We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B in great village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine des Anges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaine des Anges
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in great village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I really liked this B and B. As everybody has said, John and Celine are good hosts, gracious and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and breakfast was very good. I would however,have been tempted to give this place 4.5 stars rather than 5. The policy of expecting guests to vacate premises for the bulk of the day troubled us.The website was very up-front about this policy, so we know about it when choosing the B&B. Nevertheless, we have never experienced this policy before in any B&B we have stayed in, including ones in the UK. It really might have been nice to come back midday for a nap. We adjusted to the policy and made things work. We were disappointed that we were not able to experience one of John and Celine's dinners as they needed a foursome and were two people short. John gave us helpful restaurant suggestions and made efforts to get us reservations.

If I were to stay here again, I would choose the room that has a separate entrance so that we could come and go as we liked. It was unavailable this visit. I'm very happy we stayed here rather than in Beaune in a hotel. The tiny village was charming.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
111
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a B&B that dreams are made of. Extraordinarily generous and attentive hosts, beautiful accommodation and superb dinners. From the moment you drive into the lovely square of Puligny Montrachet and then Domaine des Anges you know that you are in for a very special treat. John & Celine are wonderful hosts and we are already planning a longer stay next year and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtiggs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

All the glowing reviews here are so true!
We had a most wonderful stay at Domaine des Anges at the beginning of May - definitely one of the highlights of our European trip.
Celine and John are wonderful hosts - from the warm welcome on arrival to the superb dinner where we spent the evening enjoying the company of the other guests and being treated to fantastic food and wine by our hosts. We were also able to take advantage of bookings that John had made - and enjoyed fabulous food and wine at Ma Cuisine in Beaune and la table d'Olivier Leflaive - allowing us to experience the some of the best of Burgundy in our short stay.
Our room was so comfortable, and like the rest of the house - beautifully furnished. Breakfast each morning was fantastic, and a great chance to meet the other guests. Domaine des Anges is perfection and excellent value for such a fine establishment. John and Celine are charming and helpful in every way, it was a shame to have to leave - would love to return one day!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mmhs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Absolutely amazing! My boyfriend and I spent our anniversary weekend here to get away and get a leg up on Burgundy wines. John and Celine are the most lovely and attentive hosts I have ever encountered. The breakfasts are delicious with local and homemade goodies (I had my very first soft boiled egg here...perfect!) The 6-course dinner when we arrived Saturday evening was beyond compare, though. All meals are served at a community table, which allows for the meeting of other guests and the creation of lively, international conversation. We had been out tasting wine all day and just made it back for tea, which was so wonderful and personal with our hosts. And the bathtub in our room! Perfect for two (bubble bath included) with a bottle of Burgundy Cremant. I would go back to Domaine des Anges a million times!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pnogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lady Celine and John were great hosts in their charming home. All the rooms were beautifully appointed, comfortable, immaculately clean, with great, functional plumbing--and enough light to read in those cozy beds!

We stayed several days to explore the vineyards nearby, It's a great location near Beaune, Also. It was wonderful to come home to Celine's oustanding cookery one evening. That lady sure knows how to put a fine dinner on the table! Her six or seven courses were a fusion of French and English dishes, surpassed by none of the other French restaurants we visited.

Not having access to our rooms between 10:30 a.m. and 4 p.m. could have been problematic, but our friends rented their "little house" across the way, so we always had a place to put up our feet when we needed it.

Plan your days carefully, and come home to a gracious retreat--and meal--in the evening!

Room Tip: My friends and I rented out all the rooms for our stay. They were equally comfortable and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poodlelady_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We arrived at Domaine des Anges after a 15 minute car ride from Beaune train station (the train ride was terrific by the way!) John welcomed us and Celine promptly whipped up afternoon tea with wonderful scones and cream. The sweet, shaded patio was relaxing and welcoming. The house itself is beautifully decorated and our room was cool and comfortable. There was an ample size bathroom with tub/shower; everything spotless and in working order. Domaine is in a fantastic location on a square opposite a small restaurant and a Michelin 1 star restaurant located diagonally; just a two minute walk. John was extremely helpful in suggesting places to eat and things to do. Although we did not have dinner at Domaine, if it was anything like their breakfast it must have been wonderful. We had yogurt, muesli, soft-boiled eggs, ham, cheese, home-made jams, great coffee/tea, fresh croissants, bread - - all you could possibly ask for. The other guests we met were all fun to meet and very nice people. We used this as a two-day base for hiking in Burgundy and loved every minute! Thank you John and Celine; you've created a real treasure and you both give so much joy to your guests.

Room Tip: Our room was just off the ktichen and windows opening onto the patio. It was perfect; no noise and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie. maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our 4 night stay at Domaine des Anges was simply perfect. John and Celine were welcoming and helpful. Our room, the Bienvenue-Montrachet, was spacious and beautifully appointed. And since it is located opposite the main house, it is accessible throughout the day. We enjoyed one of Celine's wonderful dinners in the company of several other guests from around the world, and breakfasts were excellent as well. As a real bonus, Domaine des Anges can provide wash-and-fold laundry service for multi-night guests, which really helped as were in the middle of our two week trip.

Puligny-Montrachet is a beautiful little town, within a sequence of similar wine towns (Meursalt, Pommard, etc.) found every few miles. Beaune is close, and there is plenty to see and do. A great location and a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: The Bienvenue-Montrachet room is perhaps larger, but a key feature is all-day access. Rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BowieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puligny-Montrachet
0.1 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Chouette
Hotel La Chouette
#3 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
6.7 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 63 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#2 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Anges

Property: Domaine des Anges
Address: Place du Pasquier de la Fontaine, 21190 Puligny-Montrachet, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Puligny-Montrachet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Puligny-Montrachet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puligny-Montrachet is a prestigious wine-making village nestling amid the vines of Burgundy's Cote d'Or. With nearby historic Beaune and Dijon, it is ideally suited for wine-lovers, walkers and cyclists alike. Domaine des Anges is a stone-built, former wine domaine, with bi-lingual (English/French) owners, offering a warm welcome, big beds and modern bathrooms. The legendary breakfasts and complimentary afternoon teas have featured on French national TV! Recommended by Rick Steves, Michelin Guide and Le Routard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Domaine des Anges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Des Anges Hotel Puligny-Montrachet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing