfied by our staff, animation team and food.

We are looking forward to welcome you again next year for another unforgettable experience in our hotel!

Kind regards from Lanzarote to Edimburgo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have just returned from 10 days at the The Costa Calero and have really enjoyed our 10 day stay.
We were independent travellers and the taxi from the airport cost 17 euros and took 10 mins,
The Hotel is very impressive on entrance and the reception staff were very helpful and courteous. There was no porter for bags but this was OK as the lifts and room access were convenient.
The hotel itself was very clean and the staff worked hard to keep it that way.(we only saw 1 cockroach in the whole of our stay !!There were traps around) However, one observation we make is that the seating in the piano bar on the reception floor was very stained and looked most uninviting to sit on.The seating in the adjoining lounge are were mush cleaner.
The clientele was of our age group(65+) mainly which is quite a reflection of the time of year and the quiet area.
A few families with children were there and the kids club was great especially before the evening entertainment.
The decor was is very good repair.We had booked a sea room view room and high floor. We got room 546 which was excellent. We could see all of the complex, the pool and the sea - lovely.
The room itself had a spacious balcony, adequate bathroom, ample wardrobe space, a fridge and a safety deposit box which cost us 2 euros a day - well worth it.
Most importantly the beds were extremely comfy. We had a flat screen TV but were disappointed with the English channels on offer ie Sky news, BBC world news and CNN. We also had a hairdryer and shower gel provided.
There was no coffee making facilities in the room so we took a travel kettle and coffee. It worked great for us.
We had excellent maid service every day in our room and it might be advisable to leave the maid a tip at the beginning of your stay as we did rather than the end.
The whole complex is very well laid out with 3 pools. There is one salt water pool with lane swimming. The other are not salty and the main pool has the same depth all over of approx 5'.
Sun beds suffer from the towel savers but there are always some free in either grassed areas, sandy areas or poolside somewhere.a good sized pool towel was provided by the hotel at a deposit of 10 euros each. They could be exchanged daily at shop and the deposit returned at the end of the stay
Food - was of an excellent quality.
Breakfast choice was endless and you could obviously choose your own 'menu' as the days went by, either cooked, fruit, cereal etc. there is an outdoor eating area which was always busy.
Evening meals were served in the same restaurant which had areas screen off from the vast area thus stopping the feeling of the 'canteen'.There was rather a long queue for the freshly cooked food in the evening.
AI option gave is free access to wine etc at all meal times.
Lunch was in the pool bar. There was ample choice but it is advisable to go no later than 1.30 as options tend to run out toward the end of the lunchtime session.(3. 30 pm)
In the lunchtime restaurant there were a lot of birds flying around. they were not a problem to us but don't leave your plate of food unattended on the table or they will fly in and peck it. !!
The cats around the place were no problem.
There were a lot of flies around the pool area as we sat there. Take a mozi spray to deter them landing on you.
As soon as breakfast finished the pool bar opened and drinks and snacks were available all day.
We were All Inclusive and we would recommend this as good value for money. Any manner of alcoholic beverages were on offer.
Outside the hotel was very quiet. There is a steep hill to walk down to get to the Marina and it is quite a pull back up but well worth the walk. The boats around the harbor are impressive as are the few shop and restaurants but there is promenade as such for a stroll.
There is a market on 2 days and it is worth a look for gifts etc.
There is a coastal walk to Puerto del carmen. It is a reasonable easy stroll for the more ambulant but does involve steps. It is not a very interesting experience.It takes about 2 hours to walk it and we recommend a taxi to return at a cost of 7 euros.
There is a courtesy bus too which is fine.
The animation team worked hard all day and evening but the variety of entertainment in the show bar was moderate. This bar stayed open until 1 am
We never took advantage of our free visit to the wellness centre but it looked fine.
All in all it is a very nice hotel in a quiet location which will suit a variety of person especially those on All Inclusive who wish to stay on the complex.

Room Tip: High floor. Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thefamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzann M, Director Comercial at Hotel Costa Calero, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to express your opinion on TripAdvisor and especially for highly recommending Hotel Costa Calero. We highly appreciate your detailed and exhaustive description of your experience here.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and are looking forward to welcome you again for your next vacation in our hotel!

Greetings from Lanzarote to Durham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,728 reviews
8.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
4.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,761 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,484 reviews
14.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Property: Hotel Costa Calero
Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero Talaso & SPA, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern Talaso& SPA Centre providing an active pool, Roman Baths and beauty and thalasso treatments, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing