We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent week-end experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau de Perigny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Perigny
Ranked #1 of 2 Vouille B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Excellent week-end experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

We stayed early September at this place and defintely liked it.
Excellent restaurant (tested both at lunch and dinner) with very good service.
We stayed overnight, not in the castle itself, but in a neighbouring house. Yes, the room could do with some new paint on the walls and a new carpet, but the bed was good and it was very quiet. We were lucky enough to get a "superior" room (larger than average).
Very nice swimming-pool, but weather was a bit too cool to enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank French
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    107
    66
    63
    36
See reviews for
85
201
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

This hotel has lousy narrow and hard beds in the old part, creaking floors you won't believe. The dinner was horrible, they served a hashed up smoked salmon as a salad instead of proper smoked salmon, like th French on neighbouring table received.
Steak tough, veasl even tougher and badly cut. They tried to serve us the end piece (crust) of a an Auvergne cheese; when protesting it came back, with the crust barely removed, an insult.
No excuses at all. even tried to charge for the cheese in the moring. Upside it was cheap, 60 Euro for dinner for 2.
Frits

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank basenflaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vouille hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2007

From moment we drove onto the hotel's estate and were overwhelmed by the stench of manure, I knew I had made a mistake booking a night's accommdation at the Chateau de Perigny. But little did we know that the smell that awaited us inside our room was actually worse than the smell outside. My sympathies to the housekeeping department who in an attempt to keep the mould at bay, had to use so much bleach in the bathroom, that it made my eyes water. Nevertheless, the mould still managed to survive and covered the bathroom floor's grouting.

The Chateau's literature stated that the castle was converted to a hotel in the 1970s - that was obvious as the decor didn't appear to have been changed since that decade. Nor had the bedspread, which was covered in a number of different colored stains. We had booked a "deluxe room" for the night and were amused to learn that there were superior and standard rooms below our own. In our three week stay in France for our honeymoon, the Chateau de Perigny was our only disappointment.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank EJ1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2007

It is a very romantic castle set in acres of beautiful ground and excellent restaurant. There are 2 buildings and the one we stayed is in the main chateau. We are lucky to have a very nice romantic room with a big bathroom on the second floor. The other rooms in the same floor are a bit smaller. Downstairs there are big romantic rooms which is so "French", like those you see in the period French movies.

The furniture is very tasteful, however, our room is on a smaller side and the furniture is a bit dated. The view from the room and the bathroom is fanastic. I suppose with the price we paid, we are very happy with it and think it is still excellent value for money.

The other rooms in the building of the restaurant may be a bit noisier and less characteristic, however having said this, I have not looked at them myself. I can only judge them from the location and outside.

Although there was a wedding at the weekend, we did not hear any noise. The restaurant is wonderful and good is excellent. You can sit outside in a romantic setting with flowers and pond.

The swimming pool is big and set in a beautiful ground.

It is an excellent place for wedding and romantic getaway or just to chill out. We stayed for a week and if not that we have to return to work, we would extend our stay for another week.

  • Liked — great atmosphere and excellent restaurant
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CelineBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouille
13.1 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
8.6 mi away
Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudiere
Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudi...
#7 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.3 mi away
Logis Auberge Du Cheval Blanc et Le Clovis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel
8.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Alisee Poitiers Nord
Quality Hotel Alisee Poitiers No...
#5 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Perigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Perigny

Property: Chateau de Perigny
Address: 40 rue des Coteaux, 86190 Vouille, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Deux-Sevres > Vouille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Vouille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Perigny 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Perigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Perigny France/Vouille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing