We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small hotel that is being improved by its owners”
Review of Manoir de Ponsay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manoir de Ponsay
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A small hotel that is being improved by its owners”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Excellent evening meal and breakfast. Mr & Mrs de Ponsay are working very hard to continualy improve this hotel and are winning! He speaks excellent English and the rooms were very clean and very quiet. They deserve to be succesful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidMPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
25
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed here in 2009 and again 26/10/10. We were the only visitors, that being due to the fact a daughter had been born the previous week, but as we had reserved our room some months earlier, the family honoured the booking, had it been for the previous weekend we, understandably, wouldnt have been so lucky. Everything was as good as in 2009 including the owners welcome, the dinner, breakfast and the room. Our thanks to the family. Maybe again next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evertoncity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Stayed here for one night in June - and absolutely loved it. The host was very friendly and welcoming, his wife very accommodating of our request for a vegetarian dinner (it was all delicious), the house is charming, and we went for a long countryside walk after breakfast with the family's dog. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShenzhenCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Have just spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed it and found it to be good value for money. We had a standard room and were very pleased: good size room with full bathroom; all very well presented; good quality sheets/towels; thorough attention to detail and very clean. Breakfast which is served in the lovely grand dining room was very fresh and plentiful.
The house and grounds are interesting and comfortable you get a real feel for the History of the place. The hosts are lovely people friendly, very helpful and attentive - you are staying in their family home so they can tell all about it. We had an evening meal this was of a good standard and served in a professional and very friendly way. We loved the atmosphere and would definitely stay here again. Great setting in the countryside, but not far from towns and main road access (the host speaks excellent English too).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriskerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed for one night en route home-23/09. Lovely room, comfortable bed, shower etc. spotless, linen & big bath towels great. Very hospitable owner, who also made the excellent dinner, more like being a valued guest in a family home, than an hotel. If you want an extensive menu, this isnt the place, but for a lovely informal good meal, this is for you. If it is important, the owner speaks very good English.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evertoncity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co. kildare ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2007

lovely! shabby! atmospheric! peaceful! good meal and wine. Really liked the fruits rouge apertif. Would recommend this place.

  • Liked — peace and people
  • Disliked — no real garden
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marymce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Stayed one night at this old chateau in May. One definitely feels like they've taken a trip back in time. The property has been in the same family for ages. The owner is extremely helpful and very nice - he'll go that extra mile to give suggestions, make sure you are comfortable, and is very hospitable and generous. Would go back just to have another chat with him! After a complimentary aperitif in the salon, we were served a home-cooked meal in the family dining room. Slept like a baby in the four-post bed (huge rooms by the way). Very comfortable and relaxing.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chantonnay
14.3 mi away
Ibis Les Herbiers
Ibis Les Herbiers
#1 of 5 in Les Herbiers
288 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Moulin Neuf
Le Moulin Neuf
#1 of 2 in Chantonnay
179 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Aloe
Hotel Restaurant Aloe
#2 of 5 in Les Herbiers
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Mercure La Roche Sur Yon Centre
Mercure La Roche Sur Yon Centre
#1 of 15 in La Roche-sur-Yon
411 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hotel La Verriaire
Hotel La Verriaire
#1 of 1 in La Verrie
347 reviews
18.7 mi away
Domaine de Chantemerle
Domaine de Chantemerle
#1 of 1 in Moutiers-sous-Chantemerle
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de Ponsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de Ponsay

Property: Manoir de Ponsay
Address: St-Mars des Pres, 85110 Chantonnay, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Chantonnay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chantonnay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manoir de Ponsay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing