We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie Schwendi
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kientzheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hostellerie Schwendi is in a truly tiny Alsatian village called Kientzheim, a short distance from lovely Colmar. Kientzheim was one of the few small towns that was spared extensive bomb destruction in World War II, and it is a good base for exploration of other Alsatian wine route towns. It also has a number of local vintners who offer tastings.

The hotel is made up of several buildings adjacent to a small square. It's a quiet location with good parking. Our room, #24, was not in the main building but an adjacent one that overlooked the square. It had good, sound-muffling insulated windows. Ours was also a huge room with a huge bath. It was very comfortable and had WiFi and A/C, although we weren't sure the A/C was working very well when we were there.

The restaurant is well-regarded, but if one chooses not to eat there it's perhaps a 10-minute maximum drive to Kaysersberg, a somewhat larger town which caters to tourists and is loaded with eating places. (I will review the hotel restaurant separately. It was overall good but I do have an issue to note.) The hotel breakfast is good, not cheap, but if one wants a breakfast at all, this is the only choice. No convenient bakeries or coffee shops in town.

The family that runs the hotel is very nice. Warning, though: Not a lot of English seemed to be spoken there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 309 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Hostellerie with a group of 12 men and had a demi-pension arrangement. The rooms were impeccable, dinner was very good and the price is right. Only drawback: the restaurant offers only the house brand wines, with very few exceptions. The wines are all good but nevertheless your choice is quite limited.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebastianGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very happy with this hotel - it is quiet, clean - spacious. Hosts are wondeful. This is not a touristo city - it is convenient to Kaysersburg, Ribeauville, and Riqwhair - but without the crowds. Would I stay here again - absolutely.

Room Tip: #22 - shower and outside terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VATLC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had dinner at the Schwendi last night and had the best meal in Alsace so far, the service was very friendly, the food was delicious however do book if you intend to go on the week end as it seems to be very busy, we could not get a table on Saturday night. I can not comment on the hotel as we were staying elsewhere

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank frenchyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed there during our recent trip thru Alsace. Kientzheim is a very small village, centrally located, hence a great starting point to explore the region.
We decided to stay for two nights and could have easily extended our stay.
The hotel is absolutely charming and spread over 2 adjacent properties. Our room was located in the opposite building and very spacious. Renovated a while back, the decor was lovely: held in natural wood colors mixed with red and white. They also made a great effort to keep the wood frames and structure inside the room which adds an additional country charm to it.
AC is built in as well which helped as we did have quite high temperatures not even an open window could help us cope with.
The staff is super friendly and helpful and an absolute highlight is the restaurant.
If you are lucky to have nice weather to sit outside, tables are gathered around a fountain at the small square just opposite the hotel.
The food is great and prepared with delicious delicacies of the region.
An absolute must try if you are there.
Last but not least, go and visit the owner at his 'cave' and try the family produced wine.
I promise, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days in July. Very charming place to stay. Centrally located in Alsace wine region. We had room 26. Clean. Spacious. Air conditioned, which was important since it was in summer and there was a heat wave while we were there. Not all the rooms have AC so if that's important to you, make sure you reserve one with it. No elevators so if you have issues with stairs, get a ground floor room. One other issue, although the bathroom was great, getting into the tub/shower can be a bit challenging if you have leg issues. You really have to step up and over the side of the typically European tub. Kientzheim is a bit sleepy. Not too much happening there. Hardly any shops. We preferred Kaysersberg, just a few kilometers away, for restaurants and shopping, But for sleeping, Kientzheim was just fine. Nice and quiet. The hotel restaurant was very good. The restaurant across the street was also very good but make a reservation earlier in the day if you are thinking about eating there as they get full quickly. Nice restaurants in France book each table for the night so once they are booked the restaurant is "full". Speaking French or German comes in handy in the Alsace.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTchaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed two nights, and we had a comfortable and pleasant stay. The room was nice and clean.
We had dinner in their restaurants twice and it was simply fantastic! The wine was second to none!
I recommend the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dane5700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kientzheim
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Abbaye d'Alspach
Hotel l'Abbaye d'Alspach
#2 of 2 in Kientzheim
199 reviews
1 mi away
Chambard
Chambard
#1 of 5 in Kaysersberg
591 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Logis Hotel les Remparts
Logis Hotel les Remparts
#2 of 5 in Kaysersberg
264 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Saint-Nicolas
2.1 mi away
Hotel De La Couronne
Hotel De La Couronne
#3 of 8 in Riquewihr
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Schwendi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Schwendi

Address: 2 Place Schwendi, 68240 Kientzheim, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Kientzheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kientzheim
Price Range: $118 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie Schwendi 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Schillé-Gisie family will call you hearty Welcome in their Hotel Restaurant. In a traditional and quiet, wine producing medieval Village in the Heart of Alsace, the Hostellerie Schwendi and his typical style will charming you. This all renovated house is from the XVIIIe siecle, but keeps stones and beams that makes the Charm of this Country. A creative cuisine with good taste, served in our very pleasant restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostellerie Schwendi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Schwendi Kientzheim, France - Alsace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing