We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul and Natalie's Canarian Luxury”
Review of Hesperia Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hesperia Lanzarote
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from Hesperia Lanzarote. This was our second visit to Hesperia, the first being a week this past June. We were more than impressed on our first visit and the return, for ten days this time, was no less impressive. The plentiful staff gave us superb service in every respect. We had a suite which was cleaned and serviced every day, with the beds being turned down each night. The staff on reception were always polite and wonderfully helpful. The bar staff were the same. However, a special mention must go to all the restaurant staff who provided us with fabulous food for both breakfast and dinner. We have been holidaying for the past several years in 6 and 7 star hotels in Dubai and Abu Dhabi. We can see no reason to return to the Middle East as Hesperia has everything we could possibly need. The location of Hesperia is on the south western edge of Puerto Calero adjacent to up-market housing and is but a pleasant walk along a coastal path to the Marina. We have had a truly fabulous time on each visit and we are already planning to visit next year. Many Thanks Hesperia!!!!

Room Tip: If you visit Hesperia, try to book a Suite. The views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,678 - 2,684 of 5,240 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Hesperia in October 2011. We are a large family consisting of my wife and I and 6 kids! We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis,which I must say the breakfast was good with a nice variety and a clean restraunt. We were given 3 triple rooms and all were clean and well kept by house keeping.the hotel is in a nice location away from the madning crowds!! The only draw back is the buses are a bit hit and miss! There are some restraunts a short walk from the hotel in a small harbour but we found the food very expensive! Our kids are aged 4 to 12 so not massive eaters but I found 85 euros for a sandwich a drink slightly extreme! We're going again later this month but I've booked a people carrier out this time. I always read the reviews on trip adviser before I go any where and I must be honest and say I didn't find anything negative about the hotel itself. I will post another report after my next stay. P.Roberts

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Munkeymilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was my third time for visiting this hotel and resort. This time we got a room with both a sea view and pool view, which really added to the holiday. A lovely girl on reception called Racquel couldn't do enough for us and was always lively and bubbly even when busy.

Great spot, great breakfast buffet and great service.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea and pool view are obviously the best as some of the rooms overlook the car park to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseC24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just returned from the Hesperia on Monday. This was my second visit to this hotel, having stayed there a few years ago. It is only a 15 minute taxi from the airport (20 euros), a warm welcome from reception with a much appreciated fresh orange juice on arrival.

The room we were initially allocated overlooked the car park so I rang reception asking for a sea view room, not a problem, within 15 minutes we were in a new room with a stunning view over the pool and out to sea, we had room 705 on the top floor above the restaurant.

The rooms are lovely, twin queen sized beds, twin basins, as much wardrobe space as you need (even for my lovey lady!), air conditioning keeps the room at a nice temperature without freezing you during the night. We stayed half board, breakfast was in the main restaurant in a buffet style, but so much choice of fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, jams etc, not to mention all of the hot food cooked fresh right in front of you. The evening meal is served in the same restaurant in a similar style, with different themed nights such as Chinese, Mexican etc, again all with so much chioce of starters, main courses and deserts, they always make sure there is pasta etc for the less adventurous, and always food that will appeal to younger children. I have to say that the food was very good all week until the Sunday evening which I think was the local Lanzarote themed night, food wasn't as appetising or cooked as well in our opnion. We did book into the Italian restaurant for the Saturday night (only open on the weekend evenings) which made a nice change, food was good, not spectacular, and the atmosphere was lacking a little due to less people in a large space. The other restaurant La Caleta was not open for the week we were there as they had several weddings on.

The outside spaces are very pleasant, lots of space and different areas to use, there were always sun beds available, pools always crystal blue and clean (as was the hotel overall), with plenty of areas offering shade for those like me that can only tolerate the sun in short bursts.

We did have a back and neck massage each, and I cannot recommend this highly enough, Petra was amazing! We used our hour session in the spa area on another day, great hydro pool, sauna etc, there is a good gym, but we did not use it.

The hotel is only a short 10 minute walk along a paved walkway along the cliff down to the harbour of Puerto Calero, which is lovely, a few shops, mixture of places to eat and drink, all overlooking the harbour full of yachts etc. All very chilled and relaxed atmosphere, no KFC, or McDonalds etc in site!!

All in all we had a great week, great location, very nice hotel, half board is very good value, even if you want to eat out of the hotel a couple of evenings.

Thanky you to the staff, we will definitely return and look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rich_and_Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

started going to hesperia a few years ago ,in october,just me and the wife,leaving the kids at home for a week of peace,this is a great hotel just to chill out,and only a sort taxi to del carmen,staff really helpful,normally stay at fariones ,for summer hols, but think next year will stay at hesperia for summer hols

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuart h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hesperia in November 2011 for a week. Hotel is very big, hundreds of rooms, 4 or 5 pools, small private beach and several restuarants. The pools and sunbathing areas are lovely, clean and spacious. There were spa treatments available and the hotel staff are really helpful and will organise taxi's etc., and recommend places to see.

10 minutes walk to the marina where there are lots of lovely bars and restuarants to choose from. Excellent Argentinian steak restuarant, not cheap but well worth a visit!

We were bed and breakfast as the food reviews for the hotel were not so good, apart from breakfast.

Parts of the hotel look a little tired, but our room was fine and I liked the seperate dressing room. Balcony was spacious and overlooked one of the smaller pools, great views out to sea and lovely sunsets.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyceBir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great Location however, The disgusting foul smell dominated our holiday. This hotel is not 5 star and if you think it is, you have not stayed in a real 5 star hotel.
We discovered open sewage drains on hotel property. This alone ruined our entire holiday.
Thurs - arrived 1pm, had to wait 2 hrs until a room was ready. shower lever came off in hand.
room wi old style TV, tired looking & feeling towels. noticed slight smell on balcony!
Fri - smell got worse, reported to reception, got an 'oh really response'. left the hotel and went to marina for rest of day, got back smell still there, unable to sit on balcony:(
Sat - no water in hotel due to burst pipe, went to reception at approx 8am talked to reception about no water & disgusting smell, my partner & I were on verge of throwing up, was told that recycled water was used to water plants & smell was there because of the wind direction. After breakfast, our room had no electricity, back to reception requested room change & was told NO because room available was not facing the same side as we had...Maintenance did not arrive until after I spotted one of reception staff delivering luggage to room across hall. Called her in to have a smell, she SAID there was no smell. Maintenance arrived, air con now broken. We were forced to ring Thomas Cook as we could not get any satisfaction with reception. Got a call midday from Customer Relations Manager (really lovely gent 'Ivan' apologetic, confirmed smell & movement of other guests). We were given another room, on opposite side of hotel. On entering newly allocated room discovered water pouring from vent in the bathroom. Waited for maintenance to fix, another day lost. Really embarrassed at this stage of having to go reception on so many occassions & now to ask for safe to be unlocked:( Vent was hanging off for 2 days before it was gaffer taped, light bulb out replaced on day 3 in new room. some sockets in room did not work.
Smell subsided slighty for next 2days but when the wind blew in wrong direction you still got a faceful of a foul odour.
Met another guest who had stayed at the hotel every year for ten years who agreed that the smell was horrible & a new development. she also talked to reception.
Lower Pool - Sat beside many couples at pool who often moved in order to try and find somewhere without the smell.
Hotel is very busy with weddings so during the day the beach bar and restaurant are unaccessible and you are forced to listen to the happy couples choice of music. The weddings are not cleaned up on the same day and most days tables full of glasses and rubbish are left sitting around until midday. Every morning you come down for breakfast to be faced with last nights glasses all over the tables around the bars and restaurants. On one day the gardeners had been trimming and had left black bags spead around pool which were left for half the day. The pools were often not finished being cleaned until almost 11 am. Cleaner would start one pool then disappear leaving the cleaning pipes in the pool before returning over an hour later.
Spa - Booked a spa session and was given a towel which seemed to have been previosly used by wolverine and it was torn, ripped , shredded and with holes big enough to put your face through.
Restaurant - Breakfast was good with a great selection of food though the coffee horrible and the 2 self service machines were constantly out of use not through being broken but by needing the drawer emptied. The crockery was frequently greasy, stained & chipped as if the dishwasher was using cold water.
Housekeeper Sandra was fantastic, room spotlessly cleaned. We feel like we have not had a holiday at all and hope we were just unlucky. Wake up Hesperia, you can give your guests a wonderful experience if you got your act together. I did not like having to write this review but felt I had to given the entire experience, very disappointed.

Room Tip: close pegs for your nose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank indianblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
5.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,984 reviews
7.7 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.3 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
7.6 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
6.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Lanzarote

Address: Urb. Cortijo Viejo, C/Hesperia, 1, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range: $137 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hesperia Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hesperia Lanzarote is located on the easternmost island of the Canary archipelago – offering guests a tropical respite from the stresses of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hesperia Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Lanzarote Puerto Calero
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing