We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the new akosombo continental hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Akosombo Continental Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Akosombo
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I have been a frequent visitors to akosombo and sometimes we stayed in the continental hotel over the years two years ago. We realize the hotel was gradually going down but last week we took a second look at the place and saw renovations going on there it grab our curiosity so we asked and was told it used to be under an indian management and now the Indian has been kicked out and its under a new management a Ghanaian and a Dutch man and so far they are doing a very good work the place is taking back its glory and i hope they do more to bring all the animals back and the new continental is really impressive, Check it out yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ghanaian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 21 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

After I read the reviews I was expecting the worst but to my suprise it was veryyyy enjoyable. The management was nice the staff were on point the rooms clean and the pool was awesome. The food is very good . And tge view is fantastic . My husband and friends and I had a lovely time especially in the evening we swam da hole night :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hannahcaptan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I checked into this hotel late at night,the reception tried to keep my change,when i demanded my change she was not pleased,i did not get my change untill 2 days later when i went back to the recption and demanded for it.Room service charge officially cost 2ghc but on this time,this lady told me its 5ghc when i went her to verify i was told its 2ghc she was ashamed.The bathroom has not been cleaned for ages and it was uncomfortable taking a shower,but its has a wonderful outdoor with river and breathtaking secnes.It goes on to show that staff are dishonest and i urge people to be carefull of personal belongings.I was there in October 2012.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor is not safe as river lizards can stray easily into your room.Mosquitoes ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We came here as a last resort as I had already seen poor reviews about this hotel and sadly it lived up to its underwhelming reputation. The reception staff was unfriendly, unhelpful and then tried to keep the change from my payment. Very unimpressive.

The smelly room had loose wires dangling from the walls and plug sockets were loose and hanging away from the wall. There was a dangerous and uncared look about the place. Oh and the charming free extra was the rat hanging about outside our door and its friends scuttling across the restaurant floor.

The price is easily double what is indicated here. DO NOT MAKE A RESERVATION.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PoupouneLeighonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I would recommend this place to any one it is quite the scenery is fantastic on the river the roooms are clean and the resturant food is great a mixture of local and Indian, The service was not too bad most of the staff was nice. The small zoo just needs a little more maintainace and and the jet keys needs fitting how ever you can get a boat to the dam or the village for a reasonable fee. i enjoyed my stay and will return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

To anybody thinking of staying at this hotel DONT of all the places we have been in the world this Hotel,is the very worst its management and staff are the worst on the face of the planet. It is dangerous when you have a shower you get a electric current feeling on the tap the television is plugged in by two bare wires wires are hanging loose and free from lighting. In the public toilet the sink has no taps and forget about toilet roll I dont think they know the word. The staff are the most rude ignorant and if you are from the western world you are judged by your colour In normal modern thinking in the world we call it racism and this hotel has a abundance of that. So please take this advice STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE.....

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
16  Thank mw00311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Let me first say if you intend staying in akosombo go to the volta hotel. Its 30usd more but the facilities are far superior and well worth the extra money. Ok so the review of the akosombo continental. Never have i seen such bad mannered disgusting service. The people who work there really fell from another planet. They are unfriendly. We arrived early and wanted breakfast. Well 10 ghc gets you 3 cocktail sausages, an egg so over cooked that if you threw it on the floor its bounce back in your face and knock you out, 3 baked beans in lizzard vomit and a slice of half cooked toasts and not only that it was cold when it came. The location is nice and to be honest is the only decent thing going for the place. The grounds are ok at best. The pool is dirty and myself and my wife feel cheated and disapointed. We wish we had spend the extra 30 to stay at the volta hotel. Really folks - can't stress enough. Its like comparing a cheese sandwich to haute cuisine. For the people from the uk your paying easily 70quid for a room that is nowhere near the standard of travel logde. Last note. They charge in dollars but expect payment in ghc and they have an exchange rate heavily in their favour. Totally disgusting. Volta hotel - million times better. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? I wouldn't recommend it to a street dog.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank jeeveywonder1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akosombo
1.6 mi away
The Royal Senchi
The Royal Senchi
#1 of 4 in Akosombo
345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afrikiko River Front Resort
0.0 mi away
Tsarley Korpey Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Volta Serene Hotel
4.5 mi away
Volta Hotel Akosombo
Volta Hotel Akosombo
#3 of 7 in Akosombo
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lansdown
The Lansdown
#1 of 6 in Aburi
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akosombo Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akosombo Continental Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 277, Akosombo, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Eastern Region > Akosombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Akosombo
Price Range: $113 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Akosombo Continental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Akosombo Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing