We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,962)
Filter reviews
5,962 results
Traveler rating
3,049
1,775
740
247
151
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,049
1,775
740
247
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar puerto calero marina sea view designer shops lovely hotel a la carte restaurants bed and breakfast buffet restaurant standard room upgraded to a suite drago bar relaxing holiday coastal path every evening all inclusive package main restaurant hotel grounds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 5,962 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent eleven days there last year in a suite with sea view. We were happy with the room despite it been a tad old fashioned. Location is good, near puerto calero marina and it has lots of area for relaxing.

We found staff very abrasive and curt . apart from reception staff. Always rushing around, very poor english , all we wanted at breakfast was a freshly boiled egg but that was never possible, instead they kept pointing out the eggs that were lying there and cooked for some time. Buffet breakfast in my opinion was poor, large selection but poor quality and staff simply galloping around the restaurant. My husband and I entered one of the outdoor bars via the stairs one afternoon and the bar man shouted and remonstrated with us for this , apparently it was a service entrance but nowhere was there any sign indicating this . We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and after having lunch one day in the a la carte restaurant, we were glad.

The beer was simply undrinkable in the bar near reception, indeed we invited some friends to join us one night and they also couldn’t drink it .

Overall, very disappointed, staff certainly worked hard to their credit even frenetically I’d say , perhaps they were understaffed but certainly badly trained. In my view it’s not a five star hotel and I would be slow to recommend it .

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank annemanchester142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hesperia Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear veronicab142,

Should you have the opportunity to visit Hesperia Lanzarote once again please do so.

We would love to look after you and importantly your freshly boiled egg, cooked on request as opposed to freshly prepared, will be fulfilled as a service we certainly always offer.

Very often and in hectic moments misunderstandings may occur but our staff are here to listen and oblige. Notably, a great deal of detailed procedure has been added and achieved in the last six months under new leadership and the personal Hesperia control of our original founding company Hesperia. Their maxim "Somos Hoteleros", "We are hoteliers" embodies the detailed care and professionalism they stand for.

Quality of all is closely monitored and whilst Lanzarote is an island, with its own produce limitations, we source and prepare from our Chef team an ever changing menu using freshly freighted in provisions.

Hesperia, as a small company, truly cares to deliver. We are now achieving our best in meeting new targets of prescribed customer service and attention alongside the quality demands we applaud.

Our guests know that any difficulty or issue will be concernedly addressed and solutioned. We are grateful for and rely on the reporting of even the smallest of "niggles" or inconsistencies as we do wish to achieve our quality standards.

On that note, we sincerely thank you for your comment albeit retrospective.

Our staff are reaching new goals and the aesthetic surprises we are adding to our rooms should delight. Perhaps, we can entice you to return as our guest experience team will be only to happy to look after you.

Best wishes,

Chloé Binham
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is very nice, very clean throughout and good quality food with plenty of choice. The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you, always with a smile. One evening my son tripped up some stairs and caught his shin. This was on stairs near reception, I sat him down and immediately there were three staff on hand making sure he was okay, one who had already gone to get some ice - very impressive.
Sun beds were available no matter what time of day, no need to get up at the crack of dawn to secure beds!
Booking in was very quick and efficient - the reception staff were very friendly (didn’t get their names, wish I had as they were worth a special mention). Male and female reception staff who checked us in on 11 April - hope you can trace who they are and thank them for us - they were extremely good with my son which was appreciated.
If I had to be ultra critical then I would suggest turning the heating up in the pools, bit cold for me! With that said, an excellent stay with very friendly and efficient staff throughout who are a major asset. Would have no hesitation recommending this hotel, excellent in all aspects.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnrichardson421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hesperia Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear johnrichardson421,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave some feedback. It's always great to hear, especially when it seems we've hit the mark! Even though your comments are overwhelmingly positive, we will still use them in our efforts to maintain the highest standards, as expected by our guests.

It was a pleasure to have you, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards,

The Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is out 10th visit! For a relaxing holiday filled with comfort, beautiful views, excellent food, friendly and efficient staff, great location and a superb SPA there is nowhere better. We always take advantage of the SPA pass for the whole stay its definitely worth it. I book a standard room and upgrade on arrival the suite is definitely worth the extra. This time they had a special offer which included the Suite, the SPA circuit for the stay for us both, a bottle of cava and some discounts on treaments. It was your anniversary so I asked what surprises could be arranged an I booked a romantic bath in the jacuzzi of our Suite a lovely touch. We hired a car for a couple of days and the concierge gave us a lovely list of restaurants and a some ideas for walking to a few volcanoes it was lovely to discover a different side to the island. This year we also noticed the 4 outdoor pools were heated this definitely makes a differencr to previous years. The Hesperia Lanzarote has everything to make it a special holiday. Will be back in September and cant wait!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank WilliamsLou_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hesperia Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear WilliamsLou_88,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and recommendation, we´re very happy to hear that you enjoyed once again your stay with us here at the Hesperia Lanzarote 5*. We do our best to ensure that every guest feels welcome, and enjoys a wonderful holiday. It´s good to know that in your case we seem to have succeeded again in meeting your expectations. Thank you once again, and we look forward to seeing you in September.

Kind regards

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

Excellent hotel. Great service, food and cocktails. Really enjoyed the running club with Alejandro running on the stunning cliffs to the next village and back before breakfast! Worth having a hire car for the week to see some other parts of the island.

Room tip: Go for a sea view
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hesperia Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Dear Martin1230,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at the Hesperia Lanzarote 5*.

We are pleased to see that you had a lovely holiday and that you specially enjoyed our running club with Alejandro and the early morning run to Playa Quemada before breakfast.

Our privileged location means that we are in the perfect place for you to hire a car and discover the magic of Lanzarote at your own leisure.

We strive to provide the highest quality of service and holiday experience to all our guests, and your opinions are very valuable to us in ensuring that we achieve this goal.

Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday with us, and we look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Best wishes,

The Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

The staff were amazing, with the exception of one (head bar man in the Piano Bar) who is clearly in the wrong job, while the other staff went out of their way to ensure that we had all we needed and were engaging. Pedro on reception, Christina, Mohamed and Jorge are just some of the staff that provided fantastic service. I was disappointed with the room, we opted and paid more to upgrade to a sea view room and although the view was worth it the room itself needs to be updated, it was a little bit tired. The main lobby is very nice, lots of very comfortable seating as it is the place where the nightly entertainment occurs. I read a number of reviews before I went and there were some comments about the lack of choice when it came to food and that there were even less options if you happen to be vegan or veggie. My wife is a veggie and she had plenty of options. I thought that there was an impressive variety for breakfast, lunch and dinner. On one of the cloudy days we went to the spa for a couple of hours. The rate to use the Hydrotherapy (water jets/Jacuzzi/Sauna) was €24 up to 3pm and €29 after that. The massage therapies I thought were expensive at €75 for 45 min but I know there are a number of packages. If you want a change of scenery, you can walk from the hotel to the marina which is only a 10 min walk along a very nice pathway. There you will find a number of restaurants and bars with some music.

Date of stay: April 2019
2  Thank DublinDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hesperia Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Dear DublinDerek,

Our Head Chef and his team will be delighted that you thoroughly appreciated the special attention we give to the range and quality of food we provide here at Hesperia Lanzarote.

Breakfast is a truly important start to the day and we sincerely hope our guests feel spoilt and looked after, by giving them choices they might not have expected.

Equally, it is a pleasure to read that your wife reported that she had plenty of vegetarian and vegan options to choose from. We are always approachable and with prior discussion your particular needs will be raised with our Chef team. Lanzarote, as an island, prehides a market garden provision on the doorstop but we wholly recognise vegetarian and vegan cuisine, aiming to please if we can.

It is rewarding to hear that our staff were "amazing" even engaging and as service is a paramount requisite, gratifying to know that this was provided by all, in particular by Pedro, Christina, Mohamed and Jorge whom we applaud for their particular contribution.

Shortly, we begin an enhancement project to address "tired" aspects of our much loved hotel. You will be surprised on your next visit by the aesthetic and surprise feature attention we will be paying to our rooms.

On behalf of all our staff we look forward to seeing you once again.

Best regards,

Chloé Binham
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews