We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous! A rare 5 star experience abroad!”
Review of Hesperia Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hesperia Lanzarote
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous! A rare 5 star experience abroad!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just sadly arrived back in the UK from Hesperia Lanzarote. My partner and I have stayed in various 4 and 5 star hotels in Turkey, Egypt, Tunisia, Greece, Italy and Spain and this by far was the best hotel in terms of room, styling, food, space, privacy, location and spa treatments. It felt very exclusive throughout, but not pretencious so you could easily relax. Yes, as expected in March, the staff were sometimes thin on the ground, but I expect this was down to the fact the hotel probably only had 50-60% occupancy. For a quiet all inclusive week away in the sunshine (we have a great tan - because you could lie in the sun all day without having to waste time in the shade in high peak times of year), you cannot beat this hotel! The buffet food was wonderful, particularly at dinner, the choice and quality was excellent. We had no problems at all, as usual there are the people out there whose expectations are so high, you could never please them. We are a little more laid back and this hotel more than exceeded expectations in terms of having a very relaxing week away in an exclusive part of Lanzarote, the marina is a lovely area 10 mins walk away too. We feel very lucky to have had such a wonderful break and lovely memories,as well as being pampered in the spa which is well worth the deals on offer - all in all it was well worth the money (we did get a cheaper deal through a discount website). We will definitely go back again, particularly in low season. It has beaten all our other hotels hands down. Fabulous!!

Room Tip: 416 was on the ground floor with pool and sea views, in a quiet spot with terrace of table ad chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hotnsunny724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,362
    1,393
    585
    190
    113
See reviews for
1,098
2,496
122
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dordogne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to Lanzarote for a family wedding, and this hotel was perfect for a large gathering...the architecture of the buildings and the relaxing spaces have been very well thought out. There could be many people in the hotel, but it never feels that way, as there are several pools and several walkways to get places. We found the staff to be very friendly and easy. There was evening entertainment every night, and the program for kids seemed to be excellent. No beach to lie on was a bit of a disappointment...but, we weren't there for that! The rooms were great and comfortable, and the food was over the top for the buffet breakfast and dinners.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesdeuxartistes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our holiday started badly when we were shown our room by the assistant manager; it was flooded, a sort of ensuite paddling pool but in the bedroom! We were given complementary coffees while they found us a suitable alternative. They hadn't after 3 hours so we agreed to stay put and staff arrived to clear up the room. It was a lovely large room with a sea view and it couldn't happen again....surely? It did, the next day when we had a short very heavy shower. The assistant manager had assured us the flood on the first day was due to the balcony door being left open but we saw it pouring under the front door - our room had direct access from outside, not in the main building. Then we saw the bottom of the door showed signs of repeated flooding; the wood had expanded and the veneer was coming away. We stopped the flow by using all our towels which were replaced. No-one apologised for the inconvenience or the lie.
Other problems we found were that there were very few staff on reception or in the bars, there was only one red, rose or white wine available by the glass, and the quality was not great even if you offered to pay more. I could have had a much better Rioja in most local pubs in the UK. Although the paddling pools were heated and an in-between pool which was hardly deep enough to swim in was heated to 25.6 degrees (not really comfortable!) the full-sized pools were not heated. Surely not acceptable in a 5* hotel? I had conversations with a lot of unhappy guests, of all nationalities - not just us miserable Brits!
One other personal moan - matress too hard to provide appropriate support to spine and hips. Really made my hips ache. This was our first foreign holiday for many years and we were more than a little disappointed
On the plus side the food was excellent in the main restaurant with as much variety as any one could want at all meals. The pool bars were not so good. The weather got better- no more floods! - and the sun shone! - all of which made us feel a lot better.

Room Tip: Our room was 213 - great sea view and balcony but that and the adjoining 214 are subject to flooding
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We travelled as a couple on Monday 4th March for an all inclusive holiday with Thomas Cook who we could not fault. However, the service from staff, particularly from the Pool Bar, was poor and unfriendly. We felt ignored at times wearing our all inclusive wrist bands and the Non-inclusive holidaymakers were always served quicker. It transpired during our week that the all inclusive package had only been in operation for 2 weeks and all staff were supposedly not aware how this worked. Some drinks are not included e.g. fresh orange juice. Ask to be given the bar price list before you order. Tip: if you travel as an all inclusive package make sure that the drinks docket which you have to sign for every drink has TI written on it to confirm all inclusive. We have passed on our comments to the reception staff when leaving so hopefully this problem has been resolved for future guests. Food is good at breakfast and dinner but poor choice at lunch time, and being served outside meant a constant battle with birds and flies. Bedrooms looked tired and need upgrading. I have never seen a 5 star hotel with a children's play/disco area in the main reception and bar area in the evening. Position of hotel excellent for walking to the local marina which is probably the best spot on the island. Lovely sea views and very clean everywhere.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is to put it simply, superb. We booked this as a part of package holiday for 1 week primarily seeking some rest and relaxation for our family composed of various ages, from an 18 month baby to pensioners 60+. It's therefore a challenge finding a resort that ticks all the boxes but this stylish low rise complex certainly does that. The Hesperia simply oozes relaxed class and elegance, but at the same time remains unfussy and not at all pretentious like some 5 star resorts can be.
The relatively remote setting is one of my favourite aspects, nestled within a charming and quiet coastal area just 20 mins west of the airport and a good distance away from the more so-called popular tourist hotspots - but this I feel is the Hesperia's biggest trump card. Distanced enough from the hoards of tourists and cheesy shopping centres, but close enough by private transport if you really need that 'Costa del Sol' over-developed, over-commericalised experience.
The facilities are of the usual 5 star (ish) quality, complete with kids clubs, plethora of sporting equipment/courts and ample swimming pools and bars. The spa is pretty posh too, though I was slightly annoyed about it costing extra, even with our supposedly all-inclusive package. Generally all of us were entertained/relaxed and never felt bored. The lobby is absolutely huge and open plan, and serves as the central focal point of activity within the hotel.
This resort never feels like its crowded, everything is spaced out well and it does contribute to that 'exclusive' feel. However as March is considered off-peak, I feel this could be different in summer or during school holidays. Generally we spent hours walking around the hotel grounds enjoying the peace and quiet, the winding mazy pathways being flanked with raised flower gardens.
The staff are also generally excellent, however as per some reviews here - it's true that there's not enough of them - during busy periods it can be frustrating waiting to be served. Some however, like the chap who dealt with excursions, are exceptionally helpful but then they would be!
When you do finally get their undivided attention, their service is delivered professionally and tricky requests are also usually met. They also didn't seem to mind a baby throwing loads of food onto the floor, or making a right old mess on the dinner table. Full marks.
Food and drink is on the whole excellent in terms of quality and choice, though we only used the buffet (it's easier with a grumpy baby!) for the whole week so cannot comment on the other 3 restaurants.
There are other establishments a 15 min walk away if you need a change. My folks have been in the food business most of their lives, and even they were impressed with the food. Not easy to please I can tell you.
Choose this resort if you are looking for a family friendly high quality hotel in a quiet upmarket area, that is still within easy reach of everything else you might (but probably won't) need.

Room Tip: All rooms will have their pro's and con's but I think they will be all good as the hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hfu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

All started well at the hotel until we tried to get a drink or have a meal; the staff were so inefficient and there weren't enough of them. This lead to a general feeling of frustration throughout the whole hotel. Queuing for 20 minutes to get a water and then being charged €3 for a small warm bottle!
The hotel itself is lovely, lots of space, lots of pools, great for children, really good shower. I really hope they sort out the service issue!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arabella_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had some concerns after booking this hotel. Some reviews were far from complimentary but we found it to be fantastic. Everything about this Hotel was superb. The check-in was most efficient and friendly. The staff were absolutely fabulous,helpful,friendly and ready to offer every assistance. The food was beyond words, plentiful and delicious. We stayed in Room 641, the silence was real bliss and the view excellent. This Hotel is most definitely 5 Star and we will return again & again.

Room Tip: Room 416 for silence and solitude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
7.7 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
5.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,413 reviews
14.8 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,720 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
6.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Lanzarote

Property: Hesperia Lanzarote
Address: Urb. Cortijo Viejo, C/Hesperia, 1, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hesperia Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hesperia Lanzarote is located on the easternmost island of the Canary archipelago – offering guests a tropical respite from the stresses of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hesperia Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Lanzarote Puerto Calero
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing