We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint quiet hotel in a beautiful part of the Alsace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel l'Abbaye d'Alspach
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kientzheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We spent a night in this quaint, quiet hotel in beautiful Kientzheim, adjacent to the very interesting town of Colmar. Our room wasn't spectacularly appointed but was comfortable, with a nice but non-private terrace overlooking Alsace vines. The breakfast was copious and good. We dined at Cote Vigne, a three-minute walk from the hotel. We can highly recommend a stay in this hotel, as there are so many beautiful villages surrounding it.

Room Tip: We couldn't hear the church bells, mentioned in other reviews, from our room. Probably a good i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 189 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Cosy hotel located in the quaint little village of Kientzheim, very beautiful. Friendly staff, good sized rooms and clean. Breakfast buffet was fine. Good value for money, village has a couple of restaurants and a number of wine tasting outlets all walking distance from the hotel, however the nearest supermarket and shops are a short drive.

Room Tip: We took a deluxe double so had a little sitting room, plus fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjmortons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The experience of living in a beautifully renovated old abbey was marvellous. The design decisions in this renovation and the quality of workmanship are excellent and, as a person interested in these things, I derived added enjoyment. Our bathroom for example was as modern as anything one sees, yet also compatible with the older architecture of the abbey. On practical matters, everything was comfortable and up to standard. Moreover the village of Kientzheim is a small gem, but so close to other larger towns that are also very attractive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredofSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel good localised. To expensive for what is offered. What you miss here is so nice Alsace mentality. One lady on the reception and one lady in the breakfast room is the max number of people you will see here. Please also note Kientzheim has a church who ring bells every 15 min. Day and night. For that amount of money you can find better places for sure

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldpapaatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

...but it isn't. The village is lovely, the location is great. The staff did book us into the 2 restaurants for the nights of our stay and were friendly when we encountered them.
I allow for the fact that the hotel has a 3 star rating. We had a "suite" which was what was available on a last minute booking. The hotel, being an old building, rambles over a number of floors, and our suite had 2 floors-the bedroom being on the top floor. The living area of the suite was furnished as if they had not quite known what to do with it. A dead and gloomy space, with 2 chairs, a couple of side tables, and a beautiful, if somewhat randomly placed piano under the stairs. The whole hotel was decorated and furnished in "Early 1990s suburban Holiday Inn" style with few indications that we were staying in such a historical building. What a shame....the place cold be gorgeous.
The breakfast was a cheeky 12€ each extra, and they have you over a barrel as Kienzheim is too small to offer anything else. Value for money for the room? Nil.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBux18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Staying as part of a group of 8. All rooms are very individual, comfortable and well appointed. Receptionist was very efficient and helpful - getting a booking at the last minute in a popular restaurant. Breakfast OK, but they contrived to run out of muesli one morning which seems odd. Great location and handy for Riquewhir and Kaysersburg etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Methusala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have visited the Alsace and this property for 30 years. it never fails in it's charm in this tiny medieval village. This is the quintessential family property originally managed by the parents of the daughters who now manage it. It is a perfectly maintained medieval property bordering the vineyards of the town's wonderful location. The rooms are incredibly quiet and sophisticated with all required amenities. The breakfast buffet is excellent with homemade marmalades of various fruits and local breads. The village is as it was when we began visiting. No commercialization or tourism as has changed other villages here. If you are looking for the true Alsatian experience, come here. Take time to look around the property with its ancient winding stone stairs, flower decked walkways and old stone fences. It will take you to another time and place. This is a property that never fails to charm. We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: All are quiet. We have stayed here a dozen times in all parts of the property and have always enjoye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kientzheim
0.9 mi away
Chambard
Chambard
#1 of 5 in Kaysersberg
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie Schwendi
Hostellerie Schwendi
#1 of 3 in Kientzheim
299 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Logis Hotel les Remparts
Logis Hotel les Remparts
#2 of 5 in Kaysersberg
249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Constantin
Hotel Constantin
#4 of 5 in Kaysersberg
95 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Mandelberg
Le Mandelberg
#2 of 3 in Mittelwihr
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Abbaye d'Alspach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Abbaye d'Alspach

Address: 2 Rue du Marechal Foch, 68240 Kientzheim, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Kientzheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kientzheim
Price Range: $113 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Abbaye d'Alspach 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superbly developed hotel used to be a convent and the charm of the original architecture has been successfully preserved. Located in the very heart of the medieval town of Kientzheim, this is an ideal base for discovering a wine-producing area. Carefully designed by the owner, the smart rooms ensure calm and comfortable nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel l'Abbaye d'Alspach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Abbaye D'Alspach Kientzheim, France - Alsace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing