We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good hotel with good staff & good food, but a few niggles need sorting out”
Review of Hesperia Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hesperia Lanzarote
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Thirsk, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overall a good hotel with good staff & good food, but a few niggles need sorting out”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We are just at the end of our stay here and have enjoyed it very much. The hotel is nice, though it I were being really picky I would say the corridors to the rooms were dark. Aircon, which sometimes can be noisy was very quiet. The staff were generally welcoming and pleasant and everyone you pass will say hello. The food is definitely the best I have experienced in an all inclusive package and there is something for everyone, also the opening times for breakfast etc were longer than I have seen in other hotels.
There are however a few niggles with the hotel - although we went at the start of sept when things were tailing off, you had to be down by 9.30 to get a sunlounger, no great shakes but an irritant. Also, although it advertises wifi, this is a very limited service though this can be upgraded for 5 euros per day.
We also found that there were a lot waiting involved due to the process used for drinks, even when all inclusive you had to wait for drinks to be registered and signed for which meant that staff just could not keep up with demand, particularly at the bar beside the lower pool where I member of staff over lunchtime was trying to do drinks, make bar snacks and keep the place tidy.
Well into our stay we were invited to a managers cocktail party, which we walked out in disgust from after 20 minutes, it sounded good but involved rose cava or orange juice ( both of which were included in AI anyway ) and some onion rings or chicken nuggets. The 2 managers that seemed to be there spent all 20 minutes talking to 1 couple they seemed to know while everyone else sat about....we went off to another bar, had some white cava (not being able to get this at the 'cocktail party') and had a moan with some other guests who had done the same! That was however my only real grump on the whole stay!

Room Tip: Try the sea view rooms, we had the standard room which was along a dark stretch of corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatVDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,364
    1,394
    586
    190
    113
See reviews for
1,098
2,500
122
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

we stayed here three years ago and as you can see from my previous review i was not happy. we got a mega deal on booking and chose all inclusive for 10 days. i dont know weather the management has been changed, however i could not speak highly enough off this hotel now. the staff, food, atmosphere was fantastic. a real turn around in the staffs attitude towards customer service.

right down to the mechanics of the hotel. all inclusive was amazing, buffet food but with a little intimate twist, your food is prepared in front of you which i like as you know what your getting. the stock of breads/cereals/water/pasta all excellent and plentiful.

local wine and beers all excellent as for whiskey Johnny Walker red label was included so i was happy out. gin there was gordons & bombay who could argue with that! all martini free, soft drinks & bottle water free. - just want to add that we were all inclusive silver.

views you will not beat, three generous pools to lounge by and ample sun loungers. rooms cleaned everyday even when we had a do not disturb sign on the door, they didnt and came back afterwards. if you are not all inclusive then it can be pricey and would not advise it, however in saying that there is a little marina with a few pubs and restaurants that may be better value.

all in all a very good experience.

taxi from airport €15

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magnium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo_Rey_Rodriguez, Director General at Hesperia Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for such an excellent comment on Tripadvisor.

I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do all our best providing a strong service in order to bring an unforgettable experience. I am happy that your stay was up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back at Hesperia Lanzarote*****.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
157 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a fairly long review where you will read my view on a few aspects of this hotel. We are very well travelled and have stayed in anything from 5* palaces to budget hotels and I always consider the price we paid before giving my opinion. Hope it helps…
We stayed here last week for 4 nights all inclusive. We know Lanzarote very well and after stays at the Costa Calero hotel (which we didn’t like too much) and 3 stays at the Rubicon Palace (which we both love but it was time for a change) we decided on trying something new and to split our stay between 2 hotels (because we wanted to try both), the Hesperia Lanzarote and the Gran Castillo Papagayo in Playa Blanca. 4 days in each. Both hotels were exactly (!) the same price so it’s hard not to compare a few aspects of both hotels (we stayed here first and then moved to Playa Blanca for the remainder of our holiday).
Arrived at 5pm on our first day and were welcomed by friendly reception staff. We were offered a welcome drink and everything about the hotel was explained to us. I emailed the hotel a week before arriving with a pool view room request (we booked a standard room) and this was fulfilled without a problem. We were guided to our room by a very friendly lady. We got room 502, very close to the reception area and restaurant with lovely views over the pool and the sea in a distance. Would have liked a king bed but the twins were ok. Room was reasonably clean and spacious, slightly dated in some areas (please remove the tacky carpets near the window!) and with hard but comfortable beds (just how we like them!). A partly open bathroom with a double sink and a shower over the bath.
A few remarks about the rooms: I would say it was a 4*+ room but not a 5*. Reasonably contemporary looking (but color scheme needs updating). They should remove the shower gel dispenser in the shower because it was empty (and dried out so not refilled for a very long time) so it’s useless being there. Toiletries were provided though. I think for a 5* hotel they could provide 2 bottles of water in the room daily so you don’t have to get them during the day at the beach bar (‘smugling’ them away to the room). AC worked well, the room was nice and cool so we slept well. A few areas weren’t cleaned as good as they could though but it was fine for us.
The restaurant and food I would give an 8-10. Good choice for breakfast (but rubbish quality bacon) and the Serrano ham always run out so it always looked like it wasn’t there (cost cutting?). The ‘natural orange juice’ they served wasn’t too bad some mornings but it wasn’t as fresh as they made you believe. Decent but rather small choice for lunch and dinner (a bit too much pork and sausages to my liking) but nicely presented (no ‘roadside canteen’ feel here!!). They should really do something about the fruit flies near the salad bar (they seemed to love the sweet corn !). The pre-prepared salads were all nice though (even though they sometimes contained brown bits). The themed nights were a bit boring and not very well thought of. A ‘Canarian Night’ without rabbit or Canarian potatoes and salmon as fish (that doesn’t live anywhere near the Canary Islands??). Asian night was also a bit boring, we expected a lot but were a bit disappointed (they could learn a lot from the Dream Gran Castillo food and their themed nights in general!!) So why did I give an 8/10? There are a few reasons : Firstly the desserts, they were exquisite quality! Among the best I had in a hotel buffet (this is were the Gran Castillo hotel really failed). Lovely cakes, very tasty !! Another reason was the whole dining experience: getting table service for drinks, getting guided to your table by the staff, the outside seating, the ‘serene and peaceful’ atmosphere, even inside it looked really nice and elegant. House wine wasn’t too bad at all either. I know that those things don’t always matter to others but for us it really compensated the ‘not so good’ things.
Then the facilities: Pools were really nice (and warm enough for us, anyone that says the pools were freezing hasn’t given it a try, after being in them for 30sec they were lovely and refreshing. We were mostly at the bottom pool because it had that nice Caribbean feel with lovely views and the bar staff was nice. A few points of criticism : I am surprised that, despite so many people mentioning this in their reviews, they haven’t done anything about the cleanliness around the pool areas, it is very obvious that some areas aren’t swept or cleaned for a long time. It can’t be that hard to fit this into a weekly/daily cleaning schedule? Some other things that are not very 5* but that are so easy to solve (but no one seems to care?): 3 different kinds of sun beds around 1 pool? Looks a bit tacky and they could really invest some money in a few more, nice quality sun beds (that will last for years?). It’s not that this will spoil your holiday in any way, but the ‘look’ of things is important in the way people look at a hotel. Then another thing : the lovely lounge bar with the coconut palm beach (Lanz beach Club): a magical place to sit and enjoy a drink at night (only open from Thursdays to Sundays for the hotel guests). Seems to be a popular spot for events (weddings…). All fine for us and no problem at all, but… if the hotel rents the place out so often (3 days in a row last week), why block the entrance to the Beach Club WITH CHAIRS every time an event takes place? It’s sooo easy to have a nice chain made with a ‘private party’ sign hanging on it and placing it there. Looks a little more classy, I might be ‘picking on little things’ now, but I am afraid that exactly those little things make a 5*hotel different to a 4*hotel. Same story for the Drago bar terrace, I counted 3 or 4 different types of chairs (not talking about umbrellas). This will again not spoil your holiday but it detracts from a 5* experience. I would also suggest to open the Drago bar during the evenings when the Lanz Beach Club is closed to the hotel quests as it is such a lovely area to sit (and the outside bar area near the lobby is so small and we don’t like to sit indoors when weather allows being outdoors).
The all inclusive : a lot has been said about this and we thought it wasn’t that complicated at all (the bar menus are very clear about what is included). I imagine that most people stick to the same 2 or 3 favorite drinks during their stay (we do anyway) and if you look on the first day if they are included or not it can’t be that hard at all? It might be a bit of a hassle signing for every drink but if the hotel has just started to offer the all in regime it is obvious they are trying to track down some things (to investigate the price/costs?). It wasn’t really a problem to us at all.
The all inclusive stops at 11pm (12pm in the Dream Gran Castillo) but we tend to be early birds when on holiday (waking up early to enjoy the day to the maximum) so no problems for us again.
The hotel doesn’t have its own beach (but everyone staying there should know this at the time of booking). It was no problem for us and we enjoyed the jetty a lot (even though the locals also seemed to like it a lot :-)) Puerto Calero is not a party destination but this again should be no surprise if you have done your homework before arriving (staying in Puerto del Carmen would be our biggest nightmare!).
Would we return to the hotel? Yes we would (even though the food at the Dream Gran Castillo was far better that at the Hesperia) but I really do hope that they read the reviews (I know they do) and try to improve a few things because it really wouldn’t take that much to bring it to a 5* experience for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delectatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Me, My partner and daughter stayed here all inclusive for 7 days and none of us wanted to come home.
We had a sea view room which had beautiful views across the pool and sea. AI was superb, choice of drinks was great none of the local watered down drinks you would get at a normal AI, food was also lovely plenty of choice.
I did get up fairly early(8am) to get a sunbed due to the comments on here, however there where still plenty of sunbeds left at 10.
All in all a beautiful relaxing stay, defiantly would go back :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecrossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo_Rey_Rodriguez, Director General at Hesperia Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for such an excellent comment on Tripadvisor.

I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do all our best providing a strong service in order to bring an unforgettable experience. I am happy that your stay was up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back at Hesperia Lanzarote*****.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay at the Hesperia hotel. We arrived at around 9:30 pm and first impressions were good, we had a very pleasant check in and staff were very friendly and helpful. We were given a room on the ground floor which was a nice room but our view was a hedge.. Just before we started unpacking we found 2 cockroaches in our room, so rang reception and we were immediately moved to a different room on the 5th floor (with a sea view). Overall I would not say this hotel was a 5*, the hotel is nice but needs updating. Certain staff members were very rude and miserable. We stayed all inclusive which is the best value for money - the buffet food is very nice, the only let down with the all inclusive set up is having to sign for absolutely every thing you drink. Also another irritating problem is finding a sun bed! Everybody seems to get up at a ridiculous time to go and lay towels out to "reserve" their sunbed, so it's very hard to find sunbeds for yourself after about 10am. There were also a lot of broken sunbeds! The pools were freezing, even the pool that claimed to be "heated" was too cold to swim in. One of the nicer aspects of the hotel, was the jetty at the end of the beach. Every morning we went out on to the jetty and swam in the sea, the water is very clear and it's well worth buying a snorkel to see the amazing fish! About a 10 minute walk away down the footpath behind the hotel, you can get to the marina at Puerto Calero, where there is a supermarket, a few designer shops and restaurants. We also rented out mopeds and went to Puerto Del Carmen which has a lot more shops including a Zara and a GUESS, pharmacies, supermarkets and more. Another good trip out was to Papagayo to the hidden beaches, the water is nearly crystal clear and there are proper sandy beaches here. We also spent a day in the spa where we paid €51 eaech for a full body massage and got to use the spa for a day. The massage was very relaxing, the spa was also nice however the sauna and steam room need updating as they are very shabby. Overall we had a lovely relaxing holiday in the sun, we probably wouldn't return as we felt the hotel was overrated and needed updating. There are a lot of negative comments and reviews on here but be open minded when you go as we did enjoy our holiday.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are the rooms with the worst view! Would definitely recommend a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 305AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here last November in one of the large suites which was amazing and had a large terrace with great views over the harbour. The whole place is immaculate, the food and service was outstanding and presented beautifully. We used the gym and spa everday and is worth the extra fee for the whole week. The location is great being right on the seafront and just a five minute stroll down to the harbour and wine bars/restaurants. We'll definately come here again although maybe not in the winter as the outdoor pools were absolutely freezing even though it was in the 80's everday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nc-cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

the bad..small area of restaurant had salads etc that were uncovered all day we were there..riddled with small flys/creatures that rendered the food uneatable.
despite being ai we were charged without knowledge for a premium drink we were not made aware of. also no uk newspapers without prior order..even then little selection.
ai ends at 1pm on last day,before lunch service.
the good..dont bother paying much more for a seaview room..we specified the standard land view room at a much cheper price (room 657) view was spectacular..mountains,puerto calero marina and the sea!
internet fine in room but you need to pay 5e a day for premium service which lets you download at speeds to watch streaming tv for example
food good quality though not huge choice
grounds and bars excellent especially the beach club
staff pretty good and didnt see any mizzo ones

Room Tip: 6th floor, even land view have great views and are really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trev1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
7.7 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
5.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,413 reviews
14.8 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,720 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
6.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Lanzarote

Property: Hesperia Lanzarote
Address: Urb. Cortijo Viejo, C/Hesperia, 1, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hesperia Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hesperia Lanzarote is located on the easternmost island of the Canary archipelago – offering guests a tropical respite from the stresses of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hesperia Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Lanzarote Puerto Calero
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing