We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year'eve at le Chateau de la Treyne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de la Treyne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lacave
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spent an unforgettable journey at le Chateau de la Treyne, the service and staff were excellent and the new year's package very convenient. Very interesting activities were also organised such as visiting a truffle farm, the astonishing village of Rocamadour and the city of Sarlat known for its foie gras shops... We highly recommend the Chateau at this time of the year!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you very much for your nice comment. In wintertime Chateau de la Treyne is open from december 23 to january 3th. Christmas time is amazing and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Of course it is different, because you can't go to the swimmingpool and it is not possible to do a canoe trip on the river. But it is the best season to learn about truffel, which we also call the Black Diament. Our area is very well known for truffel. We have truffels on our property and you can also visit truffel farms and truffel market. On our Facebookpage you can discover an interview about truffel and a very famous truffel market in Sarlat.
Thank you for your stay and perhaps we will have the pleasure and welcome you for another stay.
Stephanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 535 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 blissful days and nights at Chateau de la Treyne in October 2013.

We arrived on a particularly gorgeous afternoon. Our fairytale began as we crossed the bridge over the Dordogne and then caught our first hidden glance of the chateau -- gorgeously perched on a rock precipice rising above the glistening Dordogne. My wife began to cry as we crossed the one-lane bridge and then turned right at the chateau's canopied driveway flanked by topiaries and white Impatiens guiding us to the chateau.

We were greeted by adorable Fabian who showed us to our room. The bed was decorated in rose petals shaped in a heart in celebration of our anniversary and all the windows were opened onto our breathtaking view of the Dordogne. This would be the start of the most memorable 5 days and nights and of our lives.

The restaurant was divine, our room was perfect, the staff was perfectly attentive and the grounds were beyond belief . . . flowers, ferns, mosses, mushrooms, and guernsey cows in the verdant fields surrounding the chateau amidst a cacophony of birds and insects that would serenade us for the next 5 days.

Thank you, from the bottom of our hearts, to the entire chateau staff and the chef and his staff for making those 5 days the most memorable 5 days of our lives.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Louis XIII room. Very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful comment.. It was a pleasure for us to welcome you at château de la Treyne. Thank you for Fabien and for all the staff. Hope to see you again. Kind regards. Stephanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this chateau at the end of September for 2 days. I had high hopes for it because of all the great reviews and stunning pictures, and I wasn't disappointed. It couldn't have been more lovely. My husband and I both love all things historic, so we especially appreciated how well this chateau balanced having modern conveniences and comfort without sacrificing the historic feel of the chateau. It really felt a bit like stepping back in time. We had the most basic room, but we still thought it was lovely- not small at all and it still had a pretty view. There is no shower in these rooms, but it honestly didn't trouble me at all because the bathroom was large and well-appointed. Besides how absolutely beautiful the chateau is, we also appreciated how wonderful the service was. When we arrived there were little snacks waiting for us in the room and a handwritten note from the proprietor thanking us for our stay. All of the staff were so helpful and accommodating and went above and beyond anything we expected- from volunteering to make dinner reservations for us to walking us in with umbrellas during the rain. They also just seemed like very nice people and were always so polite and patient with our attempts at speaking French. We were very sorry to go, and even though we typically never visit the same place twice, I would love to stay there again. If we do, I hope it will be exactly the same.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

It was just a pleasure to read your feed-back on your stay in our hotel. Thank you for your truly wonderful comments. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon. Stéphanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was the one property that we decided to splurge on during our two week trip through Southwestern France. And boy was it worth it!!!! It is not inexpensive, but to us was worth every dollar for the experience of staying at such an incredible place. The physical chateau is just magnificent, rising up from the Dordogne River and dominating the landscape. Approaching the chateau you are awed by its size and beauty, but once inside you are equally as awed by the facility and the rooms. We stayed in Fenelon, a room that contained a king bed, two windows that looked out over the front of the chateau and one window that looked out over the Dordogne River. The room itself was enormous with cabinets and closets as you walked in the hallway to the bedroom, the bed, a large desk and a sofa and easy chairs. The bathroom was also very large with a separate shower and tub and a window that also looked out over the front of the chateau. One of the afternoons we were there we walked the grounds around the chateau and found the natural beauty magnificent.

To say that eating at Chateau de la Treyne was an experience would be a terrible understatement. The dining room is gorgeous, just like the rest of the rooms. The food was beyond description. We ate there both nights. The first night we ordered the four-course, fixed-price menu and found everything superb. The second night we were still full from the first night’s dinner so we ordered from the a la carte menu. Either way, you cannot go wrong eating here.

On our way to the Chateau de la Treyne we got a flat tire in the pouring rain, and arrived looking like a couple of drowned rats. The staff immediately realized our discomfort and did everything to get us into our room immediately and then one staff member, Fabien, took it as his personal challenge to address our flat tire issue. Thanks to him, we were put in touch with a garage in a nearby village and the next day had a brand new tire. We are extremely grateful to Fabien for his personal service but in fact everyone at the Chateau was extremely attentive. This is one of the nicest Relais et Chateaux that we have stayed in and would highly recommend it. It is also located close to Rocamadour, Sarlat and Perigeux, which makes it perfect for touring the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arch68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us in the Dordogne Valley.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and its services and our gastronomic. Thank you as well for your remarks on the staff, we have of course shared them with the entire team.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Stéphanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights from August 31st. As we were going to be late arriving we asked if some food could be arranged in our room. We got a great selection of cheeses, ham and bread with wine of course. Enough to feed six let alone two, but very welcome and, like everything else here, beautifully served and lovely quality.
I can only agree with all the nice things that have been said about this hotel. A wonderful setting, lovely food and seamless service. Quite one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. It all comes at a price of course, but worth it for a unique experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in "La Tour". Huge bathroom with whirlpool bath. Wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bri_in_the_Sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you very much for this kind comment. La Tour is a very nice room with wonderful view and great bathroom. Hope to see you another time. Stéphanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This Chateau is out of a dream. After a grueling trip between air flights and train rides, we had the most beautiful welcoming and could not believe the incredible setting. The room was spacious and beautiful and the food was outstanding. The only complaint was that no one explained about breakfast, times, and price (expensive.) We will stay again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: They are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bayberry39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

What a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your stay at Château de la Treyne and the services we propose. Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor! Sorry about the misunderstanding about breakfast. Breakfast is served the whole morning (8.00am-11.00am) and you can find all the information about breakfast in the small "Welcome Book" in your room. We are a small boutique hotel and you can take breakfast in your room, in one of our salon, or by good weather outside close to the formal garden. It is an individual breakfast and not a buffet. Hope ti see you again. Thank you again. Stéphanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I am lucky to say that I have been to some amazing places, and stayed in some very wonderful hotels, but everything about this property is just beautiful. The staff is so professional, yet very warm and friendly and the atmosphere is magic. It's so peaceful, I felt like I did a giant " exhale" the minute I got here. The food is just so first rate, I mean, really creative, and just divine. I can't say enough about our fabulous experience here!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacque R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you very much for this lovely comment. It was a pleasure having you at Château de la Treyne. In the hope to see you soon. Best wishes. stephanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacave
5.8 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
425 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
#2 of 3 in Lacave
247 reviews
15.5 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Les Vieilles Tours
Les Vieilles Tours
#8 of 17 in Rocamadour
266 reviews
19.9 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
282 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Beau Site Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Treyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Treyne

Address: route de Rocamadour | Route de Souillac à Rocamadour, 46200 Lacave, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Lacave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lacave
Price Range: $238 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Treyne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tower is so close to the Dordogne river that it feels like the Chateau could almost topple into ... All our rooms are stylishly decorated with period furniture, four poster beds, secretaire desks, traditional parquet floors but complemented by the most modern amenities like jacuzzi-style bathtubs. Practically all enjoy grandiose views of the Dordogne Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau de la Treyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Treyne Hotel Souillac
Chateau De La Treyne Souillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing