We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different world”

Saint Peter's Abbey of Solesmes
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Solesmes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
126 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Different world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is stepping back in time. Beautiful singing by the monks in a superb setting. The church is also worth a thorough look as it contains some wonderful carving.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ymare
Level Contributor
166 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“another world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

a so quiet place gives the feeling of another world. Spend a time in the church and listen to the Christian singers...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrancoisD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genneteil, France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Superb carvings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went to Solesmes as part of a large group, there was a presentation in French ( we were with a French group), which unfortunately passed over our heads somewhat. We are told that the Gregorian chants are magnificent but we didn't actually stay to hear a service. However, the abbey was superb with huge and intricate carvings depicting religious scenes. No matter your religious beliefs, these carvings are worth seeing! There was a large ' souvenir' shop which would particularly be of interest to Roman Catholics with a very large collection of books looking at a wide range of subjects, from a catholic perspective ( I assume).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kangalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gregorian Chants in a magnificent setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Abbey and attached church provide a contrast between the magnificent and the simple. The Abbey looks huge from the river side, and the acoustics produce a moving experience when the Monks perform their chants.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mikepFrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Peter's Abbey of Solesmes also viewed

Asnieres sur Vegre, Sarthe
 

Been to Saint Peter's Abbey of Solesmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing