We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aux Armes de Champagne
Ranked #1 of 2 L'Epine B&B and Inns
eyemouth scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Night stay”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Read the mixed reviews of this hotel, after we stayed there we can now understand why. Hotel is in a nice location, rooms are ok, garden is nice. Across the road is a wonderful gothic Church. When we arrived check in was efficient and polite. It was a lovely hot day and was severed drinks in the garden immediately. However when we went for a drink before our dinner we could not find anyone willing to server us. Tried the usually place bar reception etc. Gave up after 20 mins. When we went for our dinner we complained about this. We where then offered the worst table next to the door. We were the only ones in the restaurant and had booked a table. We ask for another table, there where are tables set up for 2 people. Which we were not offered however we were banished to another room, felt like we were put on the naughty step for complaining. When the food did appear it was ok, however felt it was overpriced and the cheese course was a rip off. Would not be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kennyshona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    34
    16
    11
    4
See reviews for
11
44
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My father and I recently travelled across Europe on a business trip, passing through 5 countries in 3 days. It was an exhausting trip full of motorways and budget hotels. However on our last evening of travelling we sought out Aux Armes de Champagne in L'Epine, a place my father hadn't visited for 10 years. Even though we arrived late in the afternoon and 'sans reservation' they were able to find us two neighbouring double rooms and book us a table in their main restaurant. The rooms were charming, elegant and above all clean. The bathroom was immaculate and well stocked with toiletries, unlike the Ibis hotels, and the mini bar had all the essentials one needs after a day on the road, including the hotels own label champagne. The dinner was absolutely fantastic. As someone who likes to think of themselves as a foodie and is particularly spoilt living in central London, I was excited to see a very modern French menu, not least because the wine list was displayed on an iPad. From the amuse-bouche and starter (foie gras with apricot), right through to the main course (chicken with gnocchi, artichokes, fava beans) and then a dessert of sorbet, each dish was served with impeccable presentation, and delicious flavour. It was a lovely, leisurely meal and so nice not to feel rushed by the waiting staff but to be encouraged to relax and dine at your own pace.
After a good nights sleep we hit breakfast and indulged on a well-presented traditional continental breakfast of cold meats, bread, pastries and fruit, with coffee and teas served to order. Overall we had a brief but wonderful stay at Aux Armes, and not only do we look forward to returning one day we would recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TempestBebende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
483 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Situated at a road junction on the old main road. This hotel has now been by-passed by the new motorway. Unfortunately it has left it very tired. The service was very poor as was the food. Only one member of staff could speak English so ordering food and drinks for our group was difficult. The gardens were tidy and well kept with good parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these L'Epine hotels

Liege
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our fourth visit to this hotel and restaurant. Our room nb 2 was confortable but not large and unfortunately above the laundry room. So, in the morning, we could hear the humming of the laundry washing machines. It is probably best to request a room in the newer building that has a view of the nice garden and less noise from the road. We had a good if expensive lobster dinner on Friday night. On Sunday night, we were warned that the restaurant was closed but we could book dinner at the Bistrot. We did because there is no other place in the village to have dinner on Sunday night. We were offered a prix-fixe menu, 36 Euros per person, with only two choices for starters, main courses, and dessert, none of which was very exciting. The asparagus cream with shrimps was good but the sandre, a fresh water fish, was rather tasteless and served over peas and beans that had not seen any spices. Other guests were equally disappointed by this rather expensive poor meal. The buffet breakfast is good but don't get to the breakfast room too late or the plates will be rather empty. To summarize, with the special offer three nights for the price of two, the room was a good deal. The restaurant is good but expensive. The bistrot is very disappointing.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 1 and 2 above the laundry room. Prefer a room in the newer building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fgrandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is quite a charming, convenient hotel - either the first or last taste of the continent depending on whether you are going to or from Calais. The dinner we had last week was woeful. Asparagus mimosa with a mean streak of dressing and chopped boiled egg; a stuffed leg of chicken with potato puree - the chicken had been pre-cooked (you could tell from the dried up bone sticking out, and the mash was lumpy); the cod with a red pepper sauce had that slightly ammonia taste and the coco beans completely tasteless; the rum baba was like a dry bread roll with a sprinkling of spirit. All for 36€! It just shows how much British food has improved. We returned most of the food uneaten - no-one seemed to care.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

When we first visited this hotel more than fifteen years ago, I thought it the acme of luxury, and we returned three more times and were very satisfied. This time I was disappointed. Part of the problem was that I chose the wrong room, facing the church rather than facing the garden. It was small, and there was a lot of road noise. It was necessary to keep the window closed because of the noise, and since there is no air conditioning the room was hot. The hotel was modernized in the 1970s, and it looks as if nothing has been done to the rooms (at least the room we stayed in) since. It looks rather tired, especially the bathroom (coloured suite a giveaway). Perhaps the bigger, quieter rooms facing the garden are better. But I have to admit that the price we paid for this not altogether satisfactory room was very moderate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden, not the church. And if you have any mobility issues, or very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeedsAmateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We came here during a little road trip through France and were surprised by this charming hotel. The enterior is not exactly my style, but it all fits together with the cute village, the friendly staff, and the delicious food at the bistrot. Our room had a beautiful view on the church but it turned out to be the noisy side, too. It didn't bother me too much, but I can imagine other guests prefer a more quiet room in order to sleep longer. The matress was a bit too hard for my back, but other people might just love it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asfintesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Epine
4.9 mi away
Hotel D'angleterre
Hotel D'angleterre
#2 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 1 in Fagnieres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
10.2 mi away
Logis Auberge des Moissons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
#6 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
4.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
#4 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne
Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champ...
#7 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aux Armes de Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aux Armes de Champagne

Property: Aux Armes de Champagne
Address: 31 avenue du Luxembourg, 51460 L'Epine, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > L'Epine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in L'Epine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aux Armes de Champagne 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At first glance this hotel appears as a typical French roadside restaurant with natural-wood shutters and flowerboxes overflowing with a profusion of red, pink, and white geraniums. Inside, it is a charming country inn, now one century old, whose owners, Pascal and Christèle Fouassier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Aux Armes de Champagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aux Armes De Champagne Hotel l`Epine
Aux Armes De Champagne Champagne-Ardenne, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing