We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solomon Ezra”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hesperia Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hesperia Lanzarote
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Barking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Solomon Ezra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Hesperia is an excellent hotel and well worth a revisit. Hopefully my wife and I will be there again this December. We loved the location. What we least like was that there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. This is usually available in most hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank Solly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,242
    1,354
    565
    186
    110
See reviews for
1,061
2,387
116
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Faultless family suite on ground floor level with jacuzzi bath and private sun terrace. We were in block 1 which did look the best. Some of the corridors in the main hotel looked a little tired. We paid for bed and breakfast but received half board free. Discrete but attentive staff. Check in was swift and professional and we were taken straight to our rooms. Booked this hotel with Laterooms and arranged our own flight, this seemed to be better than for people who were on packaged holidays. The food was of good quality although could have been hotter. Meats and fish cooked fresh for you and food always topped up when running out. The childrens pool was heated but the other two were freezing!! Good selection of restaurants at the marina which is a 10 minute walk away along a rather dimly lit promenade but we had no concerns walking this route at night with our two children and never once felt safety was compromised. A good tip if you are hiring a car would be to arrange this prior to going to Lanzarote as we had to wait for 4 days before we could get a car from anyone. All in all a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank SWilliams951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

My family and I stayed here from 28th December 2013 to 7th January 2014, on a 10 day holiday, well organised by Classic Collection Holidays. The time zone being the same as the UK, helps when it’s school or work the day after returning. The location of Puerto Calero is quiet and perhaps more refined than other parts of the island.
Apart from one blustery but sunny day, we experienced warm sunshine (enough to get a tan) and blue skies. I liked the hotel, with its lovely grounds, friendly staff, excellent buffet breakfasts, good restaurant and spacious rooms. The harbour and marina are a pleasant 10-minute stroll from the hotel where there are restaurants, designer boutiques and shops.
On the down side, the hotel is designated 5-star, which I would be hard pushed to endorse. It’s looking a bit tired and the housekeeping is erratic. Toiletries are mediocre and it took us three days to acquire bathrobes and a few coat-hangers.
The hotel offers 4 swimming pools plus a pay-for spa, but one thing that marred our stay was that the only heated swimming pool (22 degrees at best) was taken out of action for renovation a few days before we left and although we were promised that a larger pool would be heated, it wasn’t. The other pools were only for brave souls who would doubtless jump into Tooting Lido in winter as well. The sea was somewhat warmer than the unheated pools and on my visit had the added attraction of an encounter with a Portuguese Man o War.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were here on a two-week golfing vacation during the Christmas and new year holidays.

Summary:
- tries to position itself as luxury 5-star, but in reality struggles with several basic services
- quality of accomodation ok
- quality of services quite poor
- do not pay for half-board/all-inclusive, you are better off eating at nearby restaurants
- for golf, we think there are other hotels with better location, however the nearby marina provided a good range of restaurants and also a small supermarket (10-15 min walk)

Arrival:
- slow check-in with reception clerk not seeming to know the checkin routines
- at bedtime, we discovered that one of the beds did not have fresh sheets. We called the reception which promptly sent a cleaner to remedy. However, we then discovered clearly visible stains on the new set of sheets, so we needed to call reception again. Sheets were replaced a second time. During this episode we also discovered a pair of socks on one of the chairs in the room that were not ours. We then came to suspect that the room had not been properly cleaned after the departure of the previous guests. However, we never had the energy to bring that up, other than having the cleaning maid remove the pair of socks.

Breakfast:
- very large breakfast buffet, with cooks standing by to cook your eggs/pancakes/waffles/etc to your liking
- breakfast room quite noisy
- we often ended up at tables that were incompletely set, missing a coffee cup, a knife, a fork or something else
- chairs were often not very clean, a couple of times we elected to switch chairs from fear of getting clothes stained.

Dinner buffet:
- same room as for breakfast, if possible even noisier by night
- lack-luster on-demand cooking
- pasta dishes very poorly executed
- on one occasion pork meat was not properly cooked, which could be considered a health hazard

Room:
- good sized, with capacity for two golf bags without feeling crammed
- good sized balcony towards the pool area with afternoon sun
- good bath/shower with plenty of hot water and good ventilation
- beds quite hard, but we slept ok for most of the time
- TV remote lacked battery lid which caused battery to slide out of position.

Services:
- free wifi but with poor quality, had several issues with connection
- roomservice tried once. Nobody answered on the roomservice extension, so we ordered via the reception desk. When food arrived 45-50 minutes later, ordered beverages were missing. Took another 15-20 minutes for beverages to arrive.
- one of use caught a cold and stayed in the room for a couple of days. When the "do not disturb" sign was out, cleaner walked in and was required to get guests signature that cleaning was not required. Ehm.. the sign says "do NOT disturb"...?!
- on day of checkout, cleaners repeatedly walked in ahead of checkout time. One would think that the hotel could keep track of which guests have checked out and inform cleaners to postpone cleaning for rooms that are still occupied.

Room Tip: It is worth to get a room situated towards the sea/pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leif R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent united kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had a lovely time at this hotel over the Xmas and new year ,staff was great, upgraded our room which was great,we had our own private terrace with sun beds ,food was great loved the pool restaurant was not too keen on the italian but other restaurants was good,found a very good restaurant outside the hotel called el toro

Room Tip: Upgrade your room if you can,we had a sea view,at the end of our terrace was a pool and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waregem, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise, for we were craving the sun very much.
Lanzarote is more then worth visiting, we had only one day of bad weather. very windy and even some rain( which is gold drops for the islanders )
Lots of people with children,many German and Britisch people, and Belgians of course.
Only one of the outside pools was heated ( thank God for the many families with children ). It is very hard for an adult to swim in 50 cm deep though !
But thanks to the wonderful weather i did swim every day in the ice cold front pool.
The views are stunning, no sand beaches though.
The hotel is ok, but needs a total facelift ,hard to find a chair where you did not feel the frame,
even the towels were dull , I missed colour everywhere…. the service was good, although many different faces every day. The buffets were great, the other two restaurants a disaster. walk to Puerto Calero, many choices of good restaurants and nice shops.
We went twice to the "Amura' even though we had "all in" This restaurant is the best we ever had in Spain, the other one at the boardwalk is "La Casa Roja "also good but a little less expensive .
We went with a waterbus to Playa del Carmen which was a great disappointment, dirty, many chops closed, or to take over…maybe interesting for night life !The white houses look beautiful from a distance….
The grand tour & the explore Lanzarote, are both more then worth their money.
We were in total amazement by the creativity of farmers and wine cultivators on such lava and stone Island.
Also a total admiration for the Artist whom had so much influence on the Island "Ceasar Manrique.
All by all a wonderful vacation. and I still think after having seen the whole island, that The Hisperia , and Puerto Calero, are the best on the Island.

Room Tip: We had booked a room with ocean view, but did not get it. We asked for a change and we got a great r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isamieke133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Its a 4+ star
Had a suite and it was excellent, although a bit of a problem with the fridge, Wi-Fi work well, and room servicing was good.
Staff are very welcoming and efficient.
Beautifully located for a quite holiday and the near by Marina has a good selection of shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
5.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,257 reviews
7.7 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
14.8 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
6.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
5.1 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Lanzarote

Property: Hesperia Lanzarote
Address: Urb. Cortijo Viejo, C/Hesperia, 1, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hesperia Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hesperia Lanzarote is located on the easternmost island of the Canary archipelago – offering guests a tropical respite from the stresses of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hesperia Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Lanzarote Puerto Calero
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing