We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about everything was perfect.”
Review of Hotel La Chouette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Chouette
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This charming B&B is well located for those touring around Burgundy. The rooms are large and clean. The beds are comfortable. The breakfast is fantastic. It is good value for money. There are a number of excellent local restaurants. There is free WiFi.. The only short coming is that while the host is friendly she is very particular in the way things are done. It is her way or no way. That takes the edge off feeling you are a guest. That aside it is a good hotel and I would go again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 107 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stopped over one night at this charming B&B during a wine tasting trip in Bourgogne and we loved it. Charming, spacious rooms, nice decor, extremely clean, excellent value for money. The breakfast prepared by the owner was outstanding!!

Stayed: April 2013
Thank SL444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were headed north through France and Puligny-Montrachet is a great place to break the journey just south of Beaune. We've used the Hotel La Chouette for clients a number of times and have always had satisfied customers, last weekend was an opportunity to sample for ourselves.

The hotel is small, charming and comfortable. Breakfast was even more delightful.

We'll continue to recommend the hotel and no doubt use it again ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Real-Provence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was an absolutely great find, in a great location, right in the heart of the wine country. It is a small, six room hotel that gives the feel of being in your own home, away from home.The proprietor, Suzanne, a transplanted Canadian, is extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet, set in the small kitchen is full of wonderful items from organic juices and smoothies to cold cuts, cheeses, fresh fruit, breads, jams, cereals, yogurt and practically every breakfast item you can think of. Having just finished the book I had brought for the trip, I took advantage of Suzanne's generous offer to select whatever book I would like from her collection. Don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vallarta001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We enjoyed two days at hotel La Chouette.
The breakfast was outstanding, so many choices.
Our room was very spacious and beautifully appointed.
Ideal location to visit the winery's.
Suzanne was most helpful in suggesting places to visit. We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wharatah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This totally unique hotel is set in the heart of one of the most stunningly unspoilt and yet world class locations anywhere in the world. Suzanne is a true artist with her food and we really looked forward to her varied and utterly healthy breakfasts. You can check Suzanne's Facebook page for evidence of her artistic flair. The house itself was built by Suzanne and is a gorgeous and very peaceful place to stay and my family was enchanted. The rooms are incredibly clean and the furnishings are absolutely stunning.
We loved walking through the Grand Cru and Premier Cru vineyards nearby and tasted easily the very best chardonnays we have ever experienced in a picture perfect setting. Suzanne was very helpful as she booked our restaurants before our visit and gave us plenty of advice during our stay.
We would love to have stayed longer and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very pleased with our choice. Originally we had planned to stay in Beaune but the hotel we had been recommended to there was full. La Chouette hotel is located in a very charming village about 10km south of Beaune. Suzanne, the owner, was very helpful and charming. Her recommendations for restaurants, which she booked for us, were excellent and were our two best meals during a 6 week trip through Western Europe. She also gave us suggestions for things to do while in the area which proved to be very helpful and well thought out. The Saturday market in Beaune was particularly good. Suzanne was away for the 2 days after we arrived but she arranged for us to have breakfast in the hotel across the road which was excellent.
The room was very comfortable and quiet. The garden is set up for guests and has several outdoor tables at which Suzanne served afternoon tea and home baking.
We definitely wished we could have spent longer here as there was so much to do in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi-Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puligny-Montrachet
0.1 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
342 reviews
6.8 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#23 of 62 in Beaune
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
331 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mercure Beaune Centre
Mercure Beaune Centre
#9 of 62 in Beaune
794 reviews
7 mi away
Chateau de Challanges
Chateau de Challanges
#15 of 62 in Beaune
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Chouette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Chouette

Address: 3 B rue du Creux de Chagny, 21190 Puligny-Montrachet, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Puligny-Montrachet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puligny-Montrachet
Price Range: $183 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Chouette 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Chouette is a delightful six-bedroom hotel, designed and run by its owner, Suzanne. Its charming interior and picturesque setting make it feel like a home away from home. The hotel is located in the tranquil village of Puligny-Montrachet, whose world-renowned vineyards border the property. The panoramic view of the garden and vines, combined with the hotel's friendly and comfortable atmosphere, reflect the simple, country charm of Burgundy. Suzanne gives all guests her personal attention. Every day begins with the enticing aromas of her creative homemade breakfast. Early risers often share a cup of coffee and chat with her whilst she gets everything ready. Guests can also enjoy afternoon tea on the terrace or by the fireplace, with a book from Suzanne's library or just listening to relaxing music. Suzanne's knowledge of Burgundy's rich history, gastronomy and countryside helps La Chouette's guests make the most of their stay. It's a place to come back to time after time ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Chouette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chouette Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing