We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“escape the 'chaos'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Axim Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Axim Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Axim
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“escape the 'chaos'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

we stayed at axim beach hotel twice, in october and november 09 and loved it. our room was clean and fresh, overlooking the rocky beach. on the other side, the swimming beach was safe and clean and our three year old son loved the playground. the staff were wonderful and friendly. we stayed in a double with fan and ensuite (US$30 per nite), don't need air con with the sea breeze. the best things: you can drink the tap water (it's pumped from 60 metres under the ground) the buffet breakfast is included, kids are free and it's peaceful and safe. of all the hotels we stayed at in ghana, axim beach hotel was the best value for money. we will definitely stay ther again when we return to ghana.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anitayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    42
    22
    9
    8
See reviews for
28
34
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas, although we were on a birdwatching holiday (very early mornings and nights) so couldn't really take advantage of all of the seasonal celebrations that had been laid on. Despite this the staff were still there for our 4.30 breakfasts even though they had been working till midnight on the previous day. This was a typical example to the attitudes to service that we consistently found at this hotel.

The position is excellent with a great swimming beach and bar easily accessible, some rockpools to examine and woodland to seek out local birdlife. (For those interested Reichenbach's Sunbird was observed breeding in the grounds - this is a scarce species.)

The rooms were very comfortable and spacious with great showers, comfortable beds, TV and aircon. The beach parties could hardly be heard and the sounds of the seas lulled us to sleep every night.

I would recommend anyone visiting the West Coast to try the Axim Beach for at least a couple of nights - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

Stayed a few years ago, but just logged on to see how it stacks up on tripadvisor - and noticed there were no reviews! I honestly loved this place. It's worth leaving Accra for some great beaches (so SO much cleaner), nice dining with good food in an open air dining area overlooking the ocean...and we got the family sized chalet that faced right out over the cliffs. Cool stone showers, rustic but pretty design, and crazy intense local wine served in the bar. All in all, I would say this place is definitely worth making a special journey for. Secluded and quiet. Just watch out wandering into the woods off the resort grounds - particularly as an unaccompanied female. We had 2 run-ins with a guy exposing himself (among other things) for our "benefit". Not the hotels fault, obviously.
When i was there, you could also pitch a tent to save money, and I would also recommend this for budget travelers as the grounds are quiet and stunning and would be quite comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontohorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

Hello, Jonas

For all of you that may not know Jonas is the owner of Axim Beach Hotel. He is hard to miss. He is in the resturant daily to host the guests and he can do it in many languages. It is not a place in the Western Region to be missed. He has been my host since 2005. I travel to Axim for several months each year for a 2-3 month stay and priviledged to call Axim Beach my home in West Africa. He even nursed me through malaria dreams.

Patricia Gick
Pennsylvania

  • Liked — Jonas
  • Disliked — tiny red ants
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank axxiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

We booked Axim beach hotel for 9 nights based on their website and the reviews here. We were a bit worried as we had previously stayed in 2 hotels which were more expensive and rather shabby. But we were not disappointed. As soon as we walked in we relaxed. Tables dotted around the grassy hillside overlooked a dramatic and the cottages to the right lay beside the path down to the beach, each with their own veranda and view of the sea.
The attention to detail was impressive. Rooms were spotless, with tv, fridge and aircon. The room and bed were a good size - much bigger than they look in the photos we had seen.
Staff were always friendly and keen to please. The choice of food was very good too - even for vegetarians like us.
We will be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mcamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2007

At first the site [-]

A great stay, now Internet facilities (satelite), more rooms between 9 and 90 $. Food could be better, but however. If you come to Ghana and you miss this place : SHAME on you. Transport with Taxi from Accra was around 80$ (for a 5 hour journey). Otherwise take STC to Takoradi (6 $) and Tro Tro to Axim (2$) don't forget to take a excellent meal and a fresh draft beer at the NORTHSEA Restaurant in Takoradi (close to the STC Station.)

  • Liked — Away from the Plastic rooms other hotels.
  • Disliked — Hard to find.
  • Tips/Secrets — Send greatings from Michael and Noah
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Noahpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2006

Axim Beach Hotel may not be the easiest place to find (about six hours west of Accra) but it is well worth the trip. When you pull up in the car you immediately see the breathtaking views of the palm trees and huge ocean waves.

The hotel is set on a tall hill overlooking the ocean. So, almost any of the chalets have a great view of the beach. And we loved that you can hear the roar of the ocean as you fall asleep at night. And in the distance you can see the local fisherman coming and going. We also heard that if the season is right you can see whales spouting in the distance too!

The hotel has two restaurants, one on top of the hill and one on the beach. We enjoyed eating at both. The food was pretty good. The beach itself has soft white sand. Although you must be a pretty good swimmer to get to deep in the water. The tide can be strong. But they have great beach chairs and will deliver drinks to you on the beach.

This is a great spot for a little R&R where all your problems melt away!

  • Liked — The view and sunsets are spectacular
  • Disliked — Far from Accra
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank advtrsrmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axim
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Takoradi Select
Protea Hotel by Marriott Takorad...
#2 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
67.7 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 8 in Cape Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afrikiko River Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pemicsa Hotel
Pemicsa Hotel
#35 of 91 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ankobra Beach Resort
15.8 mi away
Akwidaa Inn
Akwidaa Inn
#1 of 1 in Akwidaa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axim Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axim Beach Hotel

Property: Axim Beach Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 180, Axim, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Western Region > Axim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Axim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Axim Beach Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Axim Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing