We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous fantasy on the Dordogne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de la Treyne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lacave
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Fabulous fantasy on the Dordogne”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is one of the Relais and Chateaux - a chateau perched on the high ground overlooking the Dordogne river with a view for miles. The grounds are extensive with pool and beautiful gardens. The chateau is historic and has been decorated and kept up in style. We were on the 3rd floor in a large room overlooking the garden/entry side. It was comfortable. I slept very well in the quiet and dark. The bathroom is a nice size, modern with a large tub against a wall where an ancient exposed beam crosses to the ceiling. This is total ambience. The rooms of the chateau include a large formal dining room which we did not have the pleasure of dining in because they served on the ramparts overlooking the river with that fantastic view. The restaurant is noted for its excellent cuisine. Dining was an experience to delight in. Service was excellent. The staff were helpful, especially in recommending area visits. We followed their advice and went to Sarlat and Rocamadour, both pleasant short drives and worth the visit.

Breakfast was served on the front patio area by trees and a lovely gulch of green vegetation. It included breads, cheeses, some meats, a variety of juices, even chocolate milk. When we arrived we had not eaten and were hungry so they provided us with a snack. For our second night, they recommended a fabulous restaurant by the river below.

This is a top of the line hotel, expensive but worth it for the quality of the experience.

Room Tip: I think all rooms will be very good. Ours on the 2nd (3rd) floor was large. I think it was called En...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest ! thank you very much for taking the time to talk about your stay. I saw your photos and I know that you were in the room Enfants Modele.It is a large Superior room, a smaller bathroom with bathtub. We were very touched by all the détails about your stay. Hope to see you again. Best wishes. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    47
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
56
339
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautiful setting , stunning food, great staff and interesting rooms. Great for a special occasion, very romantic and some good sights to see near by. Food is fantastic but careful with the drinks menu as it can be pricey but you would expect that. Worth looking at doing a river explore as we timed out and wished we had done it.

Room Tip: Unless you are planning on spending time in the room - go for basic and spend money on champagne!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your appreciation and feedback. We hope that you will come back to take another glass of Champagne ! Best wishes. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We came her for lunch on Sunday 11 August with friends who come here regularly. Sitting on the terrace with a glass of champagne, the low murmur of conversation and some spectacular views we were immediately impressed by the service, surroundings and staff. The lunch did not disappoint. We had the 49 Euro menu which was extraordinary value for this level of cooking. The presentation was excellent but the taste - what really counts after all - was unsurpassable. If you want historic surroundings and an historic meal do trust the reviews about this wonderful hotel and go!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meltonwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your appreciation and feedback. We hope that you will come back and see you again. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a magnificent place. The grounds are just breathtaking. Each room is different and we just loved our room. The restaurant was also amazing and we saw the most beautiful sunset while we were eating. Thanks to Stephanie, and the entire staff, who made our stay even more special. If you are in the area you must stay here.

Room Tip: Each room is different and the prices reflect that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comment. It was a pleasure to welcome you in our house. Hope to see you again for another stay. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This has to be the most enjoyable stay we've had and would recommend without any hesitation. Everything was perfect from service, pool, gardens, structure, views, room, we hot air ballooned, toured the area by car...... However the hi-light has to be dinner on the terrace, a tasting menu with wine chosen by the chateau and the most exquisite food I've ever tried, the view across the fields and river below was breath taking. I really didn't want to come back home and would love to visit again one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonamery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for this kind comments . We are very delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our home. Come back when you want we await you! Best regards. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

What a wonderful hotel, the location is stunning with an ambiance throughout the hotel of calm professionalism. The staff were a delight and more than happy to go that extra mile, giving assistance in a courteous and polite manner with a lovely hint of humour and fun. Just can't fault it. Go and enjoy...... Chris

Room Tip: all rooms and suites have everything to offer. A view overlooking the river suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_c186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your enthusiasm. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests appreciate their stay in our house. Hope to see you again. Best regards. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived at the Chateau from nearby Brive airport, and were warmly welcomed and upgraded to a river view room which was gorgeous, luxurious and ice cold , welcome given it was 33 outside. Overall wonderful stay: food excellent , grounds beautiful, pool relaxing , staff friendly and attentive. No faults, we will be back. It really is a marvellous place to stay. Stand outs were excellent breakfast on the terrace, drinks by the pool, fabulous dinners .

Room Tip: Duc, 2nd floor.good view, great bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you very much for this kind comment. We are always happy to see when guests like Chateau de la Treyne, our staff, the atmosphere, the food... Thank you again and hope to see you again. Best regards. Stephanie Gombert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacave
1.3 mi away
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
#2 of 3 in Lacave
210 reviews
5.8 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
381 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Terrasse
La Terrasse
#1 of 1 in Meyronne
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Les Esclargies
Hotel Les Esclargies
#2 of 17 in Rocamadour
434 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Beau Site Notre Dame
4.7 mi away
Les Vieilles Tours
Les Vieilles Tours
#6 of 17 in Rocamadour
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Treyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Treyne

Property: Chateau de la Treyne
Address: route de Rocamadour | Route de Souillac à Rocamadour, 46200 Lacave, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Lacave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lacave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Treyne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tower is so close to the Dordogne river that it feels like the Chateau could almost topple into ... All our rooms are stylishly decorated with period furniture, four poster beds, secretaire desks, traditional parquet floors but complemented by the most modern amenities like jacuzzi-style bathtubs. Practically all enjoy grandiose views of the Dordogne Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Chateau de la Treyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Treyne Hotel Souillac
Chateau De La Treyne Souillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing