We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely beaches”
Review of Monte Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Esquinzo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monte Marina
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esquinzo
stavanger
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely beaches”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed there February 2011 and go back again February 2012. Wish we could have been there more often, but it's a difficult journey from our home town. The German staff are the best, the apartments clean and very nice. A singel rose in a vase, a bottle of wine makes you feel rather welcome. Thank you, I'll look forward to February 2012.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in second floor with a view to the sea, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
40
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Not long back from a break at MM naturist apartments which we enjoyed. The apartment we had was spacious and spotlessly clean. It was relatively well appointed but a little tired and dated.
We took advantage of the extra equipment on offer which was free but required a deposit, refunded on departure. I wouldn't bother with the TV/Satelite again as the picture quality was poor and English language programmes were restricted to watered down news broadcasts. The hotel offer beach towels at 1 Euro per change which we took full advatage of.
There are approximately 50 apartments based around a lovely pool. I would suspect that the sunbeds in this area would be at a premium as there was no restriction on bed hogging. "Towels" were in abundance during the first week but more relaxed during the second week of our stay.
The beach is about 10 minutes away, down a path from the hotel. It is about 15 minutes back but there is a bar at the top of the climb! The beach is lovely and sunbathers happily mix.
Eating out was a bit of an issue as there seemed to be little to entice you into the two hotels. There is a fabulous restaurant just around the corner from MM on the road into the village, we didn't find it until our last night!
Careful when you ring the bell on the reception desk...if Fraulien Fawlty is busy she can be quite rude.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LickeyEndBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The apartments were beautifully clean and well appointed - everything 2 people could want. The pool complex and gardens were superb and the staff were very welcoming and attentive without being obtrusive. The whole naturist aspect was what we had gone for and we were not disappointed, apart from lack of naturists on the beach - apparently this resort in July and August is mainly filled with Spanish families and the clothing optional beach is full of people who opt to wear clothes. It made the few naturists who 'dared to bare' feel quite uncomfortable.
This is nothing to do with the hotel and the apartments but I feel that anyone wanting this sort of holiday should know to avoid feeling out of place.
The naturist complex was a haven and a small oasis of calm and very peaceful - the mix of English, German and Italian visitors made for a very relaxed friendly place to spend time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kj52_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Monte Marina is a naturist apartment complex with about 50 self catering apartments clustered round a good sized salt water pool and spa. There is also a free sauna.
Across a small road is the parent Marina Playa Hotel, for textiles, with its own pool area. You can choose breakfast or half board options, and the restaurant in the hotel provides simple, but very good quality food, tailored for the mainly German clientelle. It has a mix of Spanish and German flavours, and I didn't have a bad meal there during my stay.
You have to cover up when you go outside the Monte Marina complex, or to the hotel, but the sandy beach is clothes optional for mile after mile, particularly to the north towards Play de Sotavento, (a 90 minute walk along the beach!) which is incredible. The sea is warm all year round, the windsurfing and sailing fantastic (because it is often windy.)
Esquinzo village is very quiet, with a good chemist, a small Spar supermarket, a souvenier shop, a couple of restaurants and a bar. If you want shopping, nightlife, tapas bars, local market, etc. you have to go to modern Jandia or more traditional Morro Jable to the south. You can walk down the beach for about 45 minutes, or get the half hourly bus service from right outside the hotel. (Very reliable and cheap.)
The hotel and naturist apartment complex are both comfortable, very clean, very well run and provide a good standard of accommodation. They are not 4/5 star hotel quality, but for a quiet relaxing beach holiday in a very friendly, comfortable family run hotel complex, I can strongly recommend either naturist apartments or the main textile hotel. The owner and staff will do their utmost to meet your needs.
If you choose to stay at the hotel, you will encounter nudity on the beach and it is not really for children. They will get bored. So will you, unless you bring a good book or two. (They actually have quite a selection at the hotel in English and German that other guests (including me) have left there.) I am going back again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trueblue56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

The location is quiet, clean and well run. The breakfast is all you need and served on the patio, overlooking a brilliant sea. The staff is pleasant and the owners provide anything you ask of them. This is a location for anyone who wants an easy, relaxing time in the sun. If additional entertainment is desired, Morro Jable is a ten minute ride to the south.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquinzo
0.0 mi away
Fuerteventura Princess
0.0 mi away
Robinson Club Esquinzo Playa
0.0 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
0.0 mi away
Esquinzo
Esquinzo
#3 of 5 in Esquinzo
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
SBH Club Paraiso Playa
SBH Club Paraiso Playa
#1 of 5 in Esquinzo
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Marina

Property: Monte Marina
Address: 8, 35626 Esquinzo, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Esquinzo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esquinzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Monte Marina Hotel Marabu
Monte Marina Fuerteventura, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing