We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Burgundy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel seems to be secondary to the wine business run bu the Leflaive dynasty for 18 generations spanning 340 years, so we were informed. It is perfectly sited in a village next to Meursault and Chassagne-Montrachet, where the finest chardonnays in the world are produced. Our first room offer was dank and a little rank, possibly as a result of recent heavy rain but we were relocated to a largish room at the rear - no elevator access with an outlook over the roof tops of the village. Fortunately, the hotel was holding a tasting dinner that evening into which we happily booked, keen to taste the local white wines - all Chardonnay from "Villages" to Batardes - 10 wines from the three adjoining villages with an explanation of each. The food itself was slightly dry chicken, but that was not the real point of the tasting dinner, i.e., tasting. It was one on one explanation with the ability to quiz the wine maker on all things. A great experience. Although the breakfast was reasonable rather than special, the total experience was special, surrounded by vineyards and "Caves" in the quaint village lying in the heart of a world leading wine producing area.

Room Tip: Inspect your room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie L, Directeur général at La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear John,

Thank you very much for you comment on Trip Advisor.
I'm sorry to hear your trouble with the room but I hope your global experience at La Maison was good.
Has I can see you enjoy our main activity : the tasting dinner where I hope you where glad to learn and tast a lot about Burgundy wine.
I hope to see you soon in La Maison and this time the room will be better.

All the best

Julie Leflaive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 344 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay while visiting the lovely wine towns south of Beaune! Our large room was modern yet charming with lovely furnishings, linens and a beautiful ensuite bathroom. Yes there is an elevator, lovely courtyard, dining room and comfortable lounge.
The staff is warm,well trained and very attentive.
We attended the tasting dinner and one of the brothers did make the rounds of the tables and greeted the guests which is a nice touch.
The meal was lovely but not by any means "gourmet". In fact we were told by the sommelier that this was not a restaurant! The menu was firmly fixed and there were no substitutions and I understand that it is the same menu each evening. We tasted several of the wines from the Leflaivre winery but none from the vintages that the sommelier said were their best.
The meal and pairings were a fun experience and great value. If you are staying more than one night I understand there is another dinner choice available! Breakfast was pleasant and it is not included in the room price.

The town is very small with not much activity but very pretty.

It would be a great venue to have a wonderful chef to showcase their wine!!!

Room Tip: Room Tip: Whatever your budget allows. This is a modern new hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie L, Directeur général at La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Meg,
It's always a pleasure to read that you spend a nice time at La Maison, and that you learn a lot about our wines, and Burgundy.
Has you could understand our choice is not to be a gourmet restaurant to put our wine before the food. As there is many restaurants very good around, we are always happy to make a reservation for our clients for the diner of their other nights at our hotel.

I hope to see you agin at La Maison soon.

All the Best
Julie Leflaive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

La Maison has a very nice hotel in Puligny Montrachet however we did not stay at the La Maison but we did take advantage of their wine tasting dinner. The service was very personal and attentive including the table to table visits from one of the Laflaive brothers . They are rightfully proud of the outstanding wine craft and legacy. The tasting options were robust, the wines themselves were terrific. The explanations and information were thoughtful and personably presented. The food for the evening was very expertly prepared and presented and very much enjoyed. If you're in the area and looking for a very enjoyable wine tasting accompanied by dinner La Maison d'Oiviere Leflaive is a very solid choice and a good value as well.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Nova R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked the package that includes tour and tasting of wines, room and meals. It was a good value. The vineyard and winery tours are excellent, but very detailed and require a fair amount of standing and walking. The two brothers, Patrick and Olivier, as well as professional staff lead the tours and tastings. The food is fairly simple, but well executed. We enjoyed being able to taste wines that would be very hard to find back in the US. The rooms are all individually decorated and have lots of comforts--big comfortable beds, large bathtub, and a river rock floor shower. The only down side is that breakfast is rather mundane and the service for breakfast was rather haphazard. The town has very few other things to entertain if you are not interested in the wines, but that is why we were there.

Room Tip: During harvest there is quite a bit of noise from tractors and trucks. The square outside the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgirl2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We ended up here as a happy mistake, our original booking at another hotel having been unsuitable. We ended up in one of the superior rooms and it was a really enjoyable stay, though sadly for only one night. The reception were very helpful and the room itself wonderful - I only wish we could have stayed longer.
Dinner was the tasting menu and the food was excellent but simple, the perfect way for us to enjoy and appreciate the various wines we tried; some were a complete revelation for a person who normally prefers red wines.
We had enjoyed the tasting lunch in their offices several years ago and it was nice to be able to repeat the experience in the evening and in such tastefully furnished surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George-the-Pug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Spent two days. The hotel and room are great. The food is good, the wine is great. The visit to the vineyard is tres amusant si vous parlez francais, because, in that case, Olivier Laflaive himself will be your guide. And he is very funny. If he quits the wine business he can enter the showbusiness! Guilhaume, the sommelier, is a very nice guy (loves Brazil, speaks portuguese)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gewitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We have stayed here on numerous occasions, the rooms, the staff, the owner, the wine, the food leave little room for improvement and Julie leaves none!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Leckby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puligny-Montrachet
0.1 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
475 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
890 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ermitage de Corton
Ermitage de Corton
#1 of 1 in Chorey Les Beaune
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#17 of 62 in Beaune
400 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
682 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive

Address: Place du Monument, 21190 Puligny-Montrachet, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Puligny-Montrachet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Puligny-Montrachet
Price Range: $175 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building dates from the 17th century, nestling at the heart of the village of Puligny-Montrachet. An interior garden and a spacious lounge are invitations to draw corks and taste. But what really defines the character of the place are the 13 spacious, light-filled bedrooms. These have been designed as intimate, comfortable spaces, where flat-screen TV, internet-access, DVD-players, air-conditioning and inside shutters are standard.One might choose a documentary about a famous, local wine, or from the wide choice available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison d`Olivier Leflaive Hotel Puligny-Montrachet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing