We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”
Review of Hesperia Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hesperia Lanzarote
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was our second visit to Hesperia, timed with gatecrashing my parents last 2 days of their honeymoom !! But they were pleased to see us ! HaHa

I emailed the hotel prior to the holiday and explained that the newly weds would be arriving before us and requested that they provide something to mark the occasion, when we arrived toward the end of their stay, I found this had not been carried out and after speaking with management, champagne and chocolates were placed in their room, Oh and ours ! which was a nice touch, better late than never, but very much appreciated

Reception staff were brilliant throughout our entire stay, nothing was too much trouble and they really couldn't be faulted, We requested a room on the top floor which we got, but sadly with a view of a palm tree and nothing else ! after speaking with reception, we were shown several other rooms until we found one that was superb with views of the pool area and the sea ! Muchas gracias !!!

We stayed all inclusive and found the food to be good with plenty of choice. Breakfast and lunch staff were excellent, but sadly the same cannot be said for the evening dinner staff who seemed to pay more attention to clearing tables that were vacant and leaving plates to pile up on tables with guests still seated.

Sun loungers... The hotel is spoilt by two things... People reserving beds at 7am ! and I am not joking, seriously what is wrong with some people ??? The hotel need to get a grip and enforce this charade. and far too many broken sun loungers left for those that play by the rules

To sum up, the hotel does need to have some money spent in keeping with what is expected of a 5* hotel, having said that, we did have an enjoyable stay overall and would hope that the above mentioned constructive criticism if taken on board and addressed, then perhaps this would greatly improve the standard of reviews the hotel receives in the future

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,329 - 2,335 of 5,141 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had a lovely week at the Hesperia, arrived at mid day and after a short and efficient check in we were shown to are room on the 7th floor.
Room fine for us with. Lovely views, unpacked and went to lunch and. Went to the pool at about 2 pm still found beds.
Food and wine are good quality and service in restaurant very good.
We Paid for a unique room which l would not bother with again.though we did enjoy the use of the water circuit in the Spa.
Blue sun beds should be removed to the local tip!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Suites have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnhms2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We just spent 10 days at the Hesperia in Puerto Calero. If you are looking for a party/booz-up holiday then forget about this place! We were on honeymoon so it was fine for us as we wanted to relax after all the hype of the wedding. The Hotel itself is very nice and very big but probably should not be rated 5 star, probably stretch to 4 star. We went all inclusive, I would recommend doing this as its only an extra €28 each per day & that will cover all your drink and food until 11pm. Just to give you an example of what you "could" spend, a can of coke is €4.50!!! so my advice would be to go all inclusive as you will easily spend €20 every day on water alone, so if you factor in your breakfast, lunch, dinner & drink you will save in the long run. There are 3 restaraunts and a poolside snack bar, all serving nice fresh food. There are 4 out-door swimming pools, all are ice cold but cleaned every morning (there is a lot of trees and shrubs around so this does end up in the pool). I didnt use the spa so cant comment on that. In general the staff are very nice, apart from the usual odd-ball you will get in every work place. The Port of Puerto Calero is a 5-10 min stroll along the prominade which can be accessed dircectly from the hotel grounds. It really is a very quiet place so again i stress if you want to go on a boozy bender then expect to be in bed by 12 every night as the town is in darkness around 11pm as the bars tend to close around this time. On the other hand you could get a 10 min taxi into Puerto Del Carman which will cost you about 10-15euros. Over all i had a good experience here. Would i go back?? Probably not but I did enjoy it all the same. Hope this helps someone! :-)

Room Tip: Make sure to request a pool or sea view as the other rooms look onto a car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulyWauly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Don't normally write reviews but wouldn't want any one to make the mistake we did in booking this hotel.

To say we were disappointed with the general décor of the hotel is an understatement we felt we had arrived at some low rate 3 star hotel. The hotel’s general appearance is very tired with paint peeling of the walls, plaster blown and damp rising up walls, dirty marks on the majority of the walls and all the wood canopy/ hand rails have either no vanish or flaking varnish on them. The heated swimming pool has a hole in it and the hotels solution to this is to cover it with a stainless steel panel held down with 4 rocks which is particularly dangerous. The lamp shades in front of the rooms have stains all over them.

The same neglect also continues in the rooms too, when we arrived at the hotel the patio door in our room didn’t lock and I raised this and other issues with our room to the hotel and they said they would look into it. The only thing the hotel did was to repair the patio door and this took the 8 days to do after nagging the reception many times.
The room itself was very disappointing, the bathroom had black mould on the tile grout in the shower area and the bath has been painted with the paint is peeling off and the plug hole is all rusting. The general state of the furniture in the room is also very tired with stains and scratches on them. There were dirty marks on the walls and the doors had chunks of veneer out of them. The carpet in the room is fraying.

The sun beds and the parasols in the hotel are all falling to bits and you would have to get up before 6am in the morning in order to get a sun bed.

During our stay the hotel was without water on two occasions and we weren’t able to shower or clean our teeth.

On one occasion we upgraded from the all inclusive to the Italian restaurant where I ordered prawn risotto, the chef had left the shells on some of the prawns which had come off in the risotto, I raised this with the head waiter who said oh well took my plate and still charged me for it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked a last minute holiday at this hotel. Some of the reviews I had read were a bit negative but I was pleasantly surprised when we got there. We had two rooms that were pretty spacious and overlooked the sea and pool. I would say although quite a few facilities that make it a 5 star hotel, it is not a flashy 5 star. The rooms were pleasant but not with wow factor. The grounds are pretty and I would say they spent a fortune on some lovely palm trees and plants. The hotel is on the sea which provides lovely views and there is a floating jetty that is fun to jump off when the sea isn't too rough. We had lovely weather for the week but it is pretty windy. It is a very family friendly hotel. We also found the choice of food pretty good even for very little children. Our youngest being 10 months and eldest 15 years! We were disappointed that the swimming pools were so cold. The heated one got up to 24C which was still quite fresh! At the beginning of the week it was 22C and with the wind the kids found it too cold. I had hoped our 10 month old would enjoy the pools but it really was too chilly. The internet is terrible. You can have free internet but it doesn't work. If you pay you get better internet but it was still pretty bad. There is a indoor pool but it belongs to the Spa so you have to pay extra to use it and it is expensive. Generally the hotel was clean and the staff friendly. We liked the fact it wasn't in the really busy part of Lanzarote. It was away from the Naf area's that one might typically associate with Lanzarote. There is a nice walk along the sea from the hotel to the little port of Puerto Calero. It is small but quite pretty and has a nice place to sit for a coffee and Ice cream. There is a small supermarket which is quite handy for very basic items. We ate at the Italian restaurant which I would avoid! Cost us about £100 for 5 of us and the food really wasn't up to much. The pizza's were really not nice. The service was not good either. The other place we ate at was Amura, also in Puerto Calero. It looks lovely - white painted wood and located in the harbour. Food was pretty good but why can't they do it with a smile! It would make such a difference. It actually created an uncomfortable atmosphere. My husband refused to leave a tip. All in all it was good value and we enjoyed getting away for some nice weather and the hotel was good enough.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a sea view. Some rooms overlook the car park and would be dark and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Quiet location Great Hotel Superb service We had a Suite so it was fabulous cannot wait to return to this part of Lanzarote and will definately stay at the Hesperia again a Well run safe haven food excellent staff wonderful


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
2  Thank Virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo_Rey_Rodriguez, Director General at Hesperia Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay with us at Hesperia Lanzarote on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that our team was able to make your every moment at Hesperia Lanzarote a very special. I have shared your comment with the entire team and they are equally happy to hear that you had an amazing holiday with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back and I would like I would like to take this opportunity to wish you a happy Christmas and a happy New Year.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great hotel ,
great food,
great pools,
good staff,
great location,
great price,
great rooms,
great breakfast,
great pontoon into the sea ,
great views,
poor wi-fi ,even with the extra 25 euros for premium !
Awful sunbeds ( why can't they deal with it ? hundreds of reviews stating the fact and still nothing done about it ! quite annoying. Come on Hesperia , get the hint ! )
Will go back !

Room Tip: don't listen to the serial wingers, go and enjoy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yannick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
14.8 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
7.7 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
5.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
6.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
13 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#10 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Lanzarote

Address: Urb. Cortijo Viejo, C/Hesperia, 1, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range: $110 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hesperia Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hesperia Lanzarote is located on the easternmost island of the Canary archipelago – offering guests a tropical respite from the stresses of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hesperia Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Lanzarote Puerto Calero
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing