We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a nice hotel,but....”
Review of Hesperia Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hesperia Lanzarote
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over Easter 2012. The positives were that the rooms were comfy and spacious,the grounds of the hotel were beautiful ,and the nearby resort of Puerto Calero is quiet and classy,with several very good restaurants. The staff were, for the most part, attentive and helpful.
However, there were some negatives. The one night we ate in the restaurant in the hotel ,the buffet on offer was not as good as one might expect,and we were grateful we had gone Bed&Breakfast rather than Full Board. The breakfast itself was ok but it's easier to get that right than dinner. There was always a delay before staff were ready to escort you to your table,even though there would be usually several available. The food in the Drago bar and Pool bar was ,frankly ,poor and one occasion, a tortilla de patatas was still frozen in the middle. I agree with another reviewer that the sunbeds were really uncomfortable.
There are pleasant walks from the hotel to see the harsh beauty of the landscape,and a paved path to Puerto Calero marina.
Overall,I would return to this hotel for a winter or spring break, but would opt to eat in the fine restaurants a 5-10 minute walk away in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PetedelMonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,689 - 2,695 of 5,134 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife and I went to this Hotel for the first time, also my second visit to the island since long time ago.
This hotel is quite new and it's a good value for a 5 Stars (I would give it 4 stars instead) Checking in was smooth and fast, they were nice and explained everything about the hotel rules and facilities.
The room is so so, the bed was very good (We took the King size one) but the bathroom is not very well designed, because they are big but the space is not well distributed. They have the "old stile" tube and shower together (I hate this) in the same room that the WC and the Bidet (Still necessary nowadays???) which makes it too tight for me. Then they have the lavatories alone in a Biiiiiig room.
The breakfast is not that good as some people said here before, it's not bad at all, but not enough variety for sure, orange juice was not "fresh squeezed" but bottled. poor variety of fruit and eggs, and the worst thing, the cook didn't know how to make omelets or to fry an egg, very frustrating¡¡
Another con is that there's not WIFI in the room¡¡¡ that's so bad, you have to go to the main hall to get your emails but there's the children amusement working at the Lobby all the afternoon long. Very noisy¡¡
On the up side I would say, service is very nice and helpful, it's a quite hotel, in a great location, with nice and clean pools (There's one for children) by the ocean, it has a "private" sandy beach and the hotel landscape is very nice.
Also, some of the sun beds were broken, but in any case, spending the day by the pool was great.
For those interested, like me, there's a nice golf course at 10 minutes drive and another one at 30 minutes drive.
Lanzarote is a beautiful island and worths the trip so see how Tourism could be sustainable.

Room Tip: F and G buildings are closer to the pool, beach and to the path that goes to Puerto Calero, but quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BusinessTraveler1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This excellent hotel - impressive, well designed, comfortable, with splendid facilities and blessed with a superb location, is let down by a serious shortage of staff. The staff on duty try very hard to satisfy the needs of guests. There is no pool service - although the pool bar does a good job. A request for champagne cocktails could not be supplied ' it isn't on the list'! The bar stocks only one sherry, Tio Pepe. The kitchen and dining room staff do an amazing job, in spite of being so few. Never, at any time, did it become clear who was managing the hotel. This is, potentially, a fine hotel, It just requires better, and less remote, management.

Room Tip: All pool-view rooms have morning or afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank De-novo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Amazing Breakfast and some great views!
Rooms are dated and some rust in bathroom. Pools too cold to swim in/you have 3 English speaking channels on TV...BBC world news/Sky news/cartoon network!/ you have to pay to have an iron in your room....I was told by staff they were too busy to send one to my room so I had to go to reception to pick it up myself and then pay eur12/You have to pay eur20 for a pool towel deposit and then eur1 to have it changed/the air Con in room goes off at 10pm...I would hope this is different in summer months./You only get bathrobes if you attend the spa..they are not in rooms as stated on hotel website.
Puerto Calero is probably the nicest area on the island...we rented a car for a few days but there is nothing to see.
The hotel lobby is lovely and gives a wonderful feel of opulence but the rest of the property has no atmosphere at all.
It's eur23 for a morning pass to the spa or eur28 for an afternoon pass. You can pay eur60 for the week which seems great value. I paid for a half day pass only to be told just as I entered that I couldn't use the facilities as I was pregnant! I only wanted a little dip in a heated pool….!!!!
I was 5 months pregnant when I stayed here and it would have been nice to head back to my room after dinner and watch a movie in a nice cool room or even have a drink at the hotel bar which consisted of 6 chairs in the hotel lobby!! Not what you expect from a 5 star hotel.....

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asho36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Had a great stay here in March 2012. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk (along a nice path by the sea) from the main shops and restaurants of Puerto Calero. Great breakfasts with a huge selection. Probably wouldn’t recommend half/full board here as there are so many great restaurants in the town, and the night we did have the buffet food in the hotel is was only OK. The La Caletta hotel restaurant is excellent and definitely worth eating at, but there is a supplement to eat here if you are half/full board… Would absolutely stay at the Hesperia if (when!) visiting Puerto Calero again, really nice hotel, fantastic service from very friendly staff!

Room Tip: Would recommend a room with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Phil_2547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

If you want a loevly hotel with amazing customer service then stay here. We were lucky to proabably be allocated one of the best rooms in teh hotel. A suite overlooking the sea and pool area. We could not have asked for more. As we were only bed and breakfast we did not use the hotel restaurants for our evening meal but if the breakfast was a measure of the rest of the food on offer it was extremely good.
I have stayed in a number of 4*+ and 5* hotels before but certainly the selection and more importantly the quality of the food produced was some of the best we have experienced. The choices exceeded my expectations with everything you could imagine on offer. All the choices were constantly being refilled so that you never had to experience dried up food or stale cakes etc.
I certianly look forward to staying there again ...!!

Room Tip: its well worth the extra for a suite ..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The Hotel was nice ,the rooms are pretty ,but I would not give a 5 star. But it was kind of cheap,so who cares 4 star or 5star :))Rooms was hard to find! The food was amazing there! Especially an Italian restaurant ,I loved it!!! Pools I find very cold!!! And there was a club,but it was not working :(

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarunytte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
14.8 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
7.7 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
5.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
6.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
13 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#11 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Lanzarote

Address: Urb. Cortijo Viejo, C/Hesperia, 1, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range: $106 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hesperia Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hesperia Lanzarote is located on the easternmost island of the Canary archipelago – offering guests a tropical respite from the stresses of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hesperia Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Lanzarote Puerto Calero
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing