We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ankobra Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ankobra Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Axim
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ankobra Beach”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 days here and really enjoyed it. The setting just above the beach is very peaceful, with lots of colourful birds and lizards around. The beach is clean, but always rather rough for swimming. There's a lovely walk westwards to the headland with a wonderfully secluded spot. The restaurant offered a good choice of local and european food, especially excellent fish dishes; although it is located outdoors we had no insect problems, even at night. The little chalet we had was well fitted out, had air conditioning and ensuit facilities.
There were plenty of day trips which were arranged by the hotel:
1. The Ankobra River, this was a 2 hour trip up the river and exploring the mangroves. The canoe was paddled by 2 locals who were quite energetic. Afterwards we explored the nearby village at the mouth of the river; this was most interesting.
2. The Ankasa National Park; we were taken by taxi for a 2 hour walk through the rain forest (we were in the dry season) and saw a variety of huge trees but few birds and no animals.Still a memorable experience
3. The Nzulezu stilt village, again using the same taxi and completing the journey by canoe. We made an 8am start and got there ahead of the crowds which was a big bonus. You need to avoid photographing locals without their permission, bu plenty of opportunities here. The canoe trip through the freshwater reeds was another highlight.
4. The old fort at Axim, we walked along the beach for a mile or so, then through a village and on to Axim town itself. The old fort was interesting, but its history of slavery was very disturbing. We had the place to ourselves, with a helpful local guide who escorted us from the entrance gate. Afterwards we also looked around the town, with good views of the colourful fishing fleet.
5. Finally the grounds of the resort itself had several good walks: there is an old Portuguese fort on the headland above the resort. This was reached via a small path which led through the jungle to the resort's vegetable garden. We we told we needed a "guide" for this path: he was reluctant to take us the whole way, so we did it several times unaided! There is a fine view across the bay to Axim from the fort, and across the Ankobra River estuary in the other direction. It also has a good view of sunset.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wembury406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    31
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
25
40
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great hotel resort in Ghana, ideal to stay on the way to visit Nzulezo and Tacoradi.
Impression to be in a small village, in front of the seaside, really friendly staff, always ready to play cards or games if the sky is grey, great breakfast with the feet in the water and dinner around a campfire on the beach! highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lili M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I spent a long weekend over the new year at this resort:
1. It is a small resort, very efficient and well run. The owners make sure everything is done properly and quickly. Very good German organization:-)
2. The beach is endless, It is long and secluded! it is never crowded and the beach is very clean unlike the beaches in Accra.
3. The food is very good and the service is equally lovely! Th
This is a wonderful place to relax and spend some quality time with loved ones.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKDGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Good place for relaxation and ideal for a hermit. Lodging and food above average. Staff very helpful and friendly. Place is goes dead after sun down. Not ideal for partying types. For modern day kids take some video games to keep them occupied. All in all if you want your island from a hectic world excellent place to hide.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The beach is big and clean, with nicely placed loungers under the coconut palms, the rooms are well-maintained and nicely decorated and the food is good. Best of all, everything works (plumbing, AC)! My favourite beach resort in Ghana so far. One thing to improve: we would have appreciated internet access (wifi), at least in the restaurant if not in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Ankobra Beach resort is a beautiful place situated at a great beach! The managers do care a lot about environment and run interesting projects considering environment. The food is excellent and always prepared and served with love. The bungalows are very comfortable, spacious and very well equipped (exactly as they are shown in the pictures of their homepage. It is also a very nice place to stay with children. They have a playground. The reception offers a little library (books mostly in german) and a lot of games.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beautiful_Ghana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

. At Ankobra Beach Resort, my husband and I REALLY really relaxed and rested. The beach is beautiful with a short walk along it to Axim. Our bungalow was very comfortable and private with artful touches. We had just completed our first rather demanding week in Ghana, and the three nights we spent there felt like a honeymoon getaway with perfect r&r before our upcoming and final week of travel. The first day there, we just rested, read, ate, swam and walked into Axim. The second day, the resort helped us hire a driver to go the location to paddle out to Nzulezo - the stilt village, followed by a tour of Fort Apollonia with its small but very informative museum. We ate all our meals at Ankobra Resort and enjoyed the classic/ timeless feel of the place and the diverse menu. The staff was friendly and incredibly helpful with sorting out travel logistics. The manager/couple was also very friendly, while at the same time respecting our privacy. The staff, in fact, are participants in a development training program for residents of the nearby village. This is just one of the many local socially responsible projects initiated by the resort managers Ines and Klaus Aurnhammer. The food was great. The recorded music in restaurant was great, too. Coming from the US, I found the water there more powerful than I was used to, and my husband who likes to body surf did a bit of that but not enough. Our last afternoon at Ankobra, Ines pointed out a modest hike up a hill that provides chaises at the top and an impressive view of the meeting of the ocean and Ankobra River. We are recommending Ankobra to friends who live in Accra as a great getaway for them, too.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank judyb1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axim
3.5 mi away
Axim Beach Hotel
Axim Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Axim
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Takoradi Select
Protea Hotel by Marriott Takorad...
#2 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afrikiko River Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tsarley Korpey Beach Resort
23.5 mi away
Busua Waves Resort
Busua Waves Resort
#1 of 1 in Busua
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tenack Beach Resort
Tenack Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Beyin
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ankobra Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankobra Beach Resort

Property: Ankobra Beach Resort
Address: 1 Old Axim Road | Axim, Axim 0079, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Western Region > Axim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Axim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ankobra Beach The picturesque lodge Ankobra Beach offering 16 generously -planned circular bungalows lies on one of the most beautiful beaches of Ghana's west coast. This is, paradise found' for the discerning traveller in search of a time and place beyond the tired offerings of package deal tourism. The German management and their dedicated team aim to build a bridge between Africa and Europe. Relaxation, Lifestyle, Adventure, Professional Hospitality, excellent Dining and superb Service are a matter of course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ankobra Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ankobra Beach Hotel Axim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing