We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Volta Hotel Akosombo
Ranked #3 of 9 Akosombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over for our honeymoon. Apart from a few problems with the AC on the first night we were properly compensated with a very nice and spacious suite the following morning. We also enjoyed the cruise on the volta river. The weather was perfect out there.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kay2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel provides a perfect view of the spectacular Lake Volta, world's largest man-made lake, as well as the Akosombo dam. Nice food. I took nicely made Tilapia fish. They also serve other continental and Ghanian delicacies. Smooth road to Accra which is about one and a half hour drive. Good experience

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Okowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were very pleased at the service and cleanliness of this hotel. Turning on the lights and other electrical appliances was a bit confusing, and it wasn't stated in the room information. But, a call to the front desk got quick service.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a good view of the dam. I suggest a room number in the 30's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We came to the Volta Hotel somewhat by accident after a most unpleasant experience at Afrikiko. Our room was small, but not uncomfortably so with a balcony & nice view of the river. The water was nice & hot. The air conditioner worked wonderfully well so that we had two good night's sleep. Although the breakfasts were quite good, the one dinner we ate was pretty dreadful. The "t-bone" steaks we asked to be served medium rare were over-cooked, very thin and uncomfortably heavily salted. Curiously, the ice cream I had for dessert was already melting when it was served. It was either not well frozen or it was put in a warm dish. It tasted OK. Although I was able to connect to the hotel wifi system, there was no internet connection. On the other hand, the hotel provided internet connection without cost on their own computers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The staff are friendley, rates are reasonable and food is good. The hotel itself is clean and the scenary overlooking the Volta lake is awesome. One downside is the rooms are slightly cramped so great for short trips. The siwmming pool was being renovated but lloks very promising.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yuvi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you stay long enough to enjoy the view, this hotel is just fine. The service is slow but very friendly. The restaurant offers a good selection but the waiters can't handle large orders well. The rooms are adequate and quite dated. The hotel can't accommodate special request.

Room Tip: Make sure your room views the lake. Enjoy the balcony. Breakfast is very basic but was tasty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

hotel is badly run down. toilets are leaking. service is very bad. staff are not friendly. food is not good either. wifi service is horrible. rooms are very old and need upgrading. but the views are great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank afrequenttraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akosombo
5.7 mi away
The Royal Senchi
The Royal Senchi
#1 of 4 in Akosombo
348 reviews
4.5 mi away
Akosombo Continental Hotel
0.0 mi away
Afrikiko River Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tsarley Korpey Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Volta Serene Hotel
0.0 mi away
Villa Cisneros Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volta Hotel Akosombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volta Hotel Akosombo

Address: 1 Akosombo Comm, Akosombo, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Eastern Region > Akosombo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Akosombo
Price Range: $139 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Volta Hotel Akosombo 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jovago.com so you can book your Volta Hotel Akosombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing