We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“beautiful lodge”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The way to the lodge is very easy, 10 km befor Mariantal left, 20 km on the paved road and then a entrance gate on the left and just 3 km sandroad to the lodge.
Nice welcome with juice. We had luck and became rooms at the back and not the a room around the first pool. We had a beatifull view from our terrace. The room was huge, clean, cool and with moskitonet. We parked the car direct in the back of the buildung, so that we just need to carry our luggage 10 m.
The second pool is phantastic for sunset. We stayed 2 days, made sunrise and a sunset game drive. The are very nice. We also walked a few hours through the area, which is no problem, because there are no predators.
We also visited the dam 30 km away, but they are reconstructing the whole area, so that we had to pay there 9 € without any possibility to get on the other side of the dam to hike a little bit ( there should be some rhinos). So we left the dam 20 min. later.

The breakfast is good and the diner is also very god, but it is a fix menue. So that you have no choise, you get what all others also get (which is logical, when you have to provide min. 40-80 meals per evening). So if you are no kudu (antilope) fan and the main is kudu, you have to eat it. The eating area is outside below the stars.

As first lodge on our trip this was perfect, just 250 km from windhoek.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacques K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Kalahari Anib Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Kalahari Anib Lodge. The Hardap dam does not belong to the Gondwana Collection Namibia and thus we have no influence on the renovations that are being made there. Nevertheless, we hope that you enjoyed the hiking trails around the lodge and that you were able to see some animals on the game drives.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    237
    71
    14
    5
See reviews for
158
296
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A strange mix of hotel, lodge and motel frequented by large coach and overland groups, Kalahari Anib Lodge is a large, clean and pleasant facility sporting some 50+ rooms, two swimming pools, a restaurant and bar serving set menus and various game drive options.

Three campsites are available (N$150pppn) each with their own toilet, shower and shaded eating area, but lacking any shade for your tent or car.

Having originally booked to camp, we opted on arrival to switch to a room which was spacious & comfortable with air conditioning. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, even offering to bring our meal to the room despite there being no room service as such, in order that our toddler could get to sleep at a reasonable hour (evening meal is at a set time for everyone).

Food was plentiful and of a reasonable quality, though not cheap at N$220pp for evening meal and N$120pp for lunch, with no other option but to use their restaurant due to the location. That said, the evening meal is four courses, and they do offer (if you request it) half the number of courses for half the price.

A buffet-style breakfast was included in the room rate or N$780pppn. Once you've paid for your meals and room, a couple could easily be looking at N$2,240 per night without your drinks bill, so it mounts up pretty quickly.

Campers are welcome to use lodge facilities and a laundry service is available (important as there is no such facility in Mariental). We found the staff again very helpful in doing a 'rush job' for us at reasonable rates.

There is almost no shade parking at the facility - the provision of this would greatly improve it. It would also be an improvement to have comfortable chairs in the rooms, but there are just small metal/wooden ones at a small table - so it's that or the bed.

The atmosphere is more motel than lodge, and as a result people seemed less likely to interact and chat with others they didn't know. It's ok as an overnight stopover, though they face stiff competition from others in the area which may offer better value for money.

If it was called a motel, it would be one of the best you've stayed at. But the expectations if you use the word 'lodge' are higher.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepeckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Kalahari Anib Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback on the Kalahari Anib Lodge. We are pleased to hear that our staff could help you and make your stay a little more comfortable. Shaded parking for the cars is a great idea and we appreciate you mentioning this insufficiency, which gives us the possibility to improve things in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at one of the three campsite so we cannot fully assess the accomodations.
The campsites are simply great, in my view the best choice you will find in Namibia, and you may need to make a reservation quite early.
The rooms are much less directly located in the Kalahari, quite close to each other, several without a view into the Kalahari, and large tourists groups seem to visit this lodge. Thus, the really great Kalahari feeling we had may be lost if you sleep in one of these rooms.
The lodge itself is very nice, two pools, and the staff is very, very friendly.
Dinner quality was good, although I can confirm that the portions are not really big, and as a large male you may remain hungry.
The sundowner trip was very nice as well, you will see several animals and a great sunset and can drink a lot sundowners if you want.
A big advantage of this lodge is that you can walk around - no dangerous animals (drawback: you will not see such "dagnerous animals" on your walking trail, but Zebras, Oryx, Springboks, Gnus, ...). I agree, it is not comparable to Etosha, so I would prefer to start in the Kalahari (as we did) and then go to Etosha.

Room Tip: With view, not the ones which face the central pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xirxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Kalahari Anib Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comment on Kalahari Anib Lodge. We would like to emphasize again: Our service and kitchen staff are always prepared to serve a second helping on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Usually all trips through Namibia start from Windhoek to the south, and end at Etosha.
We did it the other way round, so we ended up at Kalahari Anib Lodge at the end of our trip.

The personel at the reception is very warm and friendly, but after some explanation about the lodge and the surroundings, before we saw our room, we have been asked to pay the evening before we leave, because this would be easier for us. I am not sure about this...

As we have stayed in some other lodges, we had some expectations, which have not been met at all. This can be due to the fact, that this was our last stop in Namibia, but we have seen other places for the same money, that very twice as good.

We did the sundowner game drive, and saw some aninmals, but if you have been to Etosha before, don´t do it! It cannot be compared to Etosha, and you will be disappointed, too.

The dinner starts at 8pm, straight, and is a four course set dinner.
We had buffets at other lodges for the same price, and we were lucky to have some food with us, which we could eat after dinner, as we were still hungry. The main course was cold, when it was served, and the vegetarian dish for my girlfriend was unenjoyable.
Breakfast was ok, but nothing more.

The pool, which was located directly in front of our room, not the main pool, was occupied by some bigger spiders.

The room was nice, the bed was ok, too, but we had some problems with some sort of bee (or other insect) which stung me during the night. The mosquito net in front of the windows had some wholes, and so we decided to sleep with AC on. This was the only night in Namibia which we slept with an AC.

We also had the feeling, that a lot of all in tourists are visiting this lodge, which makes it rather uninteresting for us. We like the more individual style.

So perhaps you should try out Red Dunes Lodge, which is nearby.
We will not go here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Kalahari Anib Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on Kalahari Anib Lodge. We apologize for our receptionist who obviously created some confusion concerning the payment. Usually the bill is presented in the morning before departure. Apologies also for the cold dinner, we plate the food directly from the kitchen to ensure that the food is hot. Something must have gone wrong in your case and we will look into it. The portions we serve are based on experience. For many guests the portions are too large to finish. We are always prepared to serve an extra helping on request. Our vegetarian dishes are usually commended by guests, but as we constantly vary our menu, we will also look into further improvements. Our breakfast buffet comprises several cereals, nuts, fruits, milk and yoghurt, jam, honey, peanut butter, bread and Rolls, home-made cheese and cold meat, decorated with tomatoes and cucumbers. Kalahari Anib Lodge is offering its guests a stay in the Kalahari. In September (Namibian spring) nature awakes, so do spiders and bugs and bees. We apologize for one of these creatures ending up in the pool or in a room from time to time. Although we constantly fix or replace the window nets we cannot prevent the odd bug finding its way into the rooms.

We regret that you did not enjoy the beauty of the Kalahari, characterized by red dunes, green acacias and yellow grass, and populated by Giraffe, Eland, Oryx, Springbok, Blue Wildebeest, Red Hartebeest, and Ostrich to name but a few. No matter whether at the end or start of a trip through Namibia, our nature drives with a Sundowner on top of a Kalahari dune and under the Southern Cross usually delight our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubiera, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent one night here and enjoyed the sundowner drive.
The Kalahari red sand, some animals and the sunset colors were worth the trip.
Too touristic, if compared with Dolomite Camp or Grootberg Lodge, but nice location with friendly staff and good rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idughi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level Contributor
148 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is another Gondwana lodge. Fortunately we had a room with a view, but there are a lot without- specially round the pool. This is quite a big lodge, so expect more group tourists than individual travellers. Staff is performing well, dinner and breakfast are o.k., although nothing special. We arrived too late for joining the sundowner- drive, but early morning drive was phantastic with a beautiful sunrise in the dunes and lot of game. Nice place for a one night stopover when heading south or north, but maybe a little bit overpriced (like all Gondwana lodges).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

When we were staying at the Anib lodge, we styed at the campsite. we had been driving for just under two weeks and the Anib had the best campsite out of all. It was secluded, had a private toilet block with hot water, and in the morning we even spotted a herd of horses running around. We even spotted a zebra running with the horses! We went for a gourmet dinner that night (which was delicious) and after dessert was served the waiter/esses came out and started singing and dancing for tips. The pool was wonderful and the staff where alway friendly. lovely place that was.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadiangurl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariental
16.3 mi away
Hardap Resort
Hardap Resort
#1 of 1 in Mariental
14 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
28.6 mi away
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mariental
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Kalahari Farmhouse
Kalahari Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Stampriet
139 reviews
24.7 mi away
Zebra Kalahari Lodge
Zebra Kalahari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Mariental
156 reviews
28.3 mi away
Suricate Kalahari Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Anib Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Anib Lodge

Property: Kalahari Anib Lodge
Address: About 30 Km Northeast of Mariental, Mariental, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Hardap Region > Mariental
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Mariental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kalahari Anib Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Anib Lodge lies like a lush green oasis in the midst of red Kalahari dunes. The restaurant and chalets are arranged around a shaded courtyard with a large swimming pool. 52 rooms(30 Twin Standard, 17 Twin Comfort and 5 Family Comfort Rooms) with a private veranda are available for tour groups. Located about 30 km northeast of Mariental the lodge makes for a perfect stopover on the way south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Kalahari Anib Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Anib Hotel Mariental
Kalahari Anib Lodge Namibia/Mariental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing