We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would return in a minute and will in September.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres
Ranked #1 of 1 Villefargeau B&B and Inns
Chicago, IL
1 review
“We would return in a minute and will in September.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

My wife and I have noticed that you have received a negative review of Le Petit Manoir Des Bruyeres. This surprises us greatly since we have travelled throughout France including many stays at the best Relais & Chateaux. We consider Le Petit Manoir Des Bruyeres among the very best with good food and wine, comfortable lodgings and a warm welcome in March of this year. We spent two nights there which was our 20th visit since September 1999. Every stay has been wonderful!!
Tom & Pam Sheffield

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2curioustravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA and CANADA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2009

Recently I read the negative comments. On many reprise I myself have lodged at this Inn and I totally disagree with the 2 negative criticism made. I have met the proprietors of a certain age, whom where were very welcoming, charming, available and attentive...etc
As for the Bourguignonne gastronomy! The owner is a chef in fine cuisine, serves superior wine on silver and crystal ware. If you are not in haste, awaiting is a split level garden in teak and lava rock facing a magnificent park adored with roses & trees that speaks for it's history. I think this Inn should not be too quickly dismissed. A view I strongly felt a need to share.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bishwanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

We visited this area of France staying in a variety of relais & chateau properties, which were for the most part very nice. This property was well below expectations. We booked as we were very much taken in by the pictures of the property, but on arrival and throughout our stay the staff made us feel very uncomfortable.

The rooms were of an acceptable standard, although it was very easy to hear conversations in adjacent rooms amongst other things.

There was no communal area in which to sit, despite the appetising looking room with a log fire, which was being used entirely by the staff and was essentially off-limits to the guests except when being served dinners.

The hotel was very keen on hidden extras from "busy season" price supplements to house aperatifs for 12 euros a glass. In addition prices advertised on the associated website were from several years ago and at 45 euros a menu excluding any drinks a three course meal tasting like any cheap 15 euro menu from any other part of the region was very disappointing.

I would thoroughly recommend finding alternative accommodation if you are considering staying here.

  • Liked — The look of the photos before I booked
  • Disliked — The attitude of the staff - don't stay here
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopscotch07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica89000, PROPRIETAIRE at Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres, responded to this review, January 22, 2009
Dear Sir
At home, you arrive in a private place managed with my husband
An Y, for many years and we are respectively 70 and 92 years old.
Contrary to criticism posted on Trip Advisor, (site whose name I was totally unknown)
For my husband and I are, it’s always a pleasure to welcome people here from all over the world, because it's our way for us, to travel again!
In company of our guests,we sometimes share their meal, other times we let their privacy, we provide them with "our children" (the 3 CATS of the house);
Guests move freely in our large living room where our personal decoration, (silver, crystal, tableware, tables) are in their view because we give them our trust, and those who have a soul musician, move to the piano without fear disturb us,etc. .....
It is a pity that you have taken of 2 criticism to us, while our GUESTBOOK COMPLIMENTS and replete with many of our guests that return home several times to savor the beauty of the place and the heat of our home.
Our prices are clearly displayed and we believe that our Coq au Vin cuisine, often with Foie Gras, is not an ordinary meal.
Our breakfasts are served with baked pastries of the day, ten jams house, the gingerbread house of mellow house of dry Serano ham, cheese, etc ...
Finally, as you read from our GUESTBOOK, which dates to stay closer to our "critical", you can find that even children are welcome, and well received at home, when our age could dissuade us to make it.
However, it is true that the maid, introduced this summer, left our house because she was not smiling.
I hope these updates on our house will enlighten you, I appreciate your frankness an I hope that this development will want our next guests to come, and do their own opinion, and I will receive them, as I have always done, with pleasure.
Monique JOULLIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

The rooms and property were very nice, However,.we were made to feel like intruders in somebody's house, instead of paying guests. They wanted our money, but not our presence. The food supplied for dinner and breakfast was very ordinary, but extremely highly priced. The staff were rude and inflexible. I would not recommend staying in this hotel.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica89000, PROPRIETAIRE at Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres, responded to this review, January 22, 2009
Dear Sir
At home, you arrive in a private place managed with my husband
An Y, for many years and we are respectively 70 and 92 years old.
Contrary to criticism posted on Trip Advisor, (site whose name I was totally unknown)
For my husband and I are, it’s always a pleasure to welcome people here from all over the world, because it's our way for us, to travel again!
In company of our guests,we sometimes share their meal, other times we let their privacy, we provide them with "our children" (the 3 CATS of the house);
Guests move freely in our large living room where our personal decoration, (silver, crystal, tableware, tables) are in their view because we give them our trust, and those who have a soul musician, move to the piano without fear disturb us,etc. .....
It is a pity that you have taken of 2 criticism to us, while our GUESTBOOK COMPLIMENTS and replete with many of our guests that return home several times to savor the beauty of the place and the heat of our home.
Our prices are clearly displayed and we believe that our Coq au Vin cuisine, often with Foie Gras, is not an ordinary meal.
Our breakfasts are served with baked pastries of the day, ten jams house, the gingerbread house of mellow house of dry Serano ham, cheese, etc ...
Finally, as you read from our GUESTBOOK, which dates to stay closer to our "critical", you can find that even children are welcome, and well received at home, when our age could dissuade us to make it.However, it is true that the maid, introduced this summer, left our house because she was not smiling.
I hope these updates on our house will enlighten you, I appreciate your frankness an I hope that this development will want our next guests to come, and do their own opinion, and I will receive them, as I have always done, with pleasure.
Monique JOULLIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefargeau
4.7 mi away
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
#2 of 22 in Auxerre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
4.5 mi away
Le Parc des Marechaux
Le Parc des Marechaux
#4 of 22 in Auxerre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mercure Auxerre
Mercure Auxerre
#1 of 4 in Appoigny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ibis Auxerre Centre
Ibis Auxerre Centre
#1 of 22 in Auxerre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Le Maxime
Hotel Le Maxime
#5 of 22 in Auxerre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
9.0 mi away
Moulin de la Coudre
Moulin de la Coudre
#1 of 3 in Venoy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres

Property: Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres
Address: 5 allee de Charbuy, 89240 Villefargeau, Auxerre, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Auxerre > Villefargeau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Villefargeau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing