We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel In Lanzarote Great Choice”
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Costa Calero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2012

It was how first time in Lanzarote and we were very pleased with our choice of HOTEL COSTA CALERO it was extremely clean everywhere inside and in the grounds which has 4 pools to choose from. There are plenty of sunbeds for everyone! It is only 15 minute transfer from airport which is great and we were taken by minibus has there were only 4 people going to this hotel at the time. Check in was quick and friendly, we emailed before going to request high floor if possible and we was lucky enough to get a 5th floor room which was amazing with terrific views. When we went to our room the lock on the balcony door was broken so I rang reception and a new one was fitted within an hour while we went for a walk round the grounds. There is also a sauna for which you get a free pass for 1 treatment, but we didn't use it.
There was a large choice of food at every mealtime and large choice of wine. I am very fussy with food but I always found something to suit me. The only thing I would say is the food isn't very hot due to the amount of people they have to cater for but wasn't a problem! My husband only drinks coffee at breakfast and he said it was absolutely horrible so take your own with you.
Also there is no KETTLE in your room we took one plus tea and coffee.
You have to pay for the safe in your room and leave a deposit for the pool towels which you get back at the end of your holiday.
How room was kept clean to a very high standard the whole week we were there . We found all staff to be very friendly and helpful at all times. The pool bar gets very busy but there was always plenty of staff to serve you. The drinks were all branded such has Smirnoff Vodka, Gordons Gin, Martin, Malibu, Bacardi etc. House wines were good. They have quite long times to choose when you want to eat for all meals.
The busiest time for lunch seemed to be 1-2pm where you may have to wait for a table!!
The hotel do a courtesy bus to Puerto Del Carmen which you get just round the corner from the hotel to your left. It takes you to the centre which we wasn't very impressed with I think it was the bad part. If you walk into Puerto Del Carmen you come into the old town and walk towards the Harbour which looked very nice from the bus. Or you can walk to the Marina in Puerto Calero which is 5 minutes from the hotel and get a water bus which we were told by another couple was very pleasant and cost 10 euros return.
We didn't go on any excursions just had a very relaxing holiday and great weather on the 20-27th March, 2012.
Entertainment was good most nights. The Piano Bar has something going on most evenings and is very pleasant. There is a small shop within the Hotel but I didn't use it.
Puerto Calero Marina is very nice and has a few bars and restaurants along the front plus some
shops and a supermarket. There was a small market there on a Tuesday which we walked to before returning home.
Once again I must say that ALL STAFF THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL thank you.
Will definiately return.

Room Tip: Request high floor if possible but most rooms have a view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 7august
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,632)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Costa Calero
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,444 - 2,450 of 3,632 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

Went back to the hotel for the 6th time in 2 years, it is still as good as ever, however, there are a lot more nationalities there this time round, a lot of Germans, which we have not seen before, but this is obviously because Thomsons are a German company, it was before Easter when we arrived and it was pretty quiet up to the time we were leaving, and then it was very busy, food just as good, but the cleanliness around the pool area was not as good as previous visits, all in all a great holiday (again)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We recently went to this hotel on a family trip and were very pleased on first impression. We used a taxi company recommended on trip advisor which we booked ourselves through the internet-I think it was called lasttransfers.com they were excellent, on time and not expensive. Also a very nice bus.
We were promotly taken to the hotel and check in went quite smoothly (although not that pleasantly!) The staff member that checked us in was quite abrupt and appeared to be the only staff member who NEVER wore a name badge (this may be to avoid complaints!)
My partner has just recently had back surgery and so we had taken this trip as a bit of a rejuvenating holiday---should not have bothered! Having only been in the bed for a few mnutes it was apparent that the mattresses were old and definately not going to be beneficial for her back. We went to reception and informed them that she was in great pain and could not possibly sleep on this bed for the night. Unfortunately we were met with the same rude staff member that had checked us in, his solution to the bed problem was that he would get housekeeping down to put blankets on top of the mattress in an attempt to soften it! We could not believe this was his solution and his attitude was horrendous!
The next morning my partner was in severe pain and could barely walk-I was also feeling back pain by this point. There was five in our group and all of us had felt the pain of a night in the worst beds I have ever slept in!
We again asked at reception for my partners bed to be fixed in some way and were again told that house keeping would put extra blankets on the bed!! I could not believe a four star hotel was trying to solve a problem in this fashion!! We managed to speak to the hotel manager and only then was a brand new mattress delivered to our room (within 5 mins of asking so they must be in the hotel somewhere!)
I have previously read reviews that the beds were bad in the hotel and I honestly cannot stress how bad they are. I have stayed in many youth hostels over the years that had much better beds than this,definatly not 2 star, never mind 4 star!
If you have a bad back or just need a decent bed to sleep at nights then this is not the hotel for you, please for your backs sake, book elsewhere!
On the more positive side of things, the food was unbelieveable, any amount of beautiful food and always very attentive service. Very good all inclusive hotel, always plenty of variety in food and drink and always cooked to perfection.
There are beautiful areas to sunbathe and there are little areas dotted around the hotel where a group or even a couple may sunbathe in privacy.
The cleaner staff and room service worked constantly and the whole place is immaculate.
All other staff in the hotel, bar this one male in reception were very very good.
I would recommed this hotel in abolutely everyway, except for the beds. The manager told us that new mattresses had been ordered in January but had just not arrived yet--surely a big hotel like this could do something to sort this out!!
The beds are doing a great disservice to the hotel-sort it out and I would definately return, otherwise I would not!

Room Tip: Our room number was 156 and it was excellently located close to everything!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teamhoney_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had a wondrful time again. The hotel hasn't changed since it is no longer in the Iberostar Group. The marina is lovely to walk around and there is a little market every week.
So much to eat and all the staff are polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sucgr_epsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel, with SAGA, for two weeks from 22nd March 2012. We first stayed in this hotel in November 2010. This is an excellent hotel, with very good food quality and choice. Recommended. This time we were put on the ground floor, which was better than higher up, as more front space on patio and grass. But a bit of a walk to main public rooms. I particularly liked the various games and shows run by the entertainments team. Same two guys - from Dominican Republic - who were there 18 months ago. Great fun and I played table tennis, darts, pertancque, horshoes and suffle board! Shows every night. Best to avoid school holidays as loads of kids!.... Very steep, but short walk, down to Costa Calero marina. Airport only 15 minutes away. Car hire office at reception and very reasonable price..

Room Tip: Ask for either total sea view - but may cost more - or on ground floor, but not too long a walk to r...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z2251COrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Spent a week all inclusive during March and had a very relaxing time. Staff were good, nothing wrong with the reception staff as others have said, they were very polite and helpful. Well maintained hotel and room, everywhere kept clean and tidy. Food was good, varied and if anything the staff were just a little too quick in clearing away plates as soon as you finished. Piano bar has a nice atmosphere with live solo artist playing in background. Bit busy after dinner and before the entertainment bar opens. Branded drinks available on all inclusive. Only real negative is the cold pools, even the one said to be heated, which meant it was well underused by guests. Thinking of going again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Avensis_Spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a Jet2 package and we were very impressed with everything the hotel had to offer. We stayed for a week, half board, for the last week in March.

Rooms - We were allocated a room on the 2nd floor, we had requested a high-floor room, however, I am under the impression that most people request such a room, so of course, not everyones requests can be met. However, we weren't disappointed. We had a view of one of the pools and could also see the sea, it was lovely. The room was exceptionally spacious, with plenty of storage space for the 2 of us, the beds were comfy and the balcony was very spacious, with a useful drying rack. There was a full bathroom, with plenty of hot water and also a hairdryer.
Rooms were cleaned every day, to a good standard.

Hotel - As people have said before, the hotel is a large of hotel, but even when full (as it was when we were there) it never seems crowded; there are plenty sun loungers, plenty of chairs in bars etc. and the dining room, although sometimes busy, never seemed rammed with people. What we really liked about the hotel, was how peaceful it was - no loud music around the pools, just people lying in the sun, relaxing & reading - perfect for a relaxing break. The whole of the hotel is spotlessly clean and the grounds are so well tended too, they are a pleasure to walk around. Communal areas are furnished to a very high standard.

Food - Loved the food, I really don't know what some people complain about? They must be exceptionally picky as there is so much choice!
Breakfast - buffet style; bacon, sausage, every type of eggs, beans, tomatoes, fritata, toasties, pancakes, omelettes, cereals, variety of pastries, yogurts, smoothies, fruit, toast, variety of breadrolls, cold meats, cheeses and a few mornings there was cava & salmon, and if you really wanted them, you could have some chips too!!!
Dinner - Buffet style; choice of 2 soups and bread rolls each night, huge variety of starters and for mains there was always a carvery-style option, some sort of pasta dish, choice of vegetables and approx. 5/6 other main options - all of a high standard. The choice of wines were great - I can highly recommend the rose house wine - 10euros a bottle.

Evening Entertainment - Some good, some ok - we particularly enjoyed the ABBA night, lots of fun. The Piano Bar was a lovely, relaxed bar to enjoy a cocktail or two. There is also a daily entertainment programme if guests wish to partake.

Resort - Puerto Calero is a lovely chic marina resort, with a selection of restaurants and bars, there are a few small tourist shops, several designers shops and a small supermarket, which is well stocked.

Other - We hired a car through the hotel, there is a small desk for car hire near reception. We visited Famara Beach (hubby went surfing), Timanfaya, El Golfo & Papagayo. It was great to get out and explore the island, and what a lovely island it is.
We took the courtesy bus from the hotel to Puerto del Carmen. I have read several reviews where people have referried to this resort as a "dump" - I feel this is unfair. PDC is a large tourist resort, with many bars/tourist shops etc. We spent a lovely time on the exceptionally well kept beach of Playa Grande and had a lovely walk to the old town/harbour, where we enjoyed a great lunch overlooking the harbour. The prom was lovely to walk along and the whole place had a lovely, holiday feel to it. A visit to the hotel spa is a must for a relaxing few hours - 6.50eurs each.
To summarise, I think this hotel is great for any age group who want a relaxing stay in a lovely, well kept hotel. A special mention must go to all the staff, who are friendly, hardworking but never intrusive.
I hope to return to this lovely island and this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TINA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,942 reviews
8.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.7 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
7.1 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
4.7 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range: $115 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero Talaso & SPA, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern Talaso& SPA Centre providing an active pool, Roman Baths and beauty and thalasso treatments, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing