We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a beautiful area. We loved it!”
Review of Hesperia Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hesperia Lanzarote
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I went with my mother for a week at the Hesperia and we loved it!

It is in a beautiful location, 5 mins walk from the harbour Peurto Calero.
It is definitely 5 star! The hotel is huge, full of gardens and tranquil areas.
It is right beside the sea and there are a couple of lovely little beaches.

It is the perfect place for a wedding!

We booked with directline holidays and it was very reasonable. You can fly from lots of different airports and some are cheaper so check them all out before you book. Our holiday came to about £930 for two people for a week.

The food was brilliant - always lots of salads, fish, fresh bread, olives, cheese, pasta, chips and a different theme every night. The waiters even dressed up and did their job very well. Lots of deserts and ice cream! We are vegetarian and I don't like eggs or fish but I could always fill my plate. It was great for non vegetarians though.

I have never seen such an impressive breakfast buffet. There was absolutely everything you could thing of - every different type of eggs, cooked breakfast, toast, pastries, doughnuts, lots of delicious fresh fruit, waffles, crepes, cheese toasties, omelettes, tea, coffee, different juices, hot chocolate and of course champagne every morning.

There were quite a few English but mostly Spanish people. It is a very romantic hotel, perfect for young and old couples. Its great for young families too because they have plenty of facilities for kids like a mini club, shallow pools, play area, their own plates and cups. When I was there, very few young people were around because of school. (I live in Ireland so I get 3 months summer hols) But it is cheaper at this time of year and more peaceful.

There were a few people who sunbathed topless but we didn't mind.

When you arrive, call down to reception and ask for bathrobes and they will send them up straight away for free. We had a standard room but it was very spacious. There was a huge king sized bed that was very comfortable with all sorts of soft pillows and cushions. The TV had plenty of channels but why would you want to watch TV on holiday! There's actually a TV room near reception.The bathroom was nice and very clean. The shower was lovely and you could get clean white fluffy towels every day. There was also a magnifying mirror which was handy and a large wardrobe with a free safe.

If you go into reception and go up in the lift to the 8th floor there is a library with books and magazines. If you see a Cecelia Aherne book (which I highly recommend) or Coleen Rooney book they're mine. :)

The pools were brilliant and clean. There are 4 so if you want to swim in peace you can. They play music at the bars. There are sun loungers in the pool and shallow areas where you can lie in the pool and chill out. The pools are definitely not to cold! The weather is so hot that you need to cool down in the pool sometimes. If you just jump in you soon get used to the temperature. I even paddled at night time because my feet were too hot.

In Peurto Calero there are lots of designer shops and a couple of souvenir shops. There is also a supermarket that has everything you might need. There are many restaurants and bars where you can relax and look out onto the harbour. Everywhere we went the people were very friendly. In one cafe the cook brought out some bread and gave it to the children so that they could feed the fish. I was amazed at how clear and clean the water was. You could see hundreds of fish, some were huge!
My favourite place was the Buda Cocktail Lounge, it was the nicest bar i have ever seen and the cocktails were great. If you go before 6 you get them much cheaper.

I suggest you get a taxi ( for 7 euros) and visit Peurto Del Carmen. Its a more touristy area but the beach is fantastic and there is also a shopping centre. There are lots of bars with music on an evening.

The spa is amazing. You can buy a morning pass for just €23 (10:30 am to 3pm) and it is definitely worth the money. There are lots of water jets and all sorts of water things that massage you, warm and hot jacuzzis, steam room, sauna, relaxation suite, steam shower, scottish shower, water volcano, waterfall and lots more. The best spa I've ever been in. They even provide refreshing drinks, fresh fruit and biscuits. I came out totally relaxed.

On an evening there are singers or a piano player which is very nice but a little bit more entertainment would be good. Our only complaint was the transfer company transfers4u / Jumbo Tours. The woman was not very pleasant and we had to wait a 2 hours in the heat for a bus to take us on a ten min journey. She kept trying to get us to wait away from her stand so not to make her look bad but we stayed right beside her until eventually she sorted a bus for us. Do not book with them!

I would highly recommend this hotel and we hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TamsinfromTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,871 - 2,877 of 5,245 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

We (a family with a baby) spent 3 nights at this fantastic place. Nice and comfortable room with breathtaking view on the ocean; second-to-none breakfast buffet with wide selection of any type of food; very friendly and helpful staff. It's the perfect location to relax and treat yourself. Wide variety of relaxing activities and therapies at the SPA.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StefGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I have read every available review on this hotel! I feel that some are much too harsh on this hotel... It is an amazing place with views to die for! The pools are a bit cold but sufficiant for the hot weather at the moment. Do not eat at the pool bars, I am not picky with my food but had an awful prawn avocado salad that I felt unobliged to pay for. In general the hotel staff are nice, I think that maybe they come accross rude with the lack of english but they are helpful! When we arrived the reception was incredibly hot, I hoped our room would not be like this.... BUT.... It was... It is putting a huge dampener on our stay as it is simply too hot! After being out by the pool it is nice to come back to a cool room but its baking temperature. We had to turn the power to full and temperature to ten degrees and the room is still like an oven! I cant understand the inability to have a proper a/c system in such a hot climate. I have never experienced it this bad!!! The rest of the hotel is great and decor fantastic! The food at the marina is super with prices that suit every visitor. My favourite the indian restaurant which served brilliant indian cuisine was the most expensive at about 15/20 euro a head! Overall an enjoyable place to stay! JUST FIX THE AIR CONDITIONING!

Room Tip: Room 635
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seustace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Had read all the reviews before we went. Sometimes you take things with a pinch of salt but they are all true. The hotel is trying to be something it isn't but once you realise it's more of a basic 4 star hotel then it's absolutely fine.

good points:
- very, very clean inside and out
- just about anything you want to eat at breakfast (but it can feel like feeding time at the zoo)
- good distance from the marina to allow nice evening walk and not too far to stock up on drinks and snacks from the supermarket (let's face it you'd be mad to buy these at the hotel)

bad points:
- trying to be something it wasn't
- speed of reception staff
- queuing system to be seated for breakfast - sometimes it took 20 mins before you could sit down
- quality and cost of evening buffet (we only had it as it was raining but at 30€ EACH it was such a waste of money)
- charged refundable 10 euros to 'hire' a beach towel and non-refundable 1€ if you wanted to change it for a clean on
- very uncomfortable and in some cases very worn sun loungers
- charge to use the indoor swimming pools 60€ for a week's pass - handy if it's overcast or raining. Only the gym is free

places to eat:
- la papardelle (the italian at the near end of the marina)
- cafe milla (pizzas here actually better than above)
- BEST meal of the whole holiday and in fact best I've had in a long time is at La Cabana. It's a 5-minute taxi ride away in the little town of Macher. Very small so need to book it but cannot recommend it highly enough. Michelin standard quality but not the price

Having said all of this had a great holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR&RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Puerto Calero is probably one of the quietest areas of Lanzarote, and that's why we picked it!

The Hesperia is very nice - I'm not sure it's a "proper" 5 star - but the rooms were very big, ours had a jacuzzie and huge walk in shower - as well as a nice balcony to have an evening drink on! And you get free wireless during your stay...

The Pools are kept very clean and there was always lots of room for us to swim around - there is a kids pool as well which was always full but all the children were very well behaved when we were there!

Food was pretty standard - breakfast had a huge selection, but the pool restaurants weren't anything to write home about - go along to the Marina if you want a really lovely meal. We went to an Italian restaurant there three nights in a row because it was so good! (It's the one on the corner at the beginning of the parade).

This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful, quiet part of Lanzarote - don't stay here if you're looking for nightlife! And make sure you make the trip to Papagayo beach if you can - it's one of the loveliest I've ever seen!

Room Tip: Go for a "suite" if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lucygfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Great location, nicely laid out - very quiet - badly managed - staff indifferent,to visitors considering they are tourist dependant - very expensive to eat and drink there - pools always cold - charge for towels and no mattress's on pool beds, very uncomfortable. Beds in rooms also very hard and uncomfortable. Cockroaches in the room, had to be moved on 2nd night there. Fumigation also took place during our stay.

Nice walk down to marina, choice of restaurants there much kinder to the pocket!
If Kate or Paul get to see this review ....we owe you guys a drink the next time we see you!

Room Tip: has to have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madeleine_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

A superb week's stay at this beautiful hotel. Our flight arrived late and we didn't check in until 10.30pm; the reception team checked us in and informed us that food would be sent to the room as we had missed our evening meal. No sooner had we unpacked when the door was knocked and in entered a trolley containing a selection of food from the restaurant. A great start to our stay. The week went too quick; the service remained great throughout our stay, the food was plentiful and varied (previous comments have suggested the food is boring and samey!).
A short walk takes you to the marina; a small selection of bars and restaurants, all very pleasant and a reasonable alternative to the hotel's meal-time offerings.
In short; clean rooms, comfortable beds, great service, good food, clean pool and comfortable surroundings.
If we were to be picky...the Spa facility is an additional cost and should be included as part of your stay; however, we will return to the Hesperia as it made such an impression on us.

Room Tip: Our room was 632 - quiet but not the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rusty-BH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
5.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,997 reviews
7.7 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.3 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
7.6 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
6.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Lanzarote

Address: Urb. Cortijo Viejo, C/Hesperia, 1, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range: $155 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hesperia Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hesperia Lanzarote is located on the easternmost island of the Canary archipelago – offering guests a tropical respite from the stresses of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hesperia Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Lanzarote Puerto Calero
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing