We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, quiet hotel and restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loue
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent, quiet hotel and restaurant”
Reviewed April 15, 2011

A little "out of the way" but well worth the trip to a very quiet hotel with an excellent restaurant and very welcoming staff. Delightful garden to wander around and an outdoor pool for those who enjoy swimming. Well recomended and we stay there every time we are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    58
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
117
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Just a little west of Le Mans and a gateway to Solemnes and other interesting areas of the Loire. We found this hotel on line and were very happy that we did. The hotel is owned by a hard working young couple, who couldn't have been more charming. We stayed for 3 nights and were fortunate enough to be able to try out both the Bistro and the Gourmet dining room. The Bistro has simple but well made dinners. The ingredients were very fresh and we enjoyed having the local "Loue" chicken. The Gourmet dining room was a real treat!!! We've been to France close to 50 times, and the meal at the Ricordeau ranks right up there. The chef is very inventive and everything was beautifully prepared. The wait staff consists of one of the owners, with the additon of several waiters. The owner was always happy to explain how the food was prepared and make suggestions for the wine. We chose from some excellent local Loire wines, which are very hard to find in the States. We were not dissappointed.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again if we find ourselves in the area!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yupoarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Stayed over for one night on route to southern France. Lovely hotel, located in a charming small town. Hotel is under new ownership and the enthusiasm, and commitment to relaunch this hotel is great. We ate in the bistro (restaurant closed on the evening of our stay) and the food was good and a varied menu (including catering for my vegetarian preference!). Comfortable room with good range of facilities.
Restaurant menu looked very tempting and will try on another visit! Lovely gardens and swimming pool leading down to the river - a quiet and relaxing place to stay, really felt in the heart of France!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiannonDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Just west of Le mans, the nicest hotel - and the best food - in town. Very welcoming staff. Eat alfresco in the garden if you get the chance.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KjartanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We overnighted at Le Ricordeau in late June. Our room was well appointed with an excellent bathroom but the real pleasure of this hotel is the delightful and welcoming owners and their staff, the beautiful garden, very good restaurant and altogether high quality of service. Dinner was a real treat - high quality cuisine in a lovely dining room looking out over the terrace and garden. We had our drinks on the terrace before dining inside. Breakfast was the same high quality and variety - fresh fruit and juice, home made jams and compotes, cold meats - served by charming staff on the sunny terrace., A terrific start to a holiday. I hope it goes from strength to strength.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kemmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

This was our second stay at Hotel Ricordeau. We first stayed 8 years ago when we had a memorable dinner in the restaurant Ricordeau. We were so pleased we decided to stay again. The 'new' owners Anne-Cecile and Ludovic are warm, friendly, attentive, obliging, very helpful and ever so hard working - whether on reception, serving in the Bistro or the Restaurant Ricordeau nothing was ever too much trouble.
We stayed in the room at the end of the garden on the river. It is a quaint, quiet room with lovely views of the river, ducks and the lone swan
On our first night we had a most enjoyable meal in the Hotel Bistro and on the second night ate in the Restaurant Ricordeau where we had an excellent dinner including delicious petit-fours.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and appreciated the warm friendly atmosphere created by the caring owners who we wish every success with their plans for the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank favourites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

What a lovely place! We arrived at the hotel at 9.45pm having been stuck in nightmare traffic in Paris and nearly running out of petrol. We were, therefore, not in the best of spirits and thought perhaps they would not still be serving food. How wrong we were. We received a very friendly greeting from the owner, who spoke fantastic english, and were shown to our very spacious and well furnished rooms which had lovely views of the gardens We then had a fantastic meal accompanied by lovely wine. The service was excellent and the atmosphere perfect.
The following morning we had breakfast in a beautiful room looking out on to the gardens.
Could not fault the hotel, rooms, food or service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wegYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loue
4.5 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Aubin
Hotel Le Saint Aubin
#1 of 1 in Cheville
74 reviews
14.4 mi away
Domaine De Chatenay
Domaine De Chatenay
#1 of 7 in Saint-Saturnin
73 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Le Gentleman
Hotel Le Gentleman
#1 of 4 in La Fleche
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel de Solesmes
Grand Hotel de Solesmes
#1 of 1 in Solesmes
106 reviews
16.0 mi away
Ibis Le Mans Centre
Ibis Le Mans Centre
#2 of 41 in Le Mans
531 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
#8 of 41 in Le Mans
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau

Property: Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau
Address: 13 rue de la Liberation, 72540 Loue, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Loue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our House is conviently located between Paris and Brittany, in the Nothern Loire Valley. Formerly a 19th century coach house, it offers spacious and confortable rooms in a charming atmosphere with nature as a backdrop. The restaurant is famed in the region for generations. Step into this guest extablishment infused with history and featuring hospitality at its finest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau France/Loue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing