We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Otjitotongwe Cheetah Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Kamanjab
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I would highly recommend staying here. Our group of 9 stopped there and loved every moment of our stay. We camped and therefore can not comment on the private rooms (looked nice) but the camping facilaties were nice. We had the park to ourselves which is located right next to one of the enclosures where 3 cubs and their mother were kept. The enclosures are massive with plenty of space to roam. The highlight was of course the "tame" cheetah expierence; an unforgettable time spent playing and feeding the cheetahs on the lawn. We also fed the wild cheetahs which was a good reminder of how vicious these animals can be. I am pretty sure we didn't pay extra for the cheetahs. A highlight of our tour, ranked up there with Chobe National Park!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank barmstrong01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    16
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Big cats!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

First of all: of course you can argue that the big cats here are still kept in captivity. Yes, but they seem to be doing quite well. And most of the cats here were injured in the wild or kept as pets in houses before.
We started our visit at the farm house to learn a bit about cheetahs and their behavior before we all jumped on the back of a truck and went into the enclosure. The feeding took place in the late afternoon. When we came in the first cats of a group of a bout 20 started following the car. We circled for a bit until the group was complete. The feeding itself was handled by one of the farm owner's sons. It was exciting to see the cats jump for large chunks of meat. But it was also interesting to see that there was a hierarchical order and a certain fairness among the animals - everyone would only feed once and then move away from the rest of the group.
We spend the night on the farm's camp ground. The facilities are simple but there is an excellent bar - open only to guests :-)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
“AMAZING CHEETAH FARM”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I just returned from a 40 day trip from Dar es Salaam to Cape Town and stopped at the Otjitotongwe Cheetah Farm for a day. It was an AMAZING experience, not only because I was able to pet and sit/lay with the animals while they ate, but also because of the HISTORY of the farm.

Tollie and Roeleen Nel of Otjitotongwe Cheetah Park are the current owners of the farm, and which had been in the Nel family since 1931. The cheetah farm started due to a shocking 38 of their goats and sheep were killed by cheetahs in a mere month. They trapped the cheetahs and one of them gave birth to 5 baby cubs. 3 cubs survived and the Nel family kept them as pets and raised them with their dog(s). This inspired the family to dedicate their lives works to the preservation of this species. Hence, they established the Otjitotongwe Cheetah Park on their family farm. The park has extended an open offer to remove any problem cheetah, whether it has resorted to stock raiding or is likely to do so. For this the farmer is paid from $230 USD-$300 USD. If the Nels did not purchase the cheetah, farmers would be more inclined to shoot the animals and sell their skins or to sell the live cheetahs to trophy hunting farms. The captured cheetah is then transferred to the cheetah park, where they are released into an enclosure with other wild cheetahs after they have been in quarantine for 8-12 weeks. The park is now an enclosure of 620 acres, holding 25 wild cheetah. Imagine the work and money needed to feed and care for these beautiful animals... and don't forget about the pregnant females (which they have a separate huge enclosure for the pregnant females and their cubs.) The ultimate aim is to fence in the entire farm of 17,300 acres. This family has been preserving the cheetah population for many years and their children's children have been continuing to work on the farm. The Nel family is conserving the cheetah population. What a truly amazing experience this was.
Jackie / Tampa, FL

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jackieschwab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Concerned for the welfare of the cheetahs”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Disappointed in conflicting information about the welfare of the cheetahs in our recent visit to Otijitotongwe Cheetah Park. Described by tour leader problem cheetahs caught from nearby farms were brought to the farm for rehabilitation and then release to near by National Parks. Only to find the 15 animals were confined to limited space and forced to "beg" for food while ute loads of tourists took pictures with the cheetahs jumping and fighting over dead meat. These normally solitary animals were forced to live together with many of their instincts of hunting down prey taken away from them.
The campground was somewhat neglected and noisy with the bar close and party goers singing well into the morning, keeping the majority of our family tour awake.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Great to see Cheetahs so close up”
Reviewed December 1, 2010

I was with an overland tour group and we just came here for a day visit. this is a family run business so it isnt very big and seems quite busy. First there was the introduction telling you about the farm, its cheetahs, etc. Then was the bit where you could touch the cheetahs, but they are not as friendly as you think. They kept making everyone jump and no one really seemed comfortable touching them. Especially as there is only 1 small spot where you are allowed to touch them and if they move you have to get up quickly with the guide yelling at everyone "do this, no no no, do this". After this, we all piled into 4x4s (there were about 6 in total to accommodate all the tourists) to watch the cheetahs being fed. Seeing how fast they are and the noises they make as they fight for food was good to watch. But the family didnt seem too friendly and it all seemed to be over too quickly. However, I would only recommend it because the money you pay helps the cheetahs that are there. It wasnt an overall fantastic experience or anything though.

Helpful?
3 Thank Camacho87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otjitotongwe Cheetah Park also viewed

 
Waterberg Plateau Park, Otjozondjupa Region
 

Been to Otjitotongwe Cheetah Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing