We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hardap Resort(Mariental)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
183
87
19
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
87
19
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame lodgecheetah experiencewater holewatering holeenjoyed our staygravel roadbuffet suppersmall lakean ideal placeset menueprivate jacuzzibeautiful oasisrooms are cleanfriendly hostsawesome stayonly negative pointan overnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 301 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

When we arrived the door of the reception was locked. Ather while a lady came to unlock the door. And thoight we booked 2 nights, we we bookes and payed only 1. (??) We booked. Got a big Chalet, was clean and was near the Waterhole, which was empty. The lady told us the animals would there around 16.oo hours. (????) and yes then they get feeded, so they will come. Artificial!
We liked a drink but nobosy was there to serve us, when I ask one of the ladies, she looked if she saw water burning.
Supper was a set menu, but what, was a mistery to us, upon arrival at the table and then we were not told what it was. I have send before our diet requirement to the lodge. But No they did not do anything with it. So no diabetic menu in order and the soep was a fish , and that was a no go either. The rest was also a no go, and nothing else was there to eat. Also the girl who served us, could not serve, chewing gum and playing with her cellphone, was not interested in us at all.
So bad food.
Breakfast, hot and cold, but no unsweeted yogurt or juice!
When we wanted to leave, we had to wait a while to get the bill.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annemieke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

In March this year we visited Lapa Lange Lodge for a Weekend.
The Service was exellent. The Dinner we received was very good and a lot of effort was made to serve a Vegetarian Dish for my girlfriend.
The rooms are clean.
The setup is very neat and the garden (or rather park) is a dream.
We relaxed the whole afternoon in the pool enjoying the view towards the waterhole watching Rhinos, giraffe, springbock and more.
I have travelled to a lot of lodges in Namibia, this was by far the best I have experienced!
Will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Reading the other reviews I have the feeling these people where at a completly different place.
We were the only guests on the whole premises. The bathrooms had a terrible smell which was covered up with overspraying of stinky airfreshener. The Self Catering equipment was only brought after several requests. A stove was only offered shortly before we left although they had denied having one the previous day. There is no water available in the kitchen. The used glasses of our drinks in the restaurant were still there the next morning. Firewood is completly overpriced and if you need something after 5pm you have to search the whole premises to find someone in charge. The M29 had a lot of lorries driving that evening and this sounds as if a plane is landing in front of you....
The Rhinos who came in the evening almost to our room compensated the weak hospitality experience a bit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SabineSAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieter120, Owner at Lapa Lange Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear guest.

Thank you for your response. It is very bad for us that you did not enjoy your stay.

We have corrected the issues you had withe the self catering units and have equip them withe a full kitchen.

We are happy that you found the rhinos drinking in front of your room enjoyable.

Lapa Lange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We arrived late afternoon at Lapa Lange without a reservation, being exhausted from a long drive. Pieter and his dad came to welcome us, and we immediately felt at home. We camped for the 1st 2 nights, and then stayed in the chalets. Watching the rhino's being fed while you are in the pool or just relaxing on the terrace with a sundowner. Absolutely amazing! Dinner is a MUST!!!! Lapa Lange exceeded our expectations. Good luck to the de Lange family and their team! You are doing an excellent job!!!

Room Tip: Dinner was excellent
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HippoTraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

What an unforgettable experience!! The hospitality, the touch with nature, the luxury & comfortable accommodation (camp or lodge, etc), restaurant and bar that words can't describe! I will come again and will bring my whole family! Well done to oom Pieter you made sure all needs are covered at your lodge!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenkiePenkie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews