We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de la Treyne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lacave
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a magnificent place. The grounds are just breathtaking. Each room is different and we just loved our room. The restaurant was also amazing and we saw the most beautiful sunset while we were eating. Thanks to Stephanie, and the entire staff, who made our stay even more special. If you are in the area you must stay here.

Room Tip: Each room is different and the prices reflect that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comment. It was a pleasure to welcome you in our house. Hope to see you again for another stay. Stephanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 518 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

This has to be the most enjoyable stay we've had and would recommend without any hesitation. Everything was perfect from service, pool, gardens, structure, views, room, we hot air ballooned, toured the area by car...... However the hi-light has to be dinner on the terrace, a tasting menu with wine chosen by the chateau and the most exquisite food I've ever tried, the view across the fields and river below was breath taking. I really didn't want to come back home and would love to visit again one day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonamery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you so much for this kind comments . We are very delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our home. Come back when you want we await you! Best regards. Stephanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

What a wonderful hotel, the location is stunning with an ambiance throughout the hotel of calm professionalism. The staff were a delight and more than happy to go that extra mile, giving assistance in a courteous and polite manner with a lovely hint of humour and fun. Just can't fault it. Go and enjoy...... Chris

Room Tip: all rooms and suites have everything to offer. A view overlooking the river suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_c186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your enthusiasm. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests appreciate their stay in our house. Hope to see you again. Best regards. Stephanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived at the Chateau from nearby Brive airport, and were warmly welcomed and upgraded to a river view room which was gorgeous, luxurious and ice cold , welcome given it was 33 outside. Overall wonderful stay: food excellent , grounds beautiful, pool relaxing , staff friendly and attentive. No faults, we will be back. It really is a marvellous place to stay. Stand outs were excellent breakfast on the terrace, drinks by the pool, fabulous dinners .

Room Tip: Duc, 2nd floor.good view, great bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you very much for this kind comment. We are always happy to see when guests like Chateau de la Treyne, our staff, the atmosphere, the food... Thank you again and hope to see you again. Best regards. Stephanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our 4 day stay was superb! Romantic, intimate,, almost like being in a time warp with historic beauty of this ancient structure with today's amenities! Only issue is how they make money? There were as many staff as guest! Request a room on the river .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice comment on Tripadvisor. We have 17 rooms for 30 employees, but we also have a gourmet restaurant with a Michelin star, so if you want to do a professional job you need so much staff. Fortunately we have many regular guests, we figure in many touristic guide , through Relais & Châteaux we also welcome an international clientele. Our location is unique, la Treyne is a dream castle and all my team and myself love our work very much, this is the reason why guests feel well too. Hope to see you again, nice holiday in France. Stephanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a beautiful chateau in a beautiful area of France. The service was spectacular - as was the room, the food, the views, and on and on. We stayed for several nights and was such a gift! If you have an opportunity to stay here - I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you very much for you kind comment. Hope to see you again at Chateau de la Treyne.
Best regards. Stephanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I traveled to France for 10 days to celebrate our 10 year anniversary and we spent 3 of those nights, including the actual day of our anniversary, at Chateau de la Treyne. My choice of this location was based primarily on the reviews found here, and while the reviews on Trip Adviser are overwhelmingly positive, nothing can really convey the experience like actually staying there. In fact I am afraid to say that Chateau de la Treyne is responsible for some of the other very nice places we stayed in France not receiving the 5 stars they might have otherwise earned if I did not have Chateau de la Treyne to compare them to.

Due to some navigational errors on my part in driving to this location from Aix-en-Provence we arrived after midnight on our first night. I was able to email them to let them know of my late arrival, and the receptionist was very gracious in waiting for us to arrive, offering to provide us with food and carrying our bags to our room on the third floor. We were given the Fenelon room, which was charmingly decorated and very large with views of both the river and the gardens. They had arranged rose petals throughout the room which was quite a touching gesture.

The staff spoke excellent English though I tried my best to speak French, an effort they patiently indulged. We ate dinner at the hotel 2 nights in a row and the food was excellent. The owner makes a point of speaking with her guests at dinner, and in the course of visiting 3 tables she fluently spoke 3 different languages. The service was an experience in itself. The Maitre d was a lot of fun and helped us Americans muddle through our fine French dining experience with grace and wit. His suggestions from the wine to the cheese were spot on, and what a selection they have of both. Then of course a digestif in the salon was a perfect end to the day. All in all I could not think of a more perfect setting to celebrate an important event. The grounds, the Chateau, and the Dordogne region of France will all live up to the hype. So save a few extra pennies and splurge on a stay here, you won't regret it. Thank you to Madame Gombert and the staff for a great memory.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgombert, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Treyne, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you so much for this great feedback. I'm really touched by so many compliments. I remember you as you arrive very late. Fenelon is a very nice room and as you stayed three days you could discover a true experience at Chateau de la Treyne. Thank you again and perphaps you will be back for another stay. Stephanie Gombert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacave
1.3 mi away
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
Le Pont de l'Ouysse
#2 of 3 in Lacave
240 reviews
5.8 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
422 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Beau Site Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Terrasse
La Terrasse
#1 of 1 in Meyronne
199 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Les Esclargies
Hotel Les Esclargies
#2 of 17 in Rocamadour
482 reviews
4.7 mi away
Les Vieilles Tours
Les Vieilles Tours
#6 of 17 in Rocamadour
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Treyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Treyne

Address: route de Rocamadour | Route de Souillac à Rocamadour, 46200 Lacave, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Lacave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lacave
Price Range: $234 - $763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Treyne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tower is so close to the Dordogne river that it feels like the Chateau could almost topple into ... All our rooms are stylishly decorated with period furniture, four poster beds, secretaire desks, traditional parquet floors but complemented by the most modern amenities like jacuzzi-style bathtubs. Practically all enjoy grandiose views of the Dordogne Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion and Orbitz so you can book your Chateau de la Treyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Treyne Hotel Souillac
Chateau De La Treyne Souillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing