We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly Nice - Must Do”
Review of Hotel La Chouette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Chouette
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stunningly Nice - Must Do”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed in this B&B for a couple of days in April 2012 while on a Burgundy bicycle tour.

The owner, Suzanne, has set up this B&B to be warm, comfortable and luxurious. The breakfast is to die for, with lovely local faire. (I hope I've used the right word here, I mean local produce!) It was my first introduction to quail eggs, as compared to ordinary hens eggs. There was lots of choice for the rest of the breakfast, and she knows how to make a nice weak tea.

The rooms are very spacious, the bathrooms modern and clean and the little knick-knacks like soaps and shampoos are first quality. I've attached some photos of the bathroom below.

When we were planning our day, Suzanne offered a suggestion which we hadn't considered. I won't go into the detail, but her suggestion was BRILLIANT and was much better than the cold, windy day of cycling we were proposing. As it turned out it hailed and a strong wind blew for much of the day. Definitely not a day for outdoor cycling..... If you desperately want to know what Suzanne suggested, send me an email.

Suzanne also suggested a bunch of locations for dinner that night. We chose one, she made a booking by phone and it turned out to be a lovely place. That evening it hosted a full-blown wedding. However, the restaurant fitted us in, and we had a ball mixing it with the wedding guests.

I liked Suzanne's B&B and would dash back in a heartbeat. It had everything we were hoping for; local connections, charm, warmth and extreme comfort!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    19
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
72
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Three days in early May, as others have mentioned Suzanne is extremely helpful in guiding us to the must sees, while voiding the "don't bothers". Puligny Montrachet is home to some of the greatest Chardonnays on the planet, kind of a white wine oasis in the generally red (Pinot Noir) Burgundy region. La Chouette is ultra clean, modern with some old world charm, and a great breakfast. Continental, yes (of course...this is the continent after all), but wonderful little home made fruit cups, fresh fruit, and if its nice enough to sit outside, a beautiful little patio.

This is one of those special places that I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

La Chouette was a comfortable place to stay while in Puligny - Montrachet. Suzanne directed us to a nice wine tasting and also to a very good restaurant a short distance away. We had a beautiful walk through the vineyards to reach the restaurant, Auberge du Vieux Vigneron. The rooms are small but comfortable. The only disappointment was the breakfast. I had read great reviews about breakfast and really built it up to my husband. Although the presentation was very, very nice and what was offered was good, it was more continental in style. We had expected a hot breakfast from the reviews that we read. Also, you cannot get coffee or tea until breakfast time, which is after 8:00am. We would have liked a coffee station set up just to be able to have a hot cup of coffee or tea a little earlier.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed 3 incredible days in Puligny-Montrachet and absolutely loved it. La Chouette is wonderful - centrally located to other towns but you can easily walk into the quaint town center for a drink or a bite to eat if you don't want to drive.
Suzanne is very gracious and can help guide you to some wonderful places to visit and eat! The rooms are spacious, clean but to me the biggest plus was the awesome breakfast - everything was so fresh and delicious! We loved it!! We cannot wait to come back and will tell all of our friends! Thanks Suzanne!!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are pretty sound proof. We had an upstairs room with a view of the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catwomanAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend in Puligny-Montrachet and enjoyed ourseleves! The rooms were nicely set up and very comfortable, quiet and private. One could hardly hear any other guests at all. The bathroom was large and immaculately clean, which is often one of my pet peeves during traveling. Suzanne is a charming and helpful person who looks after you when you need assistance but who is equally good at staying out of your way when you need time to relax. A great place in a beautiful country-we would not hesitate to come back anyday!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

During our recent 5 night stay, Suzanne guided us to the significant sites and cozy resaturants frequented by the locals, where we dined very well. Most importantly, when my wife became ill, she provided her with a tray to our room and made arrangements for a local restaurant to deliver a delicious dinner which she personally served to us. You couldn't ask for better care.
P.S. The breakfasts and cookies were wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taxma2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were warmly greeted by Suzanne. We found this to be a lovely town, a fantastic place to stay and would love to return. We only spent two nights here, but the room was lovely, the bath was spacious and the breakfasts were great! Suzanne shared her knowledge of the area which enhanced our visit. I would highly recommend this to anyone that prefers a small hotel instead of a large impersonal one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puligny-Montrachet
0.1 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
322 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
312 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
9.0 mi away
Ermitage de Corton
Ermitage de Corton
#1 of 1 in Chorey Les Beaune
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Chouette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Chouette

Property: Hotel La Chouette
Address: 3 B rue du Creux de Chagny, 21190 Puligny-Montrachet, Beaune, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Puligny-Montrachet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puligny-Montrachet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Chouette 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Chouette is a delightful six-bedroom hotel, designed and run by its owner, Suzanne. Its charming interior and picturesque setting make it feel like a home away from home. The hotel is located in the tranquil village of Puligny-Montrachet, whose world-renowned vineyards border the property. The panoramic view of the garden and vines, combined with the hotel's friendly and comfortable atmosphere, reflect the simple, country charm of Burgundy. Suzanne gives all guests her personal attention. Every day begins with the enticing aromas of her creative homemade breakfast. Early risers often share a cup of coffee and chat with her whilst she gets everything ready. Guests can also enjoy afternoon tea on the terrace or by the fireplace, with a book from Suzanne's library or just listening to relaxing music. Suzanne's knowledge of Burgundy's rich history, gastronomy and countryside helps La Chouette's guests make the most of their stay. It's a place to come back to time after time ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Chouette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chouette Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing