We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic oasis to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ankobra Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ankobra Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Axim
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic oasis to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We enjoyed an oasis of privacy and rest with first class service and food. Our nice designed chalet offered all needed comfort and we loved the restaurant and the very helpful team. Within a wonderful nature we found also very interesting concepts of soft tourism, environment protection connected with local area development. Next time we will stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    30
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
25
38
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

If you are in Ghana and want to enjoy the beach in an exclusive environment: this is the place to go.
The beach is beautiful and well kept and the premises of the resort are spectacular. Wonderful gardens and very stilish and comfortable rooms and huts.

Service is outstanding! All staff is very friendly and do their best to make you stay as comfortable as possible. Little anecdote: I trashed my flip-flops and the assistant manager just donated me her beautiful sandals! :) I was also generously given several plants for my own little garden in Accra and have now a piece of Ankobra Beach Resort in my own home.

Last but not least: the foooood! Creative, local, fresh and absolutely delicous!

I cant wait for my next chance to go there again!

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

you're happy when you arrive in this paradisiac protected part of ocean coast. The thick green carpet floats under coconut trees, colorful bushes are all around, bungalows are perfect, only a german lady who rules this paradise never smile, she is too serious with guests - she's maybe too proud of her perfectly ruled place. I prefer if she should be slightly more charismatic, like her daughter.
Go down to the ocean, lay down and listen ocean music made by waves breaking foam head on sand.
The Cabernet Sauvignon from South Africa was perfect - we drank 4 bottles to accompany our two lunches.
The breeze in restaurant is a great pleasure, it's never hot, it is much more hot around bungalows but AC works good. When it works !!!!, we had some serie of breaks of electricity which deranged AC engine, but fan worked.
Anyway - you have made a good choice to be here…….

Room Tip: all bungalows are OK, bigger ones are with our balcony, but you have so much space that you do not n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amoureux a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have stayed in Ankobra beach for 7 days and I cannot remember one place where it is as beautiful as it is here.
The beach is amazing, like painted - it is really authentic with everything a real beach needs. There are little pavillions self made by the locals, there is always a beach bed available (as it is not crowded), the staff brings you mojitos and food. It is even possible to have dinner at the beach. In the night times they even light a fire. After dinner you can chill at the beach bar or on one of the tables. Of course it is also possible to eat in the restaurant.
The staff is really friendly. After a few days you start remembering their names and having small chats with them about like everything. It is a such a nice atmosphere in the resort. You feel almost home. The management Assistant Larissa is always around and cares about you in a really warm and familiar manner. And you can have a lots of fun with that girl....(the "real" Management was not around - they seemed to have holiday)
I would always always always come back as I had an unbelievable good time here I won't ever forget.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

All around this was an excellent place to stay. The service was friendly and went out of their way to help us. Every food item was tasty. The hotel and grounds are kept well clean. The location is beautiful and peaceful, with plenty of activities around. This is a place to recommend to our friends to visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a different special location to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhema G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Ankobra Beach Resort is one of the most peaceful and quite resort I’ve been at. That’s not just because of the fantastic nature around, which is as beautiful as expected, it’s because of Ines and Klaus, who run this place and the huge stuff around, who make you feel special und taking cared of. Ankobra Beach is for sure a jewel on our earth and they make it shine for us. In that five days we’ve been there, we had wonderful breakfasts at the beach, extended excellent tasting meals while great sunsets, and the best Pina Coladas ever. There is nothing to say left; may be one good think: even there was a kind of a problem, it was solved right away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EsiGhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

(from an American perspective) This may be the best beach resort in Ghana. It has character, seclusion, management that care, and a beautiful beach. I say "for Ghana" because this is not a Caribbean, Fijian, Grenadine, or French Polynesian beach, nor resort. You won't find the refinement, nor the blue water that you find in those places, but you will find cabana/hut/bungalows with thatched roofs on a lovely, quiet and CLEAN (not always the case in Ghana) beach. Electricity may be on generator at times, and it can be hot and sticky, but a breeze or a fan will cool you off. Food is thoughtful and dining room is open air, but flavor was just okay when I visited, but the owner assured me she would look into why. Prices for Ghana were a little on the high side (get what you pay for).The ocean can be a bit murky with sand, but the waves are good enough to do a little body surfing or attempts on boards (small to med waves). Service (again, good for Ghana) is attentive, but not overwhelmingly so. Bungalow (executive/family) was a 2 room/1 bathroom; one room had A/C, one only a ceiling fan--very clean. Suggest you bring your own pillow if firm pillows are not your thing, and a reading light if you plan to read indoors (room was dim). I took my own drinking water (none was provided). Overall, the peacefulness and attention given the resort are a breath of fresh air in Ghana...and the character of the place is inviting. It's a long trafficy drive from Accra (7 hours), so break your trip up, or fly to Takoradi and then drive from there.

Room Tip: Executive/Family chalet had charm and 2 bedrooms, but only 1 toilet and only one room w/ A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axim
2.5 mi away
Axim Beach Hotel
Axim Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Axim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 8 in Cape Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Takoradi Select
Protea Hotel by Marriott Takorad...
#2 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Afrikiko River Front Resort
19.0 mi away
Akwidaa Inn
Akwidaa Inn
#1 of 1 in Akwidaa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
78.6 mi away
Biriwa Beach Hotel
Biriwa Beach Hotel
#6 of 23 in Cape Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ankobra Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankobra Beach Resort

Property: Ankobra Beach Resort
Address: 1 Old Axim Road | Axim, Axim 0079, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Western Region > Axim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Axim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ankobra Beach The picturesque lodge Ankobra Beach offering 16 generously -planned circular bungalows lies on one of the most beautiful beaches of Ghana's west coast. This is, paradise found' for the discerning traveller in search of a time and place beyond the tired offerings of package deal tourism. The German management and their dedicated team aim to build a bridge between Africa and Europe. Relaxation, Lifestyle, Adventure, Professional Hospitality, excellent Dining and superb Service are a matter of course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ankobra Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ankobra Beach Hotel Axim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing