We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“holiday dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurante Marabu

Restaurante Marabu
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Esquinzo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“holiday dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

where we were staying there was not a lot to do and the nearest town was 2kil away ,but one place kept comming up as good food was the marabu so we dicided to go,very impressed ,the reastraunt was in a great local very private and a good ambience was great ,the food excelant and the service was v good ,would recommend it to any one .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kennyl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    77
    17
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Thoroughly Spoilt Evening”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Having read so many positive reviews, we were really looking forward to our meal in the Marabu. We made our booking and arrived in time. The restaurant is beautifully appointed. Situated in a hollow - a staircase leads down to a most attractive garden area, attractively lit with various awnings and canopies which lend a lovely atmosphere. From then on it was downhill all the way. The first person we encountered was a scowling lady washing glasses. She ignored us. We addressed another lady and were once again ignored. My husband tried a third time and said we had made a reservation. We were told to wait - and thereafter ignored. We stood awkwardly among the diners - and waited. We had to keep stepping out of the way as the stuff went to and fro, all ignoring us. Though there was a small area with tall tables and bar stools, we were not invited to wait there, nor were we offered anything to drink. By this stage two other couples were hovering behind us. My husband asked just how long they intended to leave us standing there and in response, a waiter held up his hand in a 'halt' fashion and said "wait". This was not rudeness misinterpreted in translation. I was steaming and wanted to leave, but my ever mild-mannered husband persevered, in the hope that our evening might yet be salvaged. It wasn't. When finally we were seated there was no apology or any reference that we had been ignored for the best part of an hour. A large Spanish party arrived. Much kissy kissy with the staff. About forty minutes later, the couples who had arrived after us, left. No one noticed.
The food presentation was good, but there the promise ended. The dishes themselves were very disappointing and did little to improve our humour. Nor did the service - when it finally came. Just one word of acknowledgement, never mind an apology, could have done wonders to rescue matters. The staff were rude, ignorant and thoroughly unprofessional. All in all, it was a holiday evening wasted. We will NEVER return.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqui V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
262 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Amazing a must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled here upon trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. We didn't have a reservation but the staff were able to fit us in!

Our starters were amazing- goats cheese and honey and fish croquettes and set the standard for our mains. My Spanish sirloin in mustard sauce was delicious, as was the sirloin strips in mushroom sauce.

The staff were efficient and helpful and the restaurant very pretty!

Definitely visit this restaurant!

Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I ate at this restaurant last week with family. Wow everything about the place was amazing the wine the location the service, most of all the food!! I had steak along with my mother in law amazing amazing amazing cooked to perfection. Do not hesitate about going to this restaurant if you get the chance I would love to return the first chance I get!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonwaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“World Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This restaurant is about 2 miles from Jandia Playa in the tranquil setting that is Esquinzo.

For us, it is in a class of its own locally and we reserve our visits for special occasions.Food, decor and service re in a class of their own. Booking is probably advisable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffordAlls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Marabu also viewed

 
Triquivijate, Antigua
 

Been to Restaurante Marabu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing