We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading publicity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ankobra Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Axim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Be aware that the advertising literature for this hotel is very misleading. They say they have bike hire but only have one bike for hire and they also say they have watersports when they don't (save that there is the sea and there would be nothing to stop you surfing I guess bar the aggressive waves). There is only one restaurant and whilst the food is lovely and they are happy to adapt for vegetarians it is not cheap and there are no other conveniently located places to eat. However, the rooms were lovely and are dotted around the beautiful grounds and the beach is tranquil, clean and empty. Just be aware that there is no swimming pool (for some reason we had expected one - perhaps implied by the word "resort") and although there are various excursions on offer (we did one to the Nzulezo stilt village) they are not that cheap. Not a place to choose if you do not like snakes (there are snakes in the grounds and we saw one on the door to our hut!) but not a bad base to visit the stilt village from. We cut short our stay to two nights and then headed for the Green Turtle in Akwidaa which is far better value and much nicer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jc2010London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 120 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

We were initially attracted to Ankobra from the leaflet we received and the website we viewed.
Whilst Ankobra is a scenic place to visit, we were slightly disappointed. The staff, although being friendly weren’t particularly attentive. On arrival we found that our room had a problem with the plumbing and we didn’t have running water until the morning. There was also a mix up with the package deal that was advertised on the website and the staff didn’t seem to be aware of what we were entitled to for our evening meal. When this mix up was resolved, we were offered a set evening meal that certainly didn’t meet the “gourmet” promise. When we came to checkout our bill was also wrong and we had to trace back our e-mail trail to prove the agreement. In fairness though, the manager of Ankobra Beach, Ines, was very quick to respond to these issues, once raised, and went out of her way to resolve them and meet our satisfaction.
The accommodations are very nice “round houses” which are well decorated and have a fridge and air conditioning, although our room was very dark, even with the lights on I struggled to read.
The restaurant offered excellent European food which was prepared well and was tasty.
The beach could have benefitted from being cleaned of the palm tree debris washed ashore, albeit that we were visiting during the off-peak rainy season. The waters were very turbulent and more akin to surfing than swimming.
We were really looking forward to this weekend break but were quite disappointed with the catalogue of mishaps and confusion.
We wouldn’t rush back – Sorry Ankobra!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nuclearman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This is truly an amazing resort. The beach is easily one of the most stunning and pristine beaches I have ever enjoyed. Unlike Accra, cape coast or even busua, this beach is clean and uncrowded, with no rubbish or hawking. Throughout our three day stay we had the beach almost exclusively to ourselves, only sharing it with a few other guests and the resort owner Claus, who generously offered a few pointers to us rookie surfers.

The food was very well done, certainly up to western standards, though the isolated locale of the resort means that items on the menu are often not available. The staff was fantastic, and was pleased to oblige our requests to eat our meals at the beach. They were attentive but not imposing, and truly made you feel welcome.

The bungalows were impeccably clean and well maintained, with plenty of hot water and a warm, cozy feel to them.

Overall this is a remarkable, charming place, and a fantastic beach addition to any trip to the region.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobartcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this lovely and tranquil spot. It was, by far, the best place we stayed during our time in Ghana, with the most beautiful unspoilt beach.
If you are looking for a laid-back beach holiday in somethiing approaching paradise you should definitely consider Ankobra (if you are looking for bars and nightlife this is not the spot). They do offer outings and activities, though, which were really nice and not 'too touristy' - the canoeing to the ancient stilt village made for a great day.
The food was good; the beach huts, spacious, clean and attractive; the staff helpful and friendly.
It is not at all like a 'faceless resort', much more a boutique hotel with that level of care and service. So, it's well worth making the effort to stray a bit from the beaten track and head towards Axim.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-Anya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Travelling along the coast line, we stayed for three days in one of the circular bugalows, and added another one because of the very pleasant atmosphere at Ankobra Beach. The bungalows are situated in a great garden with flowers and trees; with sea view.
It is a place to relax, with the white sand beach at 50 meters from your home. We have enjoyed dinner in the african-type restaurant. The menu is very attractive - a variety of African and European dishes - the food is delicious.
At the beach front, the resort had arranged for shady spots. Lazily you can strech out on the beachchairs.
With the help of the friendly staff, we made several trips in the region; their advise was useful and to the point.
To sum up, the place is worth visiting; we definitely intend to go back there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jai_coolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

On my way from Accra to Ankobra I was glad that the surroundings started changing (from stressful noisy gray to relaxing green environments) with the regions. Once at the resort I was welcomed in the friendliest way by the staff members and the management who surely made my stay memorable. The service over there is superb (there is also beach and room service!), the nature is amazingly untouched, the white sandy beach is beautiful and inviting for relaxation, yoga and water sports, the culinary treats are amazing, the rooms are stylish and clean and if eventually you get bored of maybe too much relaxation you can go on one of the interesting tours to the stilt village or the ankasa reserve for example or request an entertainment show or participate in one of the workshops (arts & crafts, drumming, beading, etc.).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frangi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Spend a great long weekend at Ankobra, clean, unfussy chalets nicely done up with local prints, excellent food and a lovely beach which we happily swam from every day. There was never more than one other family on the beach during the day and the rocks at one end provided interest.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oguns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axim
3.5 mi away
Axim Beach Hotel
Axim Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Axim
131 reviews
19.0 mi away
Akwidaa Inn
Akwidaa Inn
#1 of 1 in Akwidaa
4 reviews
23.5 mi away
Busua Waves Resort
Busua Waves Resort
#1 of 1 in Busua
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Green Zion Garden Ecolodge
Green Zion Garden Ecolodge
#3 of 26 in Sekondi-Takoradi
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Busua Inn
Busua Inn
#1 of 6 in Busua
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fanta's Folly
Fanta's Folly
#2 of 6 in Busua
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ankobra Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankobra Beach Resort

Address: 1 Old Axim Road | Axim, Axim 0079, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Western Region > Axim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Axim
Price Range: $31 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ankobra Beach The picturesque lodge Ankobra Beach offering 16 generously -planned circular bungalows lies on one of the most beautiful beaches of Ghana's west coast. This is, paradise found' for the discerning traveller in search of a time and place beyond the tired offerings of package deal tourism. The German management and their dedicated team aim to build a bridge between Africa and Europe. Relaxation, Lifestyle, Adventure, Professional Hospitality, excellent Dining and superb Service are a matter of course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ankobra Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ankobra Beach Hotel Axim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing