We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le "must-see" of Lozere”
Review of Aven Armand

Aven Armand
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Meyrueis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Le "must-see" of Lozere”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Breathtaking underground views, sooo beautiful!!! 45 min tour was great thanks to our guide who made it very entertaining and fun. I took many photos but nothing can compares with what you see in front or around you!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sovyonok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    142
    32
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quillan, France
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 832 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

A very interesting guided tour in a uique cave formation. Nice restaurant and magnificent surroundings

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Stalag-tastic”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Can't recommend this highly enough. Spectacular stalagmites and stalactites, interesting tour in French (easy to understand in English if you know your geography). The scale is difficult to comprehend. Furnicular railway an exciting way to enter the cave.
Take a light cardie as it's relatively cool in there and the tour lasts a good hour. Wear good footwear as its a bit wet and slippery in places. Steep steps, so not good for anyone with poor eyesight, a fear of heights or claustrophobia.

Absolutely loved every second of it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CKJEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, GB
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely meal but very haphazrd service!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Beautiful setting by the river in Meyrueis and the meal was good and great value. However, on the day we were there the service was very poor. Despite having numbered tables many people were served either the wrong meal or it came long after it was ordered. On a warm day in lovely surroundings it didn't really matter!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tumbleYorkshire_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Prepare to be amazed!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have been back to Aven Armand three times -- we were so amazed the first time we visited that we have added it to our travel plan with friends/family on subsequent trips. The grotte (cave) is completely underground so you have no hint what is there until you descend in the tram. The most majestic cavern awaits with winding pathways and spectacularly lit stalagmites and stalactites formed over hundreds of thousands of years. Truly a marvelous experience for young and old!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank APM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aven Armand also viewed

 
Bagnols-les-Bains, Lozere
 

Been to Aven Armand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing