We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Grottes de Lacave

Grottes de Lacave
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Lacave
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We visited out of season in September with our young son. The train ride into the caves was very enjoyable but the caves themselves are magnificent. Stalagmites and stalactites everywhere, truly stunning! The tour guide was friendly and although the tour was conducted in French, he made an effort to give us a quick summary in English. To be honest, just looking around you is enjoyable enough. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    241
    48
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
447 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Grottes la cave”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Extensive cave with really impressive formations. Nice touch with the electric train, adding to the overall experience for your four year old! Shame about lack of English but you can read up about it separately as your attention is certainly taken up by what you are seeing. We went first thing and didn't spend much time queuing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemmo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited the caves outside of the normal tourist season.

The tour starts with a train ride into the caves. You then have quite a lot of walking which involves steps so this may be difficult for those with mobility issues.

The caves are really interesting with some beautiful features. The guide went out of his way to translate what he was saying into English for us which was extremely kind of him as we were the only foreign visitors on our tour, he was very humorous and made the whole tour extremely interesting.

The tour took about an hour and a half altogether and finishes with a ride back to the start on the train again.

There is a gift shop and plenty of parking.

These caves are well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Herefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent underground cave.”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

we visited this beautiful site just after Padirac, not comparable to padirac but is beautiful with it own underground sediment deposit. train ride into the chasm followed by climbing a 15 meter step , also there is lift available only a small one and this site is not suitable for wheel chair bound people. some aspect of the sites are truly amazing.Free ample parking opposite,guide does speak english and also answers in english if asked. Friendlier than Padirac.
There is an restaurant opposite, which has a decent menu including some vegetarian , But expensive in my view. Tom Tom took us here without much difficulty.Oh the temperature down there was 14 c which was pleasant given the temperature out side. please wear comfortable, sensible foot wear.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Caves and No Queues”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great train ride into the mountain side. Lots of caves taking 1.5 hours. Good value for money, Easy parking oposite.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grottes de Lacave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing