We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christine & Tom Higgins : RYA Competent Crew Course 2014”
Review of Endeavour Sailing

Endeavour Sailing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Endeavour Sailing we offer world class instruction in teaching RYA Sailing Courses including all the practical courses, theory courses, fast track courses, one day courses and online courses. We are also specialized in skippered yacht charters and family charter holidays.We are based in Puerto Calero, Lanzarote and also navigate in the surrounding Islands of the Canaries which are an unrivalled location for sailing offering fantastic conditions all year round. The beauty of the Canary Islands also means that you will sail in the sunshine which rarely goes below an average of 8 hours per day. A good breeze, tidal sailing, tidal streams and warm water make it a perfect place to learn to sail and the ideal destination for a sailing holiday for families, singles and couples to suit all capabilities.What distinguishes Endeavour Sailing from other schools and sailing charter companies is our commitment to excellence. Our experienced team of certified RYA instructors & skippers ensure that our clients get the most from their sailing courses and holidays providing a safe and rewarding experience on clean, well equipped and safe boats.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christine & Tom Higgins : RYA Competent Crew Course 2014”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just returned back to Scotland after an amazing visit to Puerto Calero with Endeavour Sailing.-.Competent Crew Course..... What an amazing experience.......Endeavour Sailing are so well set up, professional,fun and have an excellent team behind them.. We have made new friends as well as learning to sail....Must be one if the best places to learn to sail..weather fab, Gordon even organised dolphins and orca whales ! Wow ! Gordon was great, fab coach with lots of patience !!...We passed !!. Stephanie thank you for the surprise birthday cakes and champagne for Tom on his 50th birthday, really appreciated . We are now planning our next trip.... Hope to see you all soon ....Christine and Tom

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Owner at Endeavour Sailing, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hi Christine and Tom, Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate your time to write this. It was great to meet you both and we are looking forward to meeting you both again soon. Happy sailing and all the best from all at Endeavour. Steph x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    1
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
“Great Course and Adventure”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great guys, great course. Very relaxed but friendly, informative and probably one of the best places in Europe to do a sailing course.
This was our second course with Endeavour, strong winds both times. Ideal for learning in an environment that tests you as a sailor. My husband completed the Coastal Skipper course this year.
I completed my competent crew course in 2012 but i felt that i needed more experience to build my confidence on board. The First mate course at Endeavour was the perfect course for this. I am still a novice at Sailing and the First mate course is an excellent way to refresh your competent crew skills. I would also recommend this course if you find the step from Competent Crew to Day skipper to big. Our instructor Keith has an incredible amount of experience and knowledge. He accommodated our requests to teach us techniques on how to handle our yacht with just the two of us. It has been a real adventure and we are off next month sailing the Mediterranean for a few months.
Thanks very much Keith and Stephanie!

Would recommend to every budding sailor and those who just fancy a bit of an adventure!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank wendyhooyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Owner at Endeavour Sailing, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hi Wendy, thank you for your kind words, we really appreciate your time to do this. We are so glad you had a wonderful time and learnt a lot to. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Steph x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The No 1 Sailing School !”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just returned to stormy England after an amazing visit to Puerto Calero with Endeavour Sailing 26th February 2014. We completed a Drills and Skills course with Gordon Allen following a Day Skipper course that we completed in the UK in 2012. Gordon was an excellent and very knowledgeable instructor and we picked up quite a few additional skills that will be very useful to us in future.We thoroughly enjoyed our week on Kilima, she was clean and comfortable and the home cooked meals and cakes were a pleasant surprise. Our sailing colleagues were great company and we are planning to stay in touch. We would highly recommend Endeavour Sailing to anyone considering an RYA sailing course. All the administration for booking was dealt with very efficiently by Steph and the benefit of being able to stay on board until Sunday was great. Many thanks to all the Endeavour Team for providing such an excellent experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanteandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Owner at Endeavour Sailing, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful words and we are so glad you had a great week with us, and I must get baking again as cake supplies are running low. Best regards from Gordon and from all of us at Endeavour we wish you many happy hours sailing and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Steph x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“RYA Competent Crew Course 2014”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

What a great start to 2014. Can't recommend the Endeavour Sailing experience enough. The team have a wealth of sailing experience and welcome novices and experienced sailors alike. Gordon Allen's instruction was firm but fun, using a range of teaching techniques to suit all. The boats are kept in immaculate condition and the home cooked food and cakes provide a satisfying end to exhilarating days. My 49th birthday was made extra special with surprise drinks and cup cakes with all of the team. I returned from our trip on a high and will definitely be returning for further instruction in the near future.

Can't thank you enough for the first class experience Endeavour family :-)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Owner at Endeavour Sailing, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks Kate. I am so pleased we gave you a great boost to the New Year and hopefully its getting you through the awful weather back in the UK. Looking forward to seeing you both again soon. Steph and the rest of the Endeavour Sailing Team. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First Class (Comp Crew Dec 2012)”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Did the Comp Crew course with my wife over Christmas 2012 with Keith as the instructor.
Stephanie and Keith were fantastic from the word go - very friendly.

Keith is a fantastic tutor and has lots of knowledge and experience to pass on to his students. We both thoroughly enjoyed the course and the hospitality. Great facilities/great boats and a great place to learn to sail.

Steph and Keith spent Christmas dinner with all of us which was a very nice touch.

We shared our course with another Comp Crew student and a Day Skipper student - just to say it was pleasing to see that Endeavour make you work for your certificate and don't just hand them out!! That was a big plus as far as we were concerned.
We felt we learnt fart more than we expected and had lots of confidence by the end of the week - all down to Keiths' teaching skills!

We had planned on going back Christmas 2013 to do the intermediate First Mate course before attempting the Day Skipper but circumstances prevented that happening - but will be back ASAP.

Do not hesitate to choose Endeavour - nothing bad to say about it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank davidjbrown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Owner at Endeavour Sailing, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and we had a great time to. We hope to see you again soon. Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Endeavour Sailing also viewed

Puerto Calero, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Orzola, Lanzarote
Puerto Calero, Lanzarote
 

Been to Endeavour Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing