We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last stay after two week trip - we were disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Usually all trips through Namibia start from Windhoek to the south, and end at Etosha.
We did it the other way round, so we ended up at Kalahari Anib Lodge at the end of our trip.

The personel at the reception is very warm and friendly, but after some explanation about the lodge and the surroundings, before we saw our room, we have been asked to pay the evening before we leave, because this would be easier for us. I am not sure about this...

As we have stayed in some other lodges, we had some expectations, which have not been met at all. This can be due to the fact, that this was our last stop in Namibia, but we have seen other places for the same money, that very twice as good.

We did the sundowner game drive, and saw some aninmals, but if you have been to Etosha before, don´t do it! It cannot be compared to Etosha, and you will be disappointed, too.

The dinner starts at 8pm, straight, and is a four course set dinner.
We had buffets at other lodges for the same price, and we were lucky to have some food with us, which we could eat after dinner, as we were still hungry. The main course was cold, when it was served, and the vegetarian dish for my girlfriend was unenjoyable.
Breakfast was ok, but nothing more.

The pool, which was located directly in front of our room, not the main pool, was occupied by some bigger spiders.

The room was nice, the bed was ok, too, but we had some problems with some sort of bee (or other insect) which stung me during the night. The mosquito net in front of the windows had some wholes, and so we decided to sleep with AC on. This was the only night in Namibia which we slept with an AC.

We also had the feeling, that a lot of all in tourists are visiting this lodge, which makes it rather uninteresting for us. We like the more individual style.

So perhaps you should try out Red Dunes Lodge, which is nearby.
We will not go here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Kalahari Anib Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on Kalahari Anib Lodge. We apologize for our receptionist who obviously created some confusion concerning the payment. Usually the bill is presented in the morning before departure. Apologies also for the cold dinner, we plate the food directly from the kitchen to ensure that the food is hot. Something must have gone wrong in your case and we will look into it. The portions we serve are based on experience. For many guests the portions are too large to finish. We are always prepared to serve an extra helping on request. Our vegetarian dishes are usually commended by guests, but as we constantly vary our menu, we will also look into further improvements. Our breakfast buffet comprises several cereals, nuts, fruits, milk and yoghurt, jam, honey, peanut butter, bread and Rolls, home-made cheese and cold meat, decorated with tomatoes and cucumbers. Kalahari Anib Lodge is offering its guests a stay in the Kalahari. In September (Namibian spring) nature awakes, so do spiders and bugs and bees. We apologize for one of these creatures ending up in the pool or in a room from time to time. Although we constantly fix or replace the window nets we cannot prevent the odd bug finding its way into the rooms.

We regret that you did not enjoy the beauty of the Kalahari, characterized by red dunes, green acacias and yellow grass, and populated by Giraffe, Eland, Oryx, Springbok, Blue Wildebeest, Red Hartebeest, and Ostrich to name but a few. No matter whether at the end or start of a trip through Namibia, our nature drives with a Sundowner on top of a Kalahari dune and under the Southern Cross usually delight our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 771 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent one night here and enjoyed the sundowner drive.
The Kalahari red sand, some animals and the sunset colors were worth the trip.
Too touristic, if compared with Dolomite Camp or Grootberg Lodge, but nice location with friendly staff and good rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idughi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is another Gondwana lodge. Fortunately we had a room with a view, but there are a lot without- specially round the pool. This is quite a big lodge, so expect more group tourists than individual travellers. Staff is performing well, dinner and breakfast are o.k., although nothing special. We arrived too late for joining the sundowner- drive, but early morning drive was phantastic with a beautiful sunrise in the dunes and lot of game. Nice place for a one night stopover when heading south or north, but maybe a little bit overpriced (like all Gondwana lodges).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

When we were staying at the Anib lodge, we styed at the campsite. we had been driving for just under two weeks and the Anib had the best campsite out of all. It was secluded, had a private toilet block with hot water, and in the morning we even spotted a herd of horses running around. We even spotted a zebra running with the horses! We went for a gourmet dinner that night (which was delicious) and after dessert was served the waiter/esses came out and started singing and dancing for tips. The pool was wonderful and the staff where alway friendly. lovely place that was.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadiangurl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Very nice rooms although overpriced.
Dinner far too expensive and bad service.
Reception staff very welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mildredCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Kalahari Anib Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. The rate for B&B in May was N$ 700 per person sharing, which is in the medium price range for accommodation in Namibia. Kindly note, that the rate includes a contribution to our programs for ecological friendly management of our lodges and conservation efforts in our nature parks. At Kalahari Anib Lodge we are busy installing a water recycling plant in order to cover all watering needs in the garden by recycled wastewater. The dinner is priced at N$ 220 and consists of a 4 course set menu (starter, soup, main course, dessert). Your remark concerning the bad service has been forwarded to our lodge management. We are constantly training our staff, from the kitchen to the room service personnel, in order to offer a service with a smile - as our reception staff has delivered on your arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

a great hotel, stylish rooms, great animal reserved area, a great sun downer in the Kalahari Desert

Room Tip: I think all rooms are quite good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Really a very nice place to go if you just arrived in windhoek and picked up a car and don't want to stay in windhoek itself.

The campsites are clean and pretty isolated. This does mean quite a walk to the restaurant (which is a bit scary in the dark, bring a flashlight), but also very nice, since you probably will have a campsite with its own facilities just for yourself.

Food wat great, both dinner and breakfast. Shop is handy too (buy a sunhat, you will need it lateron the holiday). Special mention for the very nice small honey cakes they made at breakfast. They were like small peaces of heaven melting in your mouth.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KvBerloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariental
9.9 mi away
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
28.6 mi away
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mariental
287 reviews
37 mi away
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
#4 of 8 in Mariental
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
Kalahari Farmhouse
Kalahari Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Stampriet
149 reviews
24.7 mi away
Zebra Kalahari Lodge
Zebra Kalahari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Mariental
170 reviews
25 mi away
Africa Safari Lodge
Africa Safari Lodge
#6 of 8 in Mariental
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Anib Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Anib Lodge

Address: About 30 Km Northeast of Mariental, Mariental, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Hardap Region > Mariental
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Mariental
Price Range: $161 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kalahari Anib Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Anib Lodge lies like a lush green oasis in the midst of red Kalahari dunes. The restaurant and chalets are arranged around a shaded courtyard with a large swimming pool. 52 rooms(30 Twin Standard, 17 Twin Comfort and 5 Family Comfort Rooms) with a private veranda are available for tour groups. Located about 30 km northeast of Mariental the lodge makes for a perfect stopover on the way south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kalahari Anib Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Anib Hotel Mariental
Kalahari Anib Lodge Namibia/Mariental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing