We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hesperia Lanzarote
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Costa Calero(Puerto Calero)(Great Value!)
$143
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$213
$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel THB Flora(Puerto Del Carmen)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
BelleVue Aquarius(Puerto Del Carmen)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel(Puerto Del Carmen)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,385)
Filter reviews
5,385 results
Traveler rating
2,751
1,604
674
223
133
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,751
1,604
674
223
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrago barpool barpuerto calero marinasea viewdesigner shopslovely hotelfive star hotelel riscoa la carte restaurantsbuffet restaurantbed and breakfaststandard roomspa facilitiesupgraded to a suiterelaxing holidaycoastal pathmain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
2,720 - 2,725 of 5,385 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Booked a weeks break at this hotel through Voyage Privae, although our stay was not an unpleasant one it wasn't a great one either. First of all I wouldn't expect to hump my luggage to reception from the taxi at a 5*. The hotel is looking rather tired in a lot of places and in need of a good face lift, the paint to the swimming pool floors are blistered up in places and flaking off, which makes for a less inviting swim, also some of the corridor areas are dark & dingey. The free WiFi will let you browse but not download or receive email, you will have to pay €5 + tax per day the "VIP" version.

The breakfast is well set out and plentifull. The spar is quite nice and although we didnt have any treatments the spar pools and steam rooms are nice to chill out in. The night time entertainment is quite below average, varying from conjouring to a take off of Il Divo. Our check out was without a by or leave and we were left to trundle our luggage away, at a 4* I wouldn't think twice about this but I would expect better of a 5*.

All in all I wouldn't really let the downside of this hotel bother me if the majority of the staff (especially the bar staff), weren't so rude and discourteous.

The marina of Puerto Calero is lovely, you can find a around 16 various styles of restaurants, the Argentinian steak house is fantastic and worth returning to Puerto Calero for.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank josster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hesperia with our 6 month old child. The hotel is a large complex built on 4 or 5 floors with most rooms facing either the sea or the pool complexes
The room we had was large, nicely furnished and clean. It had a great balcony with views out to sea.
Breakfast is very good with a great selection of food including fresh pancakes and omeletes made to order. A great babystation is available for microwaving baby foods. Staff are very friendly and reception very helpful.
The grounds and pools are stunning but the water is quite cold especially for babies so pack the wee neoprenes!
The gym is small and could do with better aircon but the indoor spa pool and quiet area are lovely.
Weddings regularly take place on the front lawn which is lovely leading to a small beach cove and diving platform into the sea.
A great new well lit coastal path leads from the resort into the centre of Peurto Calero which is a gorgeous marina with about 20 nice resturants and a few designer clothes shops.
In conclusion, this is a lovely hotel in a really nice quite resort. It is suited to both families and couples who want a touch of quality for a sensible cost. OK it may not be UK 5 Star but certainly is for the Canaries.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just sadly arrived back in the UK from Hesperia Lanzarote. My partner and I have stayed in various 4 and 5 star hotels in Turkey, Egypt, Tunisia, Greece, Italy and Spain and this by far was the best hotel in terms of room, styling, food, space, privacy, location and spa treatments. It felt very exclusive throughout, but not pretencious so you could easily relax. Yes, as expected in March, the staff were sometimes thin on the ground, but I expect this was down to the fact the hotel probably only had 50-60% occupancy. For a quiet all inclusive week away in the sunshine (we have a great tan - because you could lie in the sun all day without having to waste time in the shade in high peak times of year), you cannot beat this hotel! The buffet food was wonderful, particularly at dinner, the choice and quality was excellent. We had no problems at all, as usual there are the people out there whose expectations are so high, you could never please them. We are a little more laid back and this hotel more than exceeded expectations in terms of having a very relaxing week away in an exclusive part of Lanzarote, the marina is a lovely area 10 mins walk away too. We feel very lucky to have had such a wonderful break and lovely memories,as well as being pampered in the spa which is well worth the deals on offer - all in all it was well worth the money (we did get a cheaper deal through a discount website). We will definitely go back again, particularly in low season. It has beaten all our other hotels hands down. Fabulous!!

Room Tip: 416 was on the ground floor with pool and sea views, in a quiet spot with terrace of table ad chairs and sunbed - a lovely private suntrap in the afternoon. It was convenient for popping quickly back to the room throughout the day and is very easily accessible to everything - saves wasting valuable time up and down stairs and lifts!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hotnsunny724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to Lanzarote for a family wedding, and this hotel was perfect for a large gathering...the architecture of the buildings and the relaxing spaces have been very well thought out. There could be many people in the hotel, but it never feels that way, as there are several pools and several walkways to get places. We found the staff to be very friendly and easy. There was evening entertainment every night, and the program for kids seemed to be excellent. No beach to lie on was a bit of a disappointment...but, we weren't there for that! The rooms were great and comfortable, and the food was over the top for the buffet breakfast and dinners.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lesdeuxartistes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our holiday started badly when we were shown our room by the assistant manager; it was flooded, a sort of ensuite paddling pool but in the bedroom! We were given complementary coffees while they found us a suitable alternative. They hadn't after 3 hours so we agreed to stay put and staff arrived to clear up the room. It was a lovely large room with a sea view and it couldn't happen again....surely? It did, the next day when we had a short very heavy shower. The assistant manager had assured us the flood on the first day was due to the balcony door being left open but we saw it pouring under the front door - our room had direct access from outside, not in the main building. Then we saw the bottom of the door showed signs of repeated flooding; the wood had expanded and the veneer was coming away. We stopped the flow by using all our towels which were replaced. No-one apologised for the inconvenience or the lie.
Other problems we found were that there were very few staff on reception or in the bars, there was only one red, rose or white wine available by the glass, and the quality was not great even if you offered to pay more. I could have had a much better Rioja in most local pubs in the UK. Although the paddling pools were heated and an in-between pool which was hardly deep enough to swim in was heated to 25.6 degrees (not really comfortable!) the full-sized pools were not heated. Surely not acceptable in a 5* hotel? I had conversations with a lot of unhappy guests, of all nationalities - not just us miserable Brits!
One other personal moan - matress too hard to provide appropriate support to spine and hips. Really made my hips ache. This was our first foreign holiday for many years and we were more than a little disappointed
On the plus side the food was excellent in the main restaurant with as much variety as any one could want at all meals. The pool bars were not so good. The weather got better- no more floods! - and the sun shone! - all of which made us feel a lot better.

Room Tip: Our room was 213 - great sea view and balcony but that and the adjoining 214 are subject to flooding
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews